We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herschel Museum of Astronomy

Herschel Museum of Astronomy
Ranked #25 of 154 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum is now closed until 18 January 2016. 19 New King Street is a delightful and unique example of a fully restored modest Georgian townhouse. It was home to the astronomer and musician William Herschel and his sister Caroline. Particularly evocative features include Herschel’s workshop, his music room and a charming 18th Century formal garden where, with a telescope of his own construction, Herschel discovered the planet Uranus in 1781. In the Star Vault an award winning film takes you on a voyage of discovery through the universe and brings the history of the house to life. Exhibition in the modern Caroline Lucretia Gallery 16 April – 18 December: Science and Spirituality; Astronomy and the Benedictine Order
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fascinating little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife is a Physics teacher, so this was a must on our itinerary. However we all enjoyed this very intimate insight into the home of an 18th Century renaissance man who truly 'made a difference' and greatly expanded our knowledge of the universe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RomanticScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    105
    26
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We came across this delightful gem hidden away in a residential area on New King Street. The museum has a lot of charm and connects with everyone, not just with science enthusiasts. It details the discoveries, interests and lives of William Herschel and his sister Caroline. The staff are very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. It was nice touch to hear Patrick Moore narrate a short but informative video. We left feeling inspired and wanting to find out more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanAndSteph_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELKSHAM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My daughter and I visited the museum on a cold Winter's day and it was lovely to spend a warm hour wandering around this fascinating place. We started with the 10 minute introductory video which was very informative then explored the other floors. Lots of interesting artefacts in all the rooms with detailed information sheets. The cute little garden is well kept and although too cold to sit out today we intend to go back in warmer weather to make use of the seats!!
All in all a super visit for people who are interested in astronomy and/ or historical buildings, well recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TILLY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“great for non-scientists too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

While I had heard of Herschel, that was about all I knew of him and I knew zero about his sister. It is a great way to be introduced to their discoveries, to see where ground-breaking research took place, and to see a house which retains the character and some of the furnishings of the era. It also gives a glimpse of the role and place of women in society, even one living with a brother more enlightened than most in his day and age. I expect this would be a pilgrimage site for astronomers, but as a non-scientist I learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank profecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the house where William Herschel and his sister Caroline lived. They were musicians and amateur astronomers who built their own telescopes and discovered Uranus! As you do..
The house has been beautifully preserved/refurbished and contains a lot of their possessions and letters. It was really informative (I had not heard of them before, we mainly went as it was cold and wet and I wanted to visit the house). Now I'd recommend it even for a sunny day! :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria27m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herschel Museum of Astronomy also viewed

 

Been to Herschel Museum of Astronomy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing