We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel - a little expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Shillingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel - a little expensive”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I decided to have a night away in Bath and chose this hotel because it has parking and is close to the City for my wife to shop! Why charge guests £5 to park in their huge car park? It smacks of being mean and annoyed me when you are already paying a lot to stay there. The room was very nice, clean and tastefully decorated. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent but it was a bit expensive and the drinks were a crazy price £12.30 for a G&T! Breakfast was good with excellent ingredients.
We had a swim in the pool and the spa seemed well equipped if you like that sort of thing.
Overall, pretty good and would do it again - but I'd eat and drink in the City!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate such a helpful review and I note your comments with regard to the bar prices.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,934
    1,242
    694
    324
    158
See reviews for
595
2,773
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a great stay at the hotel, very welcoming on arrival, well equipped and comfortable surroundings,
Breakfast was well presented with a good choice.
Well equipped gym, did not use the pool but looked nice with indoor / outdoor pool and sun deck.
Short walk to town centre and ample parking.

Room Tip: We had a garden view which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Andy G

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I have just completed a 2-night discounted offer here and could not have been more impressed. The hotel is ideally situated, 15 minutes walk from the centre of this lovely city and has ample parking (but £5 per day). We were given a free upgrade into a beautiful garden-view room, which was spacious and comfortable in every way. The cuisine, if rather dear, was first class. But, especially, the hotel is most memorable for its superb staff: they were all most efficient, extremely helpful at all times and consistently cheerful. We look forward to returning. Just two minor suggestions: the elderly would greatly appreciate some transport into the centre, as parking there is a nightmare; the really good bathrooms would be made perfect with a better toilet-roll holder - ours had nothing to secure the roll and at the slightest touch it ran off over the floor like a demented Andrew advert!
Cato

Room Tip: Garden-view rooms cost a little more but the spaciousness and sunny outlook make it worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear David G

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your feedback about the bathrooms. We are looking at transport options to help guest that may have difficulty with the short walk in to the centre of Bath We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

At just 11PM they don't even have tea! The guy from room service told me you can make your own, there is a kettle in the room! The only things they got are cold salmon, egg and ham sandwiches. The building looks nice but the service is quite poor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fardad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Fardad F

Thank you for submitting a review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with room service. I am very surprised as we have an extensive 24 hour menu and a wide variety of teas. A programme of remedial training is underway with the night team to ensure that any similar lapses will not be repeated.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewell
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The staff are wonderful, in every department. The room was very good and the bathroom excellent. We enjoyed the table d'hôte meal each evening but would have liked more variation in the menu each night. When we asked, we were allowed to,mix and match from the a la carte menu, which made all the difference. Still, for those staying more than two nights, a more extensive table d'hôte would be preferable. The food was excellent and we had a really good package which included the set dinner. Breakfast was also very good.
The hotel is set in lovely gardens about a ten minute walk from the centre of Bath so very convenient. We thought £5 parking charge for valet parking was reasonable but do understand those who suggest it is unnecessary at the high room rates.

I would not want to pay the full tariff and regard it as overpriced. However, we had an extremely good package and found it excellent value for money at the price paid. We loved the staff and will return.

Room Tip: We were in the main building, which we prefer wherever we are. The room was really quiet, towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Munx

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking at a wider variety of menu options. We do appreciate such a helpful review and thank you for such kind comments about our staff.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the most expensive room. It was great asked for flowers and they were provided. The garden is well presented. The spa was okay. The bars were very good. Bath has some picturesque streets so go have a romantic time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzaj200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Gazzaj200

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a special birthday treat. The hotel and grounds are magnificent. The rooms are spacious with lovely big baths and lots of little helpful extras. The spa is fabulous and is just what you need after a long day of sightseeing and shopping. The concierge were very attentive and helpful although a little intimidating at times. All the staff were friendly and helpful although we got the impression that our decision to eat late didn't go down well with some of the waitresses. A little disappointed that the car park was extra and the excessive price for breakfast given the price of the rooms. Perhaps the twin beds could have been slightly further apart but that is being particular.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chih14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Chih14

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review and I you are welcome in the restaurant at any time.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing