We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic few nights on a DB&B special break & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We found the hotel & service to be impeccable. The porter service was quick, efficient,& took our cases from the car to the room. We found room service to be very efficient (5 mins to bring up ice). The reception staff were also very welcoming and helpful giving us a room upgrade on finding it was our anniversary & had a lovely room overlooking the front gardens. They even gave us a nice card & truffles in the room

The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance from the town centre. You can stroll down to the centre via the park opposite the entrance in 10-15 mins, just keep baring left. although it is an uphill walk back to the hotel.
We entertained company in the restaurant one of the nights & we all found the food to be excellent, although the wine & drinks can be a bit pricey & on par with London 5 star hotels.

The spa is excellent,. There is an indoor pool, an outside pool heated to bath temperatures as well as several saunas, steam rooms, ice rooms etc.

I would highly recommend this elegant hotel & look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,923
    1,238
    681
    321
    153
See reviews for
591
2,750
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is in an attractive setting but that alone does not justify the cost. The bedroom was small and, whilst the bathroom was well appointed it did not lift it above the standard of other, cheaper hotels. The swimming pool area was cramped and the spa too busy to be truly relaxing. It is disappointing to be told at check-in that we would be well advised to go for breakfast early or risk delays and queues. Surely the sign of an efficiently run hotel is that it accommodates the needs of its guests, not ask its guests to adapt to the limitations of its kitchen? The staff were friendly and helpful.
Despite the high room-rate the hotel charges a fee to pay by credit card - unacceptable in my view for a hotel of this type.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have good views over Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarronE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend and i went away for one night stay at the Bath Spa hotel at the beginning of November and overall we left with a very bad impression of the hotel and the Macdonald chain overall.

We arrived on saturday afternoon and our luggage was taken from us while we waited in the lounge area to be checked in. My boyfriend had booked us a room in the Imperial Suite complex (a seperate building at the rear of the hotel) and this meant we had a Butler service for check in etc. The process wasn't particularly smooth or relaxing - sitting in a lounge full of screaming children having afternoon tea with their families, while we were perched on awkward chairs filling in a form on a plastic clipboard - not what you expect for a 5* hotel.

After a brief 'tour of the hotel' we were taken to our room. Despite having left our bags with the porter 20minutes previously our bags were not in the room when we arrived there meaning we had 5 minutes to change and get back to the spa for our treatment - not a particularly relaxing start.

Our room itself was large and impressive with a nice view over the small garden area. The large double bed was comfortable although the pillows were lumpy and made of man made fibres. The large bathroom had a bath and seperate shower, although the towel rail was too small for 2 bath towels to dry on and the Molton Brown toileteries didn't match - so we ended up with 2 differnt fragrances (1 shampoo and 1 body lotion in one fragrance, and 1 shower gell and 1 conditioner in another).

The spa itself was good and our double massage was relaxing. The relaxation room was calming to rest in afterwards although it was clear it had been a busy day as it hadn't been attended to in a while with empty cups and glasses on all of the tables. After our treatment we enjoyed the spa facilities - steam room, sauna, ice room etc - all enjoyable and clean. The pool and outdoor heated pool were also good and the changing areas were clean and well equipped with hair dryers etc.

Back up in our room we enjoyed our glass of champagne and canapes which were included with our booking, before heading down to dinner. Unfortunately our experience in the Vellore restaurant was awful from start to finish (although the food itself was very good when it eventually arrived) - we had to wait 20 minutes for a menu, we then had to wait a further 15minutes to get someones attention to place our order, and another 10 minutes to speak to the sommelier. After a 30minute wait our starter arrived, although we didn't yet have any wine to drink with it, our main course was similarly slow to arrive. The cheese trolley was looking decidely empty by the time it arrived with us and there was as shortage of cheese biscuits. The staff were surley and unhelpful with the restaurant manager doing a valliant job to try and hold things together. **I must point out that in reaction to our awful evening we were not charged for our dinner or wine. Although good, this doesn't make up for a disappointing evening on what should have been a romantic weekend away**

Ten minutes after arriving back in our room a powercut plunged us into darkness meaning we had to get ready for bed in the light from our iPhones! Despite flicking what we though were all the light switches, when the power came back on at 4am our lights all switched on, and the radio too, meaning we had a disturbed nights sleep on uncomfortable, lumpy pillows.

Breakfast the next morning luckily saw better service but the cooked breakfast was disappointing with completely overcooked poached eggs and greasey bacon.

The hotel staff were helpful with recommendations of what to see and do in Bath and luckily we were able to recover some of the weekend with a truely brilliant day out in this beautiful city.

What should have been a relaxing and enjoyable romantic weekend away ended up feeling like a stressful and over priced trip. Despite our bill being amended to take account of our dinner we felt we had paid over the odds for such an average hotel and service. For what should be a flagship hotel in the Macdonald chain it doesn't bode well and we won't ever stay at another of their hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

1st room had generator outside our window for air con .Put in another room .10" crack in basin, had to plug in kettle on floor, window wouldn't open,,thermostat not working ,no hot water even though we were told it had been fixed !!
We were told by staff they were fed up fending off complaints.

Manager did offer refund but not the point when you travel to a hotel is it.

I welcome an owners perspective of this ?

Room Tip: Do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply one of the best hotel breaks I've had in a long time. The staff at the Bath Spa make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive until the second you leave. We dined in the restaurant twice during our stay and on both occasions the food and service was of the highest quality. Then there is the spa, the most relaxing I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Even on a cold November evening the out door heated pool is simply Devine in fact I believe the colder it is outside make it even better. All this with only a short 10 minute walk into the town itself makes it the preferct place for a very relaxing break.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The World
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was there for my girlfriend and my "meeting of the parents". Which was set to be a difficult event but all the staff were brilliant along with the rooms, meal & service.
I am sorry I can't single anyone out as they were all great.
Thank you I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoNameOnTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a shame - acclaimed hotel but the alfresco restaurant was deserted, playing two different soundtracks simultaneously definitely jarred on the nerves. Soup first course too salty, stale bread and cold butter; though the poached egg and choizo starter was very good. That said, mains were fine but not special. Generally rather disappointed. Final note - staff were quick to try and help - professional and friendly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pettkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#9 of 30 in Bath
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing