We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Bloomfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bloomfield House
Ranked #39 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked this B&B because only because it allows pets. So when we arrived with our two golden retrievers we had a lovely surprise. Yes, all rooms are upstairs on the top of the building, but the decor and friendliness of the owners is out of this world. Our room was large enough to accommodate 3 people and two large dogs, with en-suite and beautiful imaginative decor and a huge garden downstairs, with chairs and tables. The resident animals (dog and cats) friendly. What a wonderful fillip to all those horrid "Travel Lodge" sterile rooms. We had a complimentary bottle of Irish cream lacquer and wonder of wonders, a decanter full of lovely port! We ignored the Irish cream and guzzled the lovely port and were amazed to see it replenished the next day! A truly special place to go to enjoy Bath (close) and relax in fine surroundings. Karen and family and pets, big kiss.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 226 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Consistently outstanding................this is our 2nd visit and this time we took our American friends with us. To directly quote them , they were "bowled over" and said they wished they could stay a week to take full benefit of such beautiful environment! A sentiment I agree with.

We/I love the quality, locally sourced English cooked breakfast, which was a new experience for our friends.

The bedrooms are beautiful, the welcome warm, Karen and Ray are lovely hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. ( ironing board to a top floor room!!) Tolly, the dog and a couple of really sweet cats add to the homely feel.

If you go to Bath, staying at the Bloomfield will enhance the the whole experience of visiting this lovely historic area. It's not to be missed.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Oh my, where to start! Beautiful home inside and out. Lovely, spacious, and immaculate rooms. Amazing fresh breakfast with lovely music. And a hostess that makes you feel like you are visiting family. Tully, their dog, was the icing on the cake. We stayed 3 nights and wish we could have visited longer. Karen, thank you for a wonderful, and memorable stay and look forward to visiting again. OH yes, Bath was very nice too....lol!

Room Tip: Any room in this house would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tags720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Spent 3 days in Bath - in the rain for the most part! but, thanks to Karen we had a lovely stay in Bloomfield House. We were lucky to have the opportunity to enjoy 2 different room types - a standard double and the king 4 poster. Both rooms were great but it has to be said that we enjoyed the space the king room offered. Both looked out over the garden and were quiet and very comfortable.
As everyone says the breakfasts were very good - we enjoyed chatting to the other guests while Karen prepared a full English complete with black pudding which wasn't to everyone's taste but certainly was to ours.
There is no doubt that the walk up the hill to the house is the best way to "walk off" the full English but does require a certain level of fitness, we stopped off at the Bear pub to catch up with the tennis and to get a light refreshment as a reward for the climb.
We loved walking around Bath even in the rain and thanks to Karen for all her help in where ti go and in particular for her help in directing us home at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had unplanned to stay somewhere with my dog, which need it an operation.
Mrs Barnard-Weston made us feel very welcome!
It was lovely to stay in such a cosy room, because it was constantly raining.
Breakfast was excellent!

I would go there any time again.
Thank you!!!! Iris and Murphy

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on business. An excellent experience all round. The house it comfortable and well appointed. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for views over bath and only a short walk into town.

The breakfast was excellent, nothing too much trouble.

Each day rounded off with a night cap courtesy of the complimentary bottle of port in the room.

I'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adams12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at Bloomfield House in April and I am looking forward to returning. Rob and Kari were welcoming, helpful and I had the most luxurious evening baths there. I slept well each night and always looked forward to awaking and enjoying the charm of the B&B. Great tea and treats in the room, and breakfast was fresh and delicioius. The views from my room were lovely and I found it to be the perfect place to cozy up with a good book. Peaceful and perfect place to enjoy the beautiful city of Bath.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
5.5 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#34 of 155 in Bath
245 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
820 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#37 of 155 in Bath
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#17 of 155 in Bath
802 reviews
5.4 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#46 of 155 in Bath
115 reviews
6.9 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House

Address: Bloomfield House 146 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $113 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, unique, Georgian family house with romantic four poster bedrooms, half testers and a cosy south facing single. We serve mostly organic and fair traded breakfasts until 11.00am. The guest house has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and is situated in a quiet elevated location with about a 20 minute walk down to the city centre. Please note for those with allergies that we have a dog and several cats – reception areas only. We accept pets but like to know that they are coming. We are sorry but Saturday nights are generally only available as part of a two night booking. Our cancellation terms are a full 72 hours notice required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bloomfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing