We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here as a treat for my wife last week. Upgraded to Garden view room. Well worth it. Room was very spacious with a nice view and the bathroom was nice and big. Staff were great. Everyone was helpful and all staff were extremely polite. The city centre and Roman Baths were only a 10 minute walk. We found the Spa and restaurant a bit pricey but it would not put me off staying here again. It is in a nice quiet area, so it is an ideal retreat for people who want a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Try and pick a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Pratik D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your wife enjoyed your visit. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    1,213
    666
    311
    151
See reviews for
579
2,688
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hi stayed at this hotel February and upgraded to front facing garden room (well worth the difference). This hotel is child friendly and although I agree the service can be slow the staff are working sooooo hard! We booked three rooms and they ensured we were all together and at breakfast they knew we wanted a larger table without ever asking. A special mention must go to Brian in the restaurant that greeted us by our name every day and made our stay that little bit special. Also Andrew the concierge gave the same kind of treatment, nothing is too much trouble. These two members of staff are a credit to the hotel. Would I stay here again? Yes it is expensive for drinks but it is five star, the rooms are lovely and clean, the staff are polite. It is close to the centre of bath. Only down side they do charge for parking £5 each day and also a 12.5% surcharge on all food and drink (too much should be 5% max), however you can opt to not pay it and being so much I would say don't pay it!!!

Room Tip: pay extra for the garden view rooms, they were much bigger than the standard and only a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Obe 1234

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it, particularly Brian and Andrew.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Came here for my husband’s 50th birthday and stayed for 2 nights with dinner, bed and breakfast (it was cheaper to book directly with the hotel). First impression was that the bedroom was very small (I’ve stayed at nicer and larger 4*bedrooms in the UK). The view from the room was lovely, looked out and could see the town of bath. We walked to the town centre on both days and the location is excellent (only 10 minutes walk away), it is an easy walk and the weather was not too cold, we tried to see as much as we could. We went to the Roman Baths which cost £14 each, we found it very interesting. We did not have to pay to see anything else as all the other places were free (donations requested). There are road maps all over the place so it easy to get around. Breakfast was OK, unfortunately as we do not eat pork we decided to try the vegetarian sausage which I didn’t like (You have to pay a supplement for kippers or salmon). The evening meals were absolutely delicious. The Spa facilities were one of the best we’ve ever used. Even though you have to pay £5 for the car park it is worth it because it cost quite a lot to park in the town centre. All in all this hotel was very nice the only problem is the very small bedroom

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraShakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Sandra Shakira,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you didn’t enjoy our vegetarian sausages but did enjoy the spa facilities. We do have a variety of room sizes available at the hotel. Thank you for such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Will try to keep review concise, but overall we did not feel what we experienced was altogether worthy of 5 stars.

Good points:

Food- excellent quality, choice and presentation.

Sarah- head of waiting staff. Could not have provided better service.

Location - 10 minute walk into Bath. No road noise. Lovely gardens.

Spa - Pricey but lovely, although they could not fit me in for a facial. Nice pool.

Reception - Good efficient service. Listened and acknowledged our complaint (see below).

Molton Brown toiletries ( small size)

Negative points:

Poor service at breakfast. We were completely overlooked by the staff and 4 other tables were seated and served their hot food before we got to order ours. We had to get up and "find" a member of staff to do this.

Cold dining room.

Noisy bedroom. On first floor above reception. Could hear phones ringing in the day time, and hear drawers banging all day and were even woken at 1 & 4 am on our 2nd night by this.
We had upgraded at our expense to get a better room.

Dirty sink in bathroom. Black under the rim. Scaly shower screen and shower head.

Hot chocolates and biscuits not replaced in room.

"seen better days " robes.

Summary: Had we not had such a good deal with the Macdonald "March madness" we would not have been happy to pay the full price. In a 5 star hotel you expect everything to be perfect.

Bath itself, lovely city. Nice and compact and lots to see.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to avoid office noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkesk&P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Wilkes K & P

Thanks for submitting an even handed review of the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel following your stay.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with various aspects of your stay all of which I will investigate to make certain we don’t fall short of our normal high standards.

Thank you for your positive comments and particularly about Sarah.

I would welcome the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel and ask that you contact me directly should you wish to book in the future so that I may take care of the arrangements for you personally.

Once again sincerest apologies

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a two night break. From the moment we pulled up at the reception to leaving, the service provided was outstanding. We dined the first night in the main restaurant which was thoroughly enjoyable and the second night in the terrace bar, slightly less formal but the service and food was of the same professional standard. The Spa is first class with many options to suit all. The superb staff really make this hotel special and would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JangoSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Jango Swansea,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt truly spoilt! All the staff were extremely friendly and courteous and did all they could to make our stay pleasurable. We had booked two rooms but we found one had a super king bed and the other a double. With a teething baby who needs feeding through the night we requested if the double could be changed to a room with a larger bed. The shift manager Ajit was very understanding and promptly showed us another bedroom. The spa facilities were excellent and the outdoor thermal pool was the highlight. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of both continental and English (including vegetarian) breakfast options. Only criticism was that service was a bit slow at times... Had to request boiling water (for baby food) three times before it arrived on the first morning and by the time the requested sauces were brought to table, we were more than halfway through breakfast! However despite these minor niggles we had a truly wonderful few days. Although we didn't eat any of our other meals at the hotel, the staff helpfully directed us into Bath (short walk to city centre even with pram) and recommended a few restaurants. Overall an excellent relaxing time.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are west facing and have a restricted view of Bath Abbey. Gardens are beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaliVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Managing Director at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear AnjaliVP

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such a helpful review. I am sorry that you experienced slow breakfast service but I am delighted that Ajit provided such good service for you and your family.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Jonathan Dawson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing