We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

Mayor's Honorary Guides
Ranked #1 of 65 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A genuinely free service (tips are NOT accepted) providing daily walking tours in Bath. Received Queen's Award for Voluntary Service in 2014. Tours take place daily including public holidays except Christmas Day: Sunday - Friday 10.30 & 14.00, Saturday 10.30 only. May to August additional tours on Tuesday and Thursday at 18.00. These tours include the main sights in the city centre - Abbey Church Yard, Queen Square, Royal Crescent, Circus etc. From May to September, additional free tours on Tuesday and Thursday at 11.00 to Great Pulteney Street, the Kennet and Avon canal, the 18th century Sydney Gardens, the Holburne Museum (exterior but you can leave here) and back to city centre. All these walking tours leave from outside the entrance to Roman Baths and Pump Room in Abbey Church Yard and last approximately 2 hours. No booking necessary or possible for individuals, but must be made 4 weeks in advance for group of 12 or more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Even after spending a few days in Bath, it was a great way to spend a couple of hours and learn a bit more insider information on some of the places we already visited. In this instance you certainly get what you don’t pay for. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 385timothyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 280 reviews
"free tour"
in 167 reviews
"two hours"
in 213 reviews
"hour tour"
in 72 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 69 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 123 reviews
"hour walk"
in 45 reviews
"pump room"
in 113 reviews
"great introduction"
in 41 reviews
"beau nash"
in 19 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 69 reviews
"free walking"
in 22 reviews
"roman baths"
in 142 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 32 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 32 reviews
"pump house"
in 19 reviews
"assembly rooms"
in 49 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018

This was a free walking tour of historic Bath. The tour takes about two hours. Our hotel told us about this tour. The guides are local residents. Naturally, they are very familiar with Bath and they are also educated about the city. They answered all of our questions and walked us to all of the sites we had planned to see. We were in Bath for two days and we made this tour on our first morning. The tour oriented us to the city so we were able to return to places we wanted to see more of and we noted the locations of restaurants that we sought out later for lunch and dinner. This is a very worthwhile tour.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank robertthomasc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Our guide Colin was a superb host for this walking tour of the city. Informative and interesting, we saw the main sights and even got a sneak preview inside the assembly rooms thrown in. The 2 hours flew by and definitely the best way to find out about Bath....much better than the bus tour which we have also partaken in, and most unbelievable that it is free! Long may they continue

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Haywoodstephen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

We heard about this first when it appeared on Britain's favourtite walks on TV (well worth a watch). Very informative and worth doing before you spend the rest of your time there as it will give you ideas to go to afterwards. With 2 young children the pace was fine and not too strenuous so should be suitable for most. We'll be back!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Grimusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

I've done 2 of these walks this year - both excellent , both over 2 hours long . Genuinely ' free' since there's no charge and tips are not excepted . As I had hoped , there was a different guide on each tour . Though both covered the main sites - Abbey , Circus , Royal Crescent , Assembly rooms etc - there were enough differences to make a repeat worthwhile . The guides really brought the history of Bath alive and you'll see things you probably wouldn't notice otherwise . Highly recommended . A great asset for the city .

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank alwaysarocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayor's Honorary Guides also viewed

 

Been to Mayor's Honorary Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing