We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating for astronomerts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herschel Museum of Astronomy

Herschel Museum of Astronomy
Ranked #25 of 154 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum is now closed until 18 January 2016. 19 New King Street is a delightful and unique example of a fully restored modest Georgian townhouse. It was home to the astronomer and musician William Herschel and his sister Caroline. Particularly evocative features include Herschel’s workshop, his music room and a charming 18th Century formal garden where, with a telescope of his own construction, Herschel discovered the planet Uranus in 1781. In the Star Vault an award winning film takes you on a voyage of discovery through the universe and brings the history of the house to life. Exhibition in the modern Caroline Lucretia Gallery 16 April – 18 December: Science and Spirituality; Astronomy and the Benedictine Order
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating for astronomerts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The museum is actually the former residence of William Herschel that has been turned into a simple museum showcasing his life and work. It won't take more than an hour to go around, but if you are into astronomy it is worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    105
    26
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A piece of scientific history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I'll get straight to the point - this is one that will only be appreciated by those who already have an interest in the history of astronomy.

I enjoyed my visit as I fall into that category, to be able to stand in the very same garden where a planet was first discovered is a humbling experience. The workshop was the other highlight, the cracked stones where Herschel spilt molten metal give hope to other tinkerers that the occasional mishap happens to even the very best.

I'd allow about an hour to fully explore the house, it's not that big but you get that impression from the relatively limited opening hours.

If you're not of a scientific leaning though, there's not much for you here, and nor would I recommend this place for those with children. I was also surprised that the subject knowledge of the volunteer that I spoke to was very basic, to the point that he didn't know that a light year is a measure of distance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brewdogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small museum for astronomers only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Herschel Museum is located in the terraced house in a residential street where Herschel once lived. It occupies approx. 6 rooms of the house so is relatively small and only takes about 45 minutes to walk around. I went with my 7 year old son and there was very little of interest to children of his age. For us, the most interesting part was the short film in the basement describing Hershel's life. The rest of the museum just has various relics on display; fine if you are particularly interested in Herschel and astronomy but I wouldn't recommend it if you only have a passing interest or if you are thinking of going with children.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When culture met astronomy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

See the house in Bath where Herschel manufactured and ground fine glass lenses for his "state of the art" telescopes, and then used them to discover a new planet, Uranus! His discovery brought him world-wide fame, financial support from the King, and a place in history. Guided by volunteer physicists, you will experience the life scientific!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Jacqu... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Difficult to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent hours walking around Bath trying to find this place. The location was surprising in that it was in a row of terraced houses down what looked to be a back street. Times have no doubt changed since this was lived in by Herschel. The main attraction was the workroom where the lenses for the telescope were made and polished as you could actually touch and try out some if the equipment. This was a very low key museum that I thought was lacking more interactive displays of astronomy in general and advances made by this man in particular .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herschel Museum of Astronomy also viewed

 

Been to Herschel Museum of Astronomy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing