We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre Royal Bath

Theatre Royal Bath
Book In Advance
$19.28*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #4 of 150 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This prestigious theater was built in the 17th century and continues to sponsor performances throughout the year.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Glorious theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beautiful theatre which has been modernised but kept the traditional appearance of this entertainment venue.
Apart from the boxes (and I've rarely found a theatre in which the boxes give a good view of the whole stage) there isn't a bad seat in the house. Friendly staff always available to help. Lovely atmosphere throughout.
Only niggle - as with many theatres there just aren't enough ladies loos!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    170
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“English Touring Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very comfortable small theatre. Two excellently produced, well directed, and splendid early (17th C.) operas, beautifully played and sung.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil_mary159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Regency Splendour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I love this theatre designed by Nash, it is truly beautiful. We are frequent visitors and usually see 3 or 4 plays in a season. The quality of the productions ia excellent and often play here pre-London. My favourite seats are in the stalls as the seats are well pitched I find I get a good view. The front row is not advisable as there is little legroom, not a problem for a shorty like me, but my husband found it uncomfortable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely theatre - not over crowded and great legroom! Staff were polite and everywhere was spotless. Had a wonderful time and lots of laughs! Would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BristolLisa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening at the theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

whilst staying on a city break , decided at the last minute to see a show . Booked four hours before the performance , was able to secure good seats .
Show was lively and entertaining and all the theatre staff were very pleasant and welcoming

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal Bath also viewed

 

Been to Theatre Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing