We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Charming, Boutique Hotel”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed one night in a suite with my husband, 6yr old daughter and baby.

Hotel is situated bang in the midddle of Bath in a charming residential area and only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Bath.

This really was a lovely boutique hotel who welcomed my children and immedaitely made us feel at complete ease!

Alhtough not the largest suite we have ever stayed in it was charming and beautifully decorated, with wonderful Penhaligon toiletries!

Staff incredibly friendly and helpful, and although we did not eat in the restaurant we spoke with people who did and they said it was wonderful.

I really did love this hotel and would love to return for another visit to the beautiful city of Bath and to stay in this glorious hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainsley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

A very good location, close to all the attractions but in a reasonably quiet part of town. Very comfortable and clean hotel, helpful staff and easy parking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotheLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We were in Bath for two days to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, and asked for the Athol four poster suite room. It was beautiful, decorated in traditional decor and clean with a deep bath and powerful shower. We had dinner in the Cavendish Restaurant (part of the hotel) on our first night and can honestly say that it's one the best meals we have ever eaten. Everything was cooked to perfection, and presented beautifully. Breakfast was equally good with a choice of Continental and/or full English. The staff on both the hotel and dining side can not do enough for you, and in fact went out of their way to accomodate our wishes. The location is perfectly central for exploring Bath town centre. Once we had parked our car (we easily found a parking bay right in front of the hotel which the hotel provided a parking permit for, for a small charge); we did not need to move the car again for our entire stay. We hope to return at Christmas, this time with our five year old daughter, and are sure we will enjoy our stay just as much then.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We have just returned from a short break at Dukes Hotel and found the hotel and staff charming. It is ideally situated a short stroll from the town (we too parked and didn't move the car during our stay). The rooms were beautifully furnished and the breakfasts lovely. Would recommend a trip to the Spa, very relaxing! We would love to go back to Dukes again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Having accidently left some items in my room, I contacted Mike Jackson the Reception Manager. He was extremely helpful and even went as far as to package up the said items and post them back to me (on his day off, as I understood it). Excellent & helpful

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Principal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

A lovely place to relax when visiting Bath. Following a visit to Bath Spa, my wife fell asleep in the bar after lunch (no alcohol involved!) and the staff tiptoed round for nearly half an hour so as not to waken her. Character-filled rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trenchfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We had a long weekend break in Bath and chose Dukes based on reviews read on tripadvisor. The location is great just a short stroll into the centre of Bath. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast is probably one of the best I have had at a hotel. Our only gripe was the standard double room at the top of the hotel which was disappointing considering the price (£167); it was rather small and the decor rather uninspiring and we were expecting something alittle more special for the price. Having said that it was comfortable and clean and we did not spend too much time there over the weekend as we were enjoying the delights of Bath which is a great city.

We spent an afternoon at the Thermae Spa which was lovely and good value for money. I can highly recommend the Bistro Papillion, an authentic french bistro where we had a great dinner on the Friday night. We also liked the Porter which served great bath ales (personal favourite Barnstormer) and good value food.

We really enjoyed our weekend and Dukes Hotel did live up to the reviews we had read on this site but I would ask them to review their pricing for the smaller double rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $130 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing