We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, excellent breakfast, a short walk from city centre”
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bloomfield House
Ranked #41 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, excellent breakfast, a short walk from city centre”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in Bloomfield house for a weekend this past August. The B&B is located about a 15 minute walk outside of the city centre on a hill. I took a cab to get there with my luggage which was only about 7 pounds. The rest of the time I walked.

The owners are very friendly people. Karen gave me helpful information as soon as I arrived as well as a map of Bath. The property itself is very beautiful, Georgian style and decorated very tastefully in period style. I stayed in a single room, which was perfect for me - still big enough - and with it's own bathroom. The bathroom had high quality toiletry products, and the room had some tea and a kettle. There was also Wifi :)

The strong point for me was the breakfast which was made by the owners and served in the dining room. It was delicious! Fresh fruit galore, healthy yoghurts, cereal AND full English. I ordered scrambled eggs and it was served with perfectly cooked sausages, mushrooms, and tomato. All you can drink coffee/tea served in a personal cafetiere or teapot - a nice touch.

The one thing I would have liked was some access to a sitting room as with other B&Bs I've stayed in, just to read or something and to enjoy the house more. The fact that it was room-only access except in the morning for breakfast made it feel a bit less like a B&B and more like a hotel - this was the only negative for me at this price level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    41
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
148
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A unique b&b, about as far from a chain hotel as you can get. The decor helps create an atmosphere of peaceful luxury and the hosts are very welcoming. We stayed in a room with a 4poster bed which had fantastic views over bath. We were here for two nights with our dog Roxy and were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and the location makes for a very peaceful nights sleep. The only niggle was the shower in the ensuite which was a bit temperamental. We would definitely stay again

Room Tip: The room with a four poster bed has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Perfect location, quiet area above Bath easy walk downhill into town, short bus ride back up! We booked a four poster room, it has wonderful views over Bath and was comfortable and very clean. The owners warm welcome and marvellous organic breakfast made our stay extra special ( fab black pudding!!). We are planning on returning again next year and would recommend highly.

Room Tip: We had room 2, a four poster with a lovely view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Bit of a walk down the hill to get into Bath and I would recommend a taxi to get you back to the B&B after a night on the tiles. Cannot fault the B&B at all, very friendly owner and a very nice room with good views down to Bath

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orinoco5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked this B&B because only because it allows pets. So when we arrived with our two golden retrievers we had a lovely surprise. Yes, all rooms are upstairs on the top of the building, but the decor and friendliness of the owners is out of this world. Our room was large enough to accommodate 3 people and two large dogs, with en-suite and beautiful imaginative decor and a huge garden downstairs, with chairs and tables. The resident animals (dog and cats) friendly. What a wonderful fillip to all those horrid "Travel Lodge" sterile rooms. We had a complimentary bottle of Irish cream lacquer and wonder of wonders, a decanter full of lovely port! We ignored the Irish cream and guzzled the lovely port and were amazed to see it replenished the next day! A truly special place to go to enjoy Bath (close) and relax in fine surroundings. Karen and family and pets, big kiss.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Consistently outstanding................this is our 2nd visit and this time we took our American friends with us. To directly quote them , they were "bowled over" and said they wished they could stay a week to take full benefit of such beautiful environment! A sentiment I agree with.

We/I love the quality, locally sourced English cooked breakfast, which was a new experience for our friends.

The bedrooms are beautiful, the welcome warm, Karen and Ray are lovely hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. ( ironing board to a top floor room!!) Tolly, the dog and a couple of really sweet cats add to the homely feel.

If you go to Bath, staying at the Bloomfield will enhance the the whole experience of visiting this lovely historic area. It's not to be missed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Oh my, where to start! Beautiful home inside and out. Lovely, spacious, and immaculate rooms. Amazing fresh breakfast with lovely music. And a hostess that makes you feel like you are visiting family. Tully, their dog, was the icing on the cake. We stayed 3 nights and wish we could have visited longer. Karen, thank you for a wonderful, and memorable stay and look forward to visiting again. OH yes, Bath was very nice too....lol!

Room Tip: Any room in this house would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tags720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
802 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#26 of 157 in Bath
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bailbrook Lodge
Bailbrook Lodge
#25 of 157 in Bath
624 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#18 of 157 in Bath
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Property: Bloomfield House
Address: Bloomfield House 146 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing