We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny weekend in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely hotel but they need to concentrate on the basics.
The hotel and room were beautiful but we were charged twice for room upgrades, I had to send breakfast on day one back as the scrambled egg was grey, cold and lumpy, and during a 'relaxing' spa treatment the shower wasn't working properly and water was stone cold! The issues were corrected once pointed out although we were only offered a reduction on the cost of the ruined treatment.
Service when it arrived was good but very slow to arrive!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Lesley S

Thanks for submitting an even handed review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with breakfast. We have rectified the problem that you experienced in the Spa.

Thank you for your positive comments about elements of the service at the hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to discus the issue further or if you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,258 - 3,264 of 4,518 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

stayed for a night as it was my birthday, we spent the afternoon shopping in Bath, followed by a few drinks before going back to the hotel. Had a nice swim and really enjoyed the outdoor thermal pool. The Spa was fairly quiet so we enjoyed our swim undisturbed even though it was the Easter holidays. Went out to eat as we had eaten at the hotel on some of our previous visits and wanted to try something different. Breakfast was an unmitigated disaster. Before going into the dining room I double checked that we had prepaid for a full breakfast, reception confirmed that we had indeed. On entering the Dining room we were challenged and told we were sonly entitled to the continental breakfast. When they eventually (after about 15-20 minutes) got around to taking our order for the cooked breakfast, they even then managed to deliver the wrong items on our plates and my poached eggs (ordered deliberately to have soft yolks) were overcooked. We ate the food but cannot honestly say we enjoyed it. We will think hard before booking here again. We checked outré leaving behind an electric toothbrush, it took numerous phone calls to get it returned to us and even then, it was now damaged.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_EvansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear G EvansWales

Thanks for submitting an even handed review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with breakfast. I will investigate how this miscommunication took place and to make certain we don’t fall short of our normal high standards.

Thank you for your positive comments about the Spa.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to discus the issue with lost property and breakfast or if you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Everything about the stay was fantastic. The staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. They were extremely attentive and friendly. The room was stunning and had every amenity. The spa facilities were excellent too. The whole hotel is beautiful and is only a short walk down the hill into Bath city centre. A wonderful stay. Faultless. We will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GazLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear GazLondon

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about the staff.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with all the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon arrival all staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed at the hotel for my Fiancée's birthday. Neither of us have never experienced such attention to detail.

We were shown around the hotel by Ra, who made us feel special !

This was followed by a full body massage in the SPA. I can not remember the last time I felt so relaxed. Sue did an amazing job.

Ra then brought champagne, canapés and birthday cup cake to our room. This really was the icing on the cake...

We had reserved a table for dinner. We were initially shown to the bar area and presented with menus. Although both food and drink were expensive, I feel you are also paying for the service and attention to detail.

Brian did a superb job in serving us. The food was very tasty and perfectly cooked.

The only downside was the £5 add on for parking. I would suggest that the management look at including this in the overall price.

Fantastic experience. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtfstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Jtfstewart

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about the hotel and individual members of the team that you single out for providing such good service. I will pass on your comments.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with all the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My mum and I spent a night bed, breakfast and dinner here. We arrived and greeted by the lovely staff who were so helpful. The grounds and hotel itself are beautiful.
We were shown to our room and it was very clean. I had a full body massage and followed with a couple of hours in the thermal suite and outdoor pool. The facilities are great however they could do with having a good clean down and someone to attend the area more often as there ended up being piles of dressing gowns everywhere!
We had cocktails followed by what I can only describe as one of the best meals I have ever had. The food and staff were fantastic. The waiter recommended the chocolate fondue and it was out of this world.
Goodnight sleep in comfy beds. Breakfast was a slightly more chaotic experience and we had to ask on numerous occasions for toast and I gave up asking for a pot of tea! Overall very good, suggest maybe having staff waiting on set tables in the morning?!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovethesunTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear ilovethesun

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such an even handed and positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed the spa, it can get quite busy at times. I am sorry you did not get your tea at breakfast. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about the team at the hotel and dinner.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I booked a two night break at this hotel as a surprise for my wife. The hotel is in a good location for exploring Bath, and the rooms were clean and comfortable, with good service. A couple of small complaints, the first night at the hotel there was a problem with the satellite reception, which meant we couldn't watch TV (this problem affected the entire hotel), and one morning the cooked breakfast was cold by the time it arrived at our table, which is not what you'd expect from a 5* hotel. Having said that, we enjoyed our stay, and enjoyed the spa facilities at the hotel (which was one of the main reasons for booking the hotel in the first place). If we were to visit Bath again, I'd certainly consider going back to the Bath Spa Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbickers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Sbickers 1

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such an even handed review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the problem you experienced with the TV reception which we rectified the next day and also the issue you had with breakfast. Thank you for such a helpful review and your kind comments about your stay.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was bought by my partner as a surprise birthday treat for me.
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were a great size complete with queen sized bed and balcony. There was a lovely birthday box of chocolates waiting in the room when we arrived-a lovely touch.
The spa was also great with a heated outdoor pool, complete with jacuzzi bubbles.
Food was delicious, although the evening meals were a little pricy with two courses for £38 or three courses for £48.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the £5 car park fee, which should be scrapped. We also struggled with the wifi and the air con, but other than that a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauracot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Lauracot,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review and I am so glad that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations. I am sorry that you struggled with our free Wifi and the Air Conditioning.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $186 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing