We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS HOTEL!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS HOTEL!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Have stayed in this wonderful hotel many times now, and being an unashamed lover of Bath and all it has to offer, i can honestly say that there is no where else I will book for the many repeat visits I intend to have in the future.

It is a very strange place this hotel, one of those rare gems that both truly impresses in terms of the grandeur of the building, whilst at the same time makes you feel totally comfortable and at ease. Where to start then in my unrelenting admiration for this place i wonder..

Firstly the building itself.. in keeping with what draws us all to Bath itself, the Building is so exquisitely beautiful in its classically grand Georgian style. This is England's heritage at its very best and reminds me of a romantic past from a classic novel.

Then the staff, very polite and well trained, always keen to offer a helping hand, and in the case of our butler, very knowledgeable of the local area and its ancient history (and believe me, the history of this part of the world is fascinating)

Then we have the rooms, I'm not going to say they are state of the art high end ultra modern affairs that you normally associate with 5 star places, but this is Bath.. who wants all that stuff here??!! They are instead beautifully understated and comfortable, with luxurious bedding and decent views.

Next we have the spa itself... this is a problem area for some i think.. meaning that it is so good that you have to ask yourself why bother visiting the historic bath spa in the city itself, and secondly quite frankly, when you are sitting in the hotels outdoor spa pool, why bother doing anything other than sit there for the whole of your break!! It really is such a luxury that it would be quite easy to spend the whole time there.

Then of course is the grand finale.. the signature cocktails in the bar!! check them out.. each bar tender has their own speciality cocktail or two, they really are special, and just too good to refuse.

Of course the fact that you are in one of the most beautiful cities in the world helps as well. The city centre is only a short walk away for the hotel, an easy walk down, and on the way back..an even shorter taxi journey.

Now im not going to say that this hotel is perfect. It has its quirks, one night we ordered a bottle of wine for room service, and got literally the bottle of wine only.. no glasses..no ice bucket etc..i was in such a good mood i just saw it as the quirkiness of the hotel. Frankly, i find the restaurant too expensive for what it is, but again this is a good excuse to go and check out the town.

The fact is though that i have stayed in all the other hotels in Bath worth staying in, and this is easily the best. It really does feel like i am going home when i go to this place, just a very grand, massively opulent, quintessentially English home!

One last point. If you fancy a cheeky break, then book a midweek deal, it really is so cheap for what you get its a steal!

Room Tip: Go midweek, and get yourself an upgraded room for amazing price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    1,253
    709
    333
    158
See reviews for
602
2,801
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I 'suffered' the most amazingly relaxing spa day here, so relaxing that we nearly fell asleep driving home!
The staff were just wonderful through out, lunch in the sun room was nice and the outdoor pools were just heavenly wit the cold air all around us
One amazing day which we will just have to repeat next anniversary

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarmischP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends. It was such a nice hotel great service and the food was wonderfull. We even had a game of crouqet on the front lawn. I would return here Again. There are Lots of things to do and the hotel is situated close to Bath centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POOLGUY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here in March 2012 and it was a trip to propose to my girlfriend. The staff were very helpful in leaving a bottle of champagne in the room - luckily she said yes.

The hotel is nice and good location to explore Bath but the issues we had is you have to pay £10 a day for parking which on top of the expensive breakfast which wasn't great with a lot of other guests complaining about the standard.

Spa is great and hotel in general and rooms but would not class it as a 5 star hotel. Little things let it down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were generally pleased with the hotel especially with the excellent evening meals and service in the restaurant. On the downside the hotel was a bit 'tired' in places and the breakfast experience was very unsatisfactory - the cooked breakfast and the service (for breakfast) was poor.
Excellent base for exploring Bath - only 10 mins pleasant stroll into the centre.

Room Tip: Garden View Rooms at front have good views over Bath and interconnecting doors were useful for our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crouchend7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel in a year and we will be booking again. The staff are always so helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to make your trip outstanding.
The rooms are clean and tidy. We've had treatments at the spa twice and again would recommend it. We always receive a warm welcome from the staff. If your looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful city in a beautiful hotel look no further. We have always booked when special deals on to help cut costs but still received 5 star treatment. Thank you to all the staff wonderful as always.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lou788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for an early valentines night away. We stayed here mid week and get a brilliant deal on the internet. We couldn't have afforded their full prices. The hotel is set in large grounds in central but out of the way location. We arrived mid morning to make the most of the spa which you can use before check in and after check out. The lobby is elegant and inviting and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. You have to pay £10 for parking. If you could be bothered, then you could park on the road and walk back up the driveway to the reception. We didn't bother. Our room was beautifully decorated with luxurious bedding and cushions. The room felt very special and perfect for a romantic night away. The bathroom was also up to scratch. There were dressing gowns and slippers to take down to the spa with you. The spa was fantastic. Certainly the best in any hotel I have stayed in. The swimming pool wasn't that big, as is pretty normal. However, there was an outdoor pool. You entered indoors and then entered through to the outdoor section. This pool was very warm and there was plenty of room to sit outside in it, with bubbling water. This was particularly lovely in the dark. There were also tables and chairs around the pool to be used in summer. Then we visited the sauna and steam room area. Here there were 5 rooms to use including an ice room, which was refreshing after the hot rooms. There were also two specialty showers which were also great between hot rooms. We ate in the hotel, in a lovely dining room. The deal was for 3 courses or £50 for two of us plus drinks. This was good value for the type of food and meal, both being elegant. We would definable stay here again on a similar deal. The hotel is not fa from where we live, but a million miles away. It was just what our relationship needed. We didn't have breakfast as we didn't want to get up early for this but did have a lovely lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing