We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere, food nothing to write gone about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No atmosphere, food nothing to write gone about”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a shame - acclaimed hotel but the alfresco restaurant was deserted, playing two different soundtracks simultaneously definitely jarred on the nerves. Soup first course too salty, stale bread and cold butter; though the poached egg and choizo starter was very good. That said, mains were fine but not special. Generally rather disappointed. Final note - staff were quick to try and help - professional and friendly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pettkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,923
    1,238
    681
    321
    153
See reviews for
591
2,750
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Both myself and my wife booked a last minute 2-night stay over a weekend and whilst the hotel was pretty much full I couldn't fault the exceptional care the staff take of you. We booked an inclusive room, breakfast and dinner rate and I'd encourage that - breakfast is £20 if you pay separately!

The internal decoration of the hotel is classy and I've uploaded a couple of example photo's. We had a garden room view which in effect is the rooms over-looking the front. Not sure its worth the premium and the rooms are average in size - not as large as you may believe. Bathroom was very large and had an over-sized bath - my wife loved it!

The staff made it for us. The genuine interest they had in us, the constant checking to see if everything is OK and overall friendliness for us stood out. On arrival we had a little mini-tour of the hotel to be orientated whilst someone took our bags to our room - a small but typical touch of the hotel.

Dinner was in the main restaurant and overall the quality of the food and wine was excellent. Service wasn't rushed and the wine waiter was very engaging and offered practical help in selecting wines. The meal extras can be a shock though and we easily spent £80 extra over the included meal cost for wine, water and aperitifs for two.

We had treatments in the spa which had been excellent but again the weekend rates for treatments are very high. As some other reviews have mentioned there is a £5 charge for parking but if you can avoid parking in Bath for shopping its probably break-even - the walk into Bath is just 15 minutes at most and its very convenient in that way.

Breakfast was a stand out albeit at peak times you may have to wait a while for a table. A full buffet but a gorgeous fully cooked breakfast is specially cooked to your order.

The grounds are wonderful and the hotel for us was very quiet. The staff as I said could not have been more committed to its guests and for us made it a special weekend. Its pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Fussy_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise stay for my fiancés birthday, and from start to finish, the experience was all all round pleasant one.
To start with, I spoke to a lovely lady Jennie, who helped me to find a good deal for the day I wanted to stay, and as a result, I booked the Spa a la Carte stay which included accommodation, breakfast, and two full body massages.
The staff who greeted us at the hotel were simply fantastic, and couldn't have been more helpful and lovely. The room was beautiful, spacious, and had everything we could have wished for, a hairdryer, iron, fluffy dressing gowns, and a queen size bed. Everything was clean, and the room service staff were very responsive, polite, and eager to please.
The spa was out of this world, like nothing we have experienced before There was a stunning outdoor heated pool which had bubbles and a waterfall type feature, and we sat for hours in the rain at night just soaking up the romantic atmosphere. There were many sauna rooms, an ice room, and a salt room that was magical.
Breakfast was superb! So fresh, tasty, and everything you could want... I only wish I could have eaten more but I was so full up!
Overall this was a lovely experience, and one that I would recommend to anyone looking for a luxurious and romantic stay in Bath...

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a garden view room which was simply lovely, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend break at the hotel. The leisure facilities were good, very relaxing. The staff were excellent, attentive and friendly. I forgot to pack cuff links and was loaned a personal set by Brian...thanks Brian much appreciated. We used the restaurant on the first night and the meal and service was excellent. Our room was very comfortable. The hotel is well positioned, a short walk from the city centre. Only down side was the feeling of being ripped-off for the £5 charge for parking at the hotel even though I was a paying guest. I think I will mark the hotel down one mark just for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winslow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day midweek break at this marvellous hotel.
We booked direct on their website and came across a promotional code for dinner, bed and breakfast.
The hotel is set in magnificent grounds and is a majestic old building.
It has changed roles over the last couple of hundred years and has retained its charm and charcter from a bygone age.
We had a room overlooking the front gardens, which albeit was not a massive room, it was big enough for the two of us and had everything that we needed.
There was a large flat screen TV, large double bed, mini fridge, tea & coffee and a ensuite with bath / shower.
It was spotlessly clean and slippers and robes were provided for use in the spa.
The spa is great and has a reasonable sized indoor swimming pool and an outdoor heated spa pool, which was fantastic at night. There are also facilities such as sauna, steam and ice rooms.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was amazing. I paricularly enjoyed the venision which along with perfectly cooked steaks also had its own mini potatoe topped pie, containing braised vension!
Nothing is cheap, but you get quality if you pay for quality.
The service was impecable and very friendly, but a small word of warning - There is a service charge in the restaurant, which is not manadory, but can easily be signed for without realising it. (Check bill and full list on leaving)
All of the staff, from the housemaids, reception and waiters were very attentive and pleasent. Nothing was too much trouble and they seemed genuinly happy to be working at the hotel.
We had a fantastic time and it was great feeling like we were rich and famous, living the high life.
I notice a few other trip reviews being negative, I always say it how it is and I must comment that to moan about a £5 car par fee is a bit naff, when the location means that you can walk into Bath (10 mins max), rather than pay £10 to park for a few hours in one of the local car parks.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulxshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We checked in at 4.30pm with our 3 daughters (11, 9 and 7) who were looking forward to a swim before tea. Whilst we knew children were not permitted in spa areas (usual for a hotel), we were told they were permitted at all, to use the pool after 5pm. We paid full adult price for our children (nearly £300 for their room) and at every stage they were treated like second class citizens. We dashed straight to the pool to allow them to swim for the last 10mins but on asking for a towel at the spa recpetion " for my children", the staff repeated "children!!" with a nervous eye on the clock. It was scene straight out of chitty chitty bang bang.
My daughters were very well behaved, no running, no shouting, no bombing! but were clearly very uncomfortable, and more than disappointed to learn that the pool they were allowed to sue was only the indoor pool. The fun, beautiful pool that allowed you to swim outside into the cold air- was also out of bounds.
We have stayed at good quality hotels alll over Europe and the middle east with our children, and no-where has the reception been so frosty.
Add to that the fact that our room had a large carpet stain, black mould underneath the soapdish, and a grimy showescreen, and I would say the standards and service was far from 5 star.
The food at breakfast was however outstanding, ( and the staff there also lovely).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
598 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 747 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a shame - this once great hotel has seen standards continually slip. Few staff, who seem poorly managed and demotivated and disorganised. Feels like i went to a different hotel to tome other reviewers. To top it all a £5 per day parking fee just rubs it in how far it has slipped. The spa is good, rooms nice but overall a poor experience

Room Tip: Room overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing