We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - above & beyond the call of duty!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Having accidently left some items in my room, I contacted Mike Jackson the Reception Manager. He was extremely helpful and even went as far as to package up the said items and post them back to me (on his day off, as I understood it). Excellent & helpful

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Principal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

A lovely place to relax when visiting Bath. Following a visit to Bath Spa, my wife fell asleep in the bar after lunch (no alcohol involved!) and the staff tiptoed round for nearly half an hour so as not to waken her. Character-filled rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trenchfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We had a long weekend break in Bath and chose Dukes based on reviews read on tripadvisor. The location is great just a short stroll into the centre of Bath. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast is probably one of the best I have had at a hotel. Our only gripe was the standard double room at the top of the hotel which was disappointing considering the price (£167); it was rather small and the decor rather uninspiring and we were expecting something alittle more special for the price. Having said that it was comfortable and clean and we did not spend too much time there over the weekend as we were enjoying the delights of Bath which is a great city.

We spent an afternoon at the Thermae Spa which was lovely and good value for money. I can highly recommend the Bistro Papillion, an authentic french bistro where we had a great dinner on the Friday night. We also liked the Porter which served great bath ales (personal favourite Barnstormer) and good value food.

We really enjoyed our weekend and Dukes Hotel did live up to the reviews we had read on this site but I would ask them to review their pricing for the smaller double rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Very friendly staff, Very comfortable rooms. Great food and drink and what a location. Parked the car and walked the whole time. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed in the Buccleuch Suite during a good weather period and found the hotel location to be ideal for seeing Bath. The Hotel was clean, quiet and relaxing, just what we wanted. Good food, attentive and helpful staff with good attitude. We will be staying there again - soon we hope !

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

My wife and I adored this Hotel, We stayed in the Argyle room with a lovely view over the courtyard terrace. Room was Spacious, large Bed, Digital TV with Freeview and T ea/Coffee Facilities, built in wardrobe with convenient light. 2 big fluffy Bathrobes. Bathroom was lovely with a large roll top bath and power shower over. Heated Towel Rail and fluffy towels with Complimentary toiletries. Hotel supplied a parking permit for our car which covered our stay, parking in Bath is a nightmare - you have been warned!. The hotel were also kind enough to allow the use of the permit for a few hours after we checked out, so we could go ino the Roman Baths. Breakfast was pleasant with a buffet of selected cereals, juices, pastries and yoghurts. A full english breakfast with Toast and Tea or coffee tasted great. 2 x Bacon, Sausage, 2 poached eggs, tomato, fired mushrooms and mini black puddin'. The buidling is grade 1 listed and is beautiful.
The location is ideal, it takes 10mins max to wallk to the Abbey, Baths, Thermae Spa, crossing Puteney Bridge on the way, ignore any review from people sayiing it's in a poor location..., bath rugby and croquest club is yards from the Hotel!
We will definatley be staying again...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

My cousin and I stayed at Duke's last year during a road trip through the Cotswolds.

The room was very comfortable.
Nice size, considering I was travelling with my cousin.
The bathroom was good. More private than most.

The only issue was climbing all those steps to get to our room which was on the top floor, as I was pregnant at the time. (Most older English buildings don't have elevators.)
The front desk manager was, however, kind enough to help us with our HUGE bags. We also got a parking permit and parked right outside the hotel.

The service was very good.

The location is perfect. It's a short and pleasant walk to the city centre. The "hop on and off bus" also has a stop which is very close by.

I loved Bath. Just found the Thermae baths to be overrated.

I'd stay at Duke's again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeSniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $118 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing