We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic B&B in Historic City”
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bloomfield House
Ranked #42 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Bath, England is a wonderful town with its rich history and, of course, the Roman bath ruins. However, we found our 2 night stay in Bloomfield House absolutely delightful. First of all, it's a beautiful 18th century home with great 21st century accommodations. The lovely couple that owns and operates this B&B go out of their way to make their guests feel right at home. Creating a delicious breakfast is also a family affair and the food was quite delicious. The grounds are beautiful and we even had a view of Royal Creacent from our bedroom. A great place for your overnight in Bath!

Room Tip: Spend more than one night here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tombiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very friendly family including dog and cats greeted us when we arrived. Karen was extremely helpful. We had a delightful room with a distant view of The Crescent. The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. Loads of tea bags and coffee and complimentary biscuits. The house is very unique and a touch theatrical with a strange mixture of Georgian and Roman but very comfortable. The breakfast was an unhurried affair cooked fresh every morning till quite late if you desired. The only down side for us was the distance from Bath town center, we drove in rather than tackle the hill coming back. And the taxis in Bath seem very expensive when we went out in the evening. All the rooms are up two flights of stairs so probably not so good if you're not too fit. But well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you can as some of the rooms I think are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had just one night at Bloomfield House, would love to have stayed longer! The room was sumptuous in every aspect. The entrance foyer was gorgeous, you felt like you were stepping back in time. Karen provided us with a delicious breakfast in the beautiful dining room with a view over the simple but stately garden. I felt staying at Bloomfield completely enriched our trip to Bath.
Thank you Karen, From Karen and Max

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Promrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenWeston, Owner at Bloomfield House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you both, I'm so glad you found us. Take care and do give the little one an extra cuddle from me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bloomfield House the night before our wedding annversary and all I can say is that our stay was unforgettable!
The owners very obviously love their home and have clearly put a lot of dedication and hard work into it, filling it with tasteful, attractive antique furniture and lighting so in keeping with the period.
We stayed in room 6. The four poster room was so sweetly and tastefully decorated and the small touches wrought by Karen (the owner) made it all feel very individual and comfortable - so different from the other hotels we have stayed in in Bath, thank goodness, and totally unique. If only we had discovered Bloomfield House sooner!
~ A lovely touch was the Happy Anniversary glass pendant hung on the dressing table on our return to our room at the end of the evening out - so thoughtful.
After a night spent in the most comfortable bed EVER, the personal touches carried through to a marvellous breakfast where we were treated to home-made jams and locally sourced produce - all simply delicious!
We left wishing we could have stayed for the whole weekend but will definitely come back to Bloomfield House for our next anniversary and will stay for longer next time!
This truely is a really beautiful 'escape'. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 at Bloomfield House for just one night, and Robert and his wife Karen were the perfect hosts, in what felt like a home-from-home as any B&B should be. Personal touches like home-made jams were the perfect antidote to chain hotel fair. Bedrooms are extremely comfortable, with added touches like a decanter of port, Wewould definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulCtr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a Bed and Breakfast unlike any that you will most likely ever stay. We spent many nights at Bloomfield house and can tell you that all the rooms have super comfortable beds, modern ensuite bathrooms, and are kept stocked with complimentary port and tea/coffee. Most of the rooms have views of the city (as they are all located on the third floor), but even the ones that don't still have lovely scenery of their own to admire.
There are only 6 rooms, so you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. On multiple occasions guests would comment on how much prettier and nicer this B&B was compared to other ones in the area they had previously stayed in. The owners are truly kind and generous people who will go out of their way to accommodate you and make your stay memorable. The jam they serve is often homemade, and the Engish breakfast is cooked to order and comes with bacon sourced from a local farm, along with fresh French-press coffee or tea and yogurt, fruit, and cereal as well as freshly baked muffins.
There is a convenient driveway to park your car and plenty of room to take a stroll around the property or enjoy coffee on the patio. The walk to town is an easy 15 minute stroll downhill, and about 25 minutes on the return. Truly, it is better to stay away from the busy city life and enjoy the serenity that Bloomfield B&B provides. Don't hesitate to book your stay here during your time in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 5 have incrediblly comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El-orence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Only a quick overnight stay on route back from Cornwall but so glad we stayed. The Bloomfield is lovely, great decor, clean and very comfortable. We felt very welcome and the owners were a great source of info as well as friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the owners came out of the kitchen regularly to chat and make sure all was ok, that was a nice touch.
Location was ideal for us, not in the thick of things but close enough to the city centre to be convenient.
We'll be back with baby Dylan for sure. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdunc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 157 in Bath
984 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
158 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Address: Bloomfield House 146 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $129 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing