We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing. Nice service. (Bar/Lounge)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Quiet and relaxing. Nice service. (Bar/Lounge)”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I frequent the lounge and Bar in MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel. It's a very pleasant place to sit. They have an excellent selection of whiskey, cigars and whatever else one may wish to enjoy. Coffee isn't bad either. Service is friendly and what you expect from a 5* hotel. They will valet park your car and the bar is table service. The people making your cocktails seem to know what they are doing. I've haven't been made a bad one yet. Expect to pay a little above standard charge, sit back and enjoy the good service and pleasing surroundings. That's what you're paying for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,923
    1,238
    681
    321
    153
See reviews for
591
2,750
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

There are good aspects to this place. It's central and with good grounds surrounding it. The public rooms are somewhat formal and most of the staff are attentive. But there remains an undertow of "We're a top hotel, you're a punter", particularly from the very senior staff. Try sending food back to the kitchen and you'll see what i mean.
Reasonable value of you pick wisely.
The spa seems popular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

5 star prices but nothing else is 5 star. Room was average to poor. Mini bar was empty. No attention to detail which you would expect for a 5 star. Bit grubby with super cheap plastic loo seats. Mucked about by staff when it came to booking dinner at the hotel so ended up eating out. Lovely on the outside and had great potential but overall we were disappointed for what we paid. I travel a lot on business so I feel I can make a fair comparison.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiththame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have just spent a 3 night city break here with my husband and 10 year old son. The service was excellent, hotel extremely comfortable and facilities excellent. The hotel was quite quiet for our first two nights and there was a slight difference to the level of attention on our third night, but was still very high. Would thoroughly recommend. Very easy walk into town or a very short taxi ride. In a lovely setting. My son was very well catered for and thoroughly enjoyed his stay.

Room Tip: We chose a garden room for two adults and a 10 year old. This was big enough for an extra bed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just spent the weekend here for the second time to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Great location. Can easily walk into town.
Room was ok. Upgraded to garden view room and given a card and chocolates for our celebration.
Spa excellent as always. Outdoor pool so hot it was almost impossible to get in.
Staff were excellent. Very helpful. Almost too much sucking up!
Best breakfast ever!
Have the black pudding!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband took me to this hotel for my birthday treat, it wa the best present I have had. Fab spa, fab food great room with four poster bed. Grounds of hotel lovely for walks although it was raining when we visited so were unable to take advantage of them.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent a night at the Macdonald Bath Spa whilst attending a training course. We were looked after very well by the entire team and no request was too much trouble.

The bedroom was large and comfortable. The food for all meals was exceptional with service to match. Our meeting room had a great view onto the gardens.

I look forward to returning in the near future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing