We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth going on the clock tower tour...”
Review of Bath Abbey

Bath Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.16*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #2 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Begun in 1499 by Bishop King, this is England's last great medieval church, dissolved in 1539 and now serving as a parish church.
Windsor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth going on the clock tower tour...”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

...if you can cope with the 212 steps up and down the spiral staircase - you are rewarded with spectacular views over Bath and a really interesting look at the inner workings of the clock and bells.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,407
    1,650
    283
    32
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Take a trip to the top”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful church but I would definitely recommend taking the tour to the top of the church tower. We had two guides who did an amazing job and brought the church to life.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Soccerparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love Bath Abbey! It is stunning inside with many beautiful features including the tombstones, artefacts and all the ancient carvings. However it looks even better at night when it is all lit up!! Absolutely breathtaking, couldnt take my eyes off it everytime we walked past! Truly beautiful :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JourneyswithJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not my cuppa tea,,but beautiful inside”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very lovely inside,,very historical and very very religious,,not my bag but its very central so u cant miss

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Climb the tower!!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There is a donation to be made when you enter the Abbey. However, if you want to climb the tower go into the gift shop and purchase a ticket to get into the tower and then you don't have to feel you have to pay to visit the abbey too as you will already be in the building. They wont tell you you can do this, instead they will take your money. The tower guide was fantastic. She was informative and answered all our questions. If you are uneasy about heights or enclosed spaces than i wouldn't recommend going on this tour. At one point you are walking on a roof!!!! The views from the top tower are amazing though.
At the beginning the guide will ask you to leave what you don't want to carry. The place where they leave you belongings is at the end of the tour and although its not secure from everybody, the only people who will be able to take your belongings would either be the guides or people on the tour. I wouldn't suggest carrying a lot of things as there is quite a bit of stair climbing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lane-English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Bath Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing