We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay was for two days. I found the front lobby service staff disjointed and unorganized. The restaurant reservation was never made after the taxi dropped me off. Otherwise, the room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. For the price, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't take a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    1,213
    666
    311
    151
See reviews for
579
2,688
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here just for one night at the end of September 2012. I have to say overall i enjoyed my stay here. The good points were, it was very clean and comfortable. The evening meal was out of this world, well priced and one of the best, if not the best Ive had in a hotel. The location to the city centre was very good as well. The service was good, but to be honest they wouldn't leave you alone for more than 5 minutes at dinner. And that got annoying in the end. The slightly less good things were. The drinks were quite expensive at the bar. You expect it at the dinner table but not at the bar. Also having to pay a fiver to park in their car park didn't go down well either. And the spa was quite good but Ive been to better. But overall maybe I'm being a bit picky because I'd recommend it and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the MacDonlads Bath Spa Hotel for 2 nights. You can pull up to the main entrance and someone will be there immediately to help you unload and then park your car for you. Luggage is taken to the room for you. Check in was a bit slow since the person serving us was on his first day so got to make allowances for that. It was 3.30pm and the room was not ready so we had coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits in the lounge area all of which were done to perfection and were complimenatry since we were waiting for our room. The bedroom was very clean and the beds were really comfy, the bathroom was swish with Molten Brown products. The pool and sauna rooms were great including an ice room for those who dare. The pool was big enough to be able to swim properly, unlike some hotels where the size can be quite small. Outside is a thermal hot pool, this was really relaxing and very enjoyable it is set at just the right temperature. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant - when we originally tried to get in for a 7.30 time slot it was full, I spoke to someone to see if they could squeeze us in and 10 minutes later we had a table. It was a bit pricey but a real treat if you are celebrating something special. The service was outstanding, the food was good and my 84 year old mum who has never stayed in a 5 star hotel before was treated like the queen. Breakfast was also really good, cooked to order with vegetarian sausages as an option and very tasty. There was also a cold buffet with just about everything you can imagine on offer. There were always staff on concierge for taxis and general info and they were all very knowledgeable of the area. Taxis came within 5 minutes. Check out was really easy, someone came to help with the luggage, got the car for us and loaded it all up. Overall a brilliant stay and I would defintely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Enjoyable stay, reception was lovely, restaurant food was very good, but I am afraid service was so over the top for us, not relaxing or time to rest between courses. I would recommend, but staff need to give guests a bit more space is the only way for me to describe our one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend, as part of a corporate event. Staff welcomed us to the hotel and offered to take our luggage to our room - a nice touch. Check in was swift and we were escorted to our room by one the staff. The room was nice, and the bathroom very large by hotel standards. The bed was very soft, as were the pillows, which isn't my preference. Managed to get the WiFi in our room as well. Good selection of TV channels and a safe in the closet.
Breakfast was nice, but at £19+ is probably too expensive for what it is.
We didn't try any of the spa facilities so cannot comment on those.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat_in_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this spa resort in October 2011. We stayed for 4 nights and we found it to be a very convenient location for Bath (within walking distance). We used the spa facilities. Our room overlooked the gardens and we had a skyline view of the town of Bath. All in all we had a fantastic mini break and are thinking of booking it again. Most certainly one to recommend (and we do regularly!). Contrary to other reviews, we never experienced any check-in problems at all. We found the hotel and staff lived up to it's star rating.

Room Tip: Not that we when in to all rooms, but can most certainly recommend the rooms over looking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Booked this as I wanted to be pampered.

Spa and Food are excellent.

Maybe I was expecting a little more than what I experienced:-

1. Check in took over ten minutes - the reception was manned by one person - Four conceirges were milling around and I was twice asked if they could help - "Yes I'd like to check in"
2. 1st room - the bathroom door wouldn't shut - they arranged another room
3. 2nd room - the bolts opening the balcony door was broken - you had to manually pull the bolt to get the door open. Cigarette stubbs left on balcony. Ground Coffee available but no cafetiere to put in into.
4. Dinner - this was lovely, except the service was so slow!! We ended up seeing 2 other couples arrive after us and were onto their desserts before our mains came out - some 40 mins between the starter and the mains.
5. Breakfast - Dirty Cups on the table - is this 5 stars?
6. Checkout - Quick Checkout Bill was incorrect - I was on a DBB rate - they had charged for the dinner. Had to sort the bill out manually at reception.

Overall a mixed feel - some aspects were 5 stars (Spa and food), however the rooms and overall maintenance is somewhat lacking. For the price I think I'd rather stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NantwichGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing