We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Informative”

Mayor's Honorary Guides
Ranked #1 of 58 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A genuinely free service (tips are NOT accepted) providing daily walking tours in Bath. Received Queen's Award for Voluntary Service in 2014. Tours take place daily including public holidays except Christmas Day: Sunday - Friday 10.30 & 14.00, Saturday 10.30 only. May to September additional tours on Tuesday and Thursday at 19.00 (not Friday or Saturday). These tours include the main sights in the city centre - Abbey Church Yard, Queen Square, Royal Crescent, Circus etc. From May to September 2015, additional free tours on Tuesday and Thursday at 11.00 to Great Pulteney Street, the Kennet and Avon canal, the 18th century Sydney Gardens, the Holburne Museum (exterior but you can leave here) and back to city centre. All these walking tours leave from outside the entrance to Roman Baths and Pump Room in Abbey Church Yard and last approximately 2 hours. No booking necessary or possible for individuals, but must be made 4 weeks in advance for group of 12 or more. Other walking tours are arranged from time to time and are shown on our website.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Informative”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great walking tour and it's completely free. The guides are really well informed and seem to have a real passion for the city. Our guide, Andy had grown up in Bath and even had a binder with pictures of some of the key people from history he was telling us about! The tour covered all of the key things I'd wanted to see in Bath and I feel like I got quite a bit of history and knowledge that I wouldn't have otherwise. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Bath!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalika624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    86
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Walking in the Rain”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A great experience despite the rubbish weather. Richard was great entertainment and took our knowledge of Bath from zero to novice in 2 hours including knowledge of the Georgian methods of sewerage disposal. Despite the rain we enjoyed it an was able to return the next day to take photos in the sunshine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crommo080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding and free!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Mayor's tour was absolutely the best and most informative way to experience Bath. The tour guides are all volunteers who are very well versed in and passionate about Bath and it's history. To take in this tour you need to be able to walk and stand for two hours, but absolutley worth it. We met outside the pump room broke into 4 groups and headed off. A great way to spend the morning. Thank you!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChapmanBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bath Walking Tour Outstanding”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The free walking tour was outstanding. Christine showed us the highlights of Bath in the pouring rain (she even said that this was the first tour she had given where it rained for the entire 2 hours). These tours are absolutely free – they will not even accept tips or gratuities. The tour itself was great and gave us a flavor for the history and culture of the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good overview of Bath”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Such a bargain - a free two-hour walking tour of all the main sights of Bath, with all the history and little stories you can only get from a local. This was a great way to get a feel for the city and places we'd like to visit in more detail. Our guide was lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StonedSoulPicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayor's Honorary Guides also viewed

 

Been to Mayor's Honorary Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing