We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't know what to add to the excellent reviews already posted.... this hotel is delightful. This was our second stay here and we're already looking forward to another visit. Alll the staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble (even de-icing my car!). There had been a bit of a hiccup with the booking but the upgrade more than made up for it. The four poster bed was ENORMOUS and very comfortable!! . The buffet breakfast was really good - lots of choice and we never felt hurried. Service wasn't at lightening speed but we were there for a relaxing weekend..... and took the opportunity to chill!!
We too were in Bath for the Christmas markets - easy to walk to but away from all the noise of the city centre. If you want a really good comfortable hotel where you feel valued and well treated by the staff - you won't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,590 - 3,596 of 4,518 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel for a trip to the Bath Xmas markets. The staff at most Macdonald hotels are good but here they go the extra mile. Nothing was too much trouble with a friendly welcome and doorman rushing to take our bags as we arrived and jovial banter exchanged with the reception staff. Every single member of staff was brilliant, including the staff in the spa. Rooms were comfortable, clean and warm and room service was very efficient and friendly. Even when, a couple of hours after we had checked out we discovered that we had left a bottle of wine in the fridge they were quite happy to retrieve it for us.

The only downside was that the service at breakfast was quite slow and we had to keep prompting the waiting staff.

Throughly enjoyed it despite this though and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was just exquisite! The hotel was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was superb, in fact, it was the best fillet steak I've ever had. The spa facilities were amazing. Both my husband and myself had massages and the pool facilites were the best I've experienced. As well as a pool and jacuzzi, there was an outdoor heated pool, 5 sensory tooms (steam room, normal sauna, infrared sauna, salt infusion room and ice room) as well as 2 showers, one with various body jets and the other with options such as drench, fragrance and cold. The only downside was that the drinks were extortionate!
The hotel is in an excellent location, only a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre, we'd take a taxi back to the hotel at the end of the day for about £4.50.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife & I had a very pleasant weekend, staying in one of the Cityscape rooms on the top floor of the old building with a nice view out over the historic town. The hotel is located on the outskirts of the town with a fifteen minute walk into the centre. The hotel has very nice & well maintained grounds. The room was very well appointed, the bed large & comfortable with a very nice bathroom. Nice fluffy white bathrobes were provided. The included breakfast was of the highest quality with a wide variety of cold buffet ingredients & a cooked dish to order. The Eggs Benedict were superb, the full English excellent & the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs perfect. The service was very good but understandably rather slow when the restaurant became crowded. The hotel has a beautiful lounge where one can order snacks & drinks & the intimate bar serves a good martini to order. Every one of the staff we encountered provided top class polite, friendly & efficient service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor of the old building facing the town are very pleasant with nice views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fantastic Hotel in a great location with a wonderful spa. However there is a definite feeling of tiredness around the place, my room was in the 400s and was ok clean and tidy but the units are old the windowsill when I opened the window, was all flaking paint. Toilet enamel had a crack in it and the shower unit has seen better days.

Don't get me wrong the service was always impecable and the breakfast very good. I wouldn't personally want to sit and eat in the corridor that leads to the bar as it seems a bit cold and very echoey but there where plenty of ladies who lunch there enjoying themselves.

We had booked a meeting room for the day which when we entered it in the morning discovered the Air Conditioning wasn't working and the room had not been cleaned from the previous day. the room was freezing and after having a couple of electric heaters delivered eventually warmed up.

We booked this hotel as we where interviewing and felt this Hotel would give a good perception of us, sadly the meeting room didn't. This is not what you expect in a hotel of this standing. I recently have booked meeting rooms for the same purpose at the Raddison in Covent Garden London for £200 a day. The room and service was immaculate. The MacDonald Spa did offer to reduce my bill for the room by 50% which was very good.

I would use the hotel again but next time I'll make sure I check the room has been prepared the night before.

Room Tip: Room 420 is at the end of the corridor so has two windows rather than the usual one which means you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at this place in Nov'12. Located only a 15min walk from Bath town centre, this is a gem of a hotel. The room I stayed in is by far the largest in terms of size. It was very comfortable and spacious. There's luxury experienced from the moment you enter the hotel till you step out. The restaurant offers a interesting selection of food with emphasis on flavour and creativity.

The meeting rooms here are large enough and can hold a good number of people if you plan to hold a conference. I'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Visited the Bath Spa Hotel over the weekend for our wedding anniversary for Saturday night, our first visit.

Fabulous place, started with excellent welcome from Mohammad, the Reception Manager who brought us coffee and shortbread, checked all the details of our stay and gave us a quick tour. A proper welcome, many organisations could learn from that experience. All the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Room amazing we did go for an Imperial suite. Dinner very good, wines at top of price range but high quality and sommelier was keen to talk about the wines we ordered by the glass and I noted a couple of brands I would buy again. Breakfast good, buffet and cooked choice with plenty of fresh fruit.

For a special weekend an excellent choice and Bath is a great place to wonder round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $186 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing