We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a fantastic stay in the gorgeous hotel in Bath. It is perfectly located - just our of the noise of the centre but only a short walk into town. We stayed in the Wellington room which was beautifully decorated, clean and spacious. The only thing it was lacking was a full length mirror. Breakfast was wonderful and the stay extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Our location on Great Pulteney Street, a five minute majestic stroll into the very heart of Bath is indeed ‘perfect’. The Wellington suite of rooms offers tremendous views along to the Holburne Museum and of this fine Georgian boulevard. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of July and had the Spa package. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and all the staff were extremely friendly, especially the owners. The room was lovely with a rooftop view of Bath and the breakfasts were also really good. We thought it was particularly nice each morning that one of the owners made a point of coming to each table to see how everyone was and what their plans were for the day. All in all, we had a really enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend the Dukes hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for the very enthusiastic endorsement of Dukes. We feel very privileged to be based at the heart of a World Heritage City. We enjoy little more than to feel our guests have captured sights, memories and a little of the magic this wonderful city has on offer. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have been to Bath on numerous occasions whilst staying with family near-by however, this time we wanted to stay in the city centre The hotel has a perfect location, literally 5 mins from the city centre and the shops (one being a Waitrose for supplies.) Parking was very easy with lots of spaces near the hotel, they kindly gave us a permit (was able to keep it until 2pm the next day!)

We stayed on the top floor which did mean we did have to hike up the stairs however, this is what you expect in such a beautiful old town house and they kindly carried our bags up. Our room was perfect and very well presented. The bath was huge! Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and swapping dishes around (sausage sandwich and mushrooms) wasn't a problem. As always I read reviews on here before we booked and I wasn't disappointed, be aware of the top floor and the stairs however the views are worth it. Looking to return for some Xmas shopping!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Our ‘on street’ parking permits offer guests the opportunity of parking within any of over 625 parking bays that surround Dukes. As you mention once ‘parked up’ it is a great relief to be able to leave the car, untouched for a couple of days. The heart of Bath is a five minute stroll away, along Great Pulteney Street, arguable the finest Georgian boulevard in Northern Europe – a rare pleasure indeed. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for a weekend break with friends to celebrate a "big" birthday. Hotel is well located near the centre of Bath and parking was easy and free on the roadside with a permit provided by the hotel on arrival. The hotel itself is small but perfectly formed - the rooms are individually and tastefully decorated as well as clean and comfortable. All the staff were helpful and attentive and the breakfast was high quality and well presented. My only tip would be to request a room on a lower floor. Our room was on the third floor and there is no lift, so a bit of stamina is required to get up eight flights of stairs! However, don't let that put you off, the Dukes is a great place to stay and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the third floor if you're not keen on stairs
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

We love weddings, celebrations and anniversaries and thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and your friends. We offer 17 unique rooms, spread over 3 floors of two magnificent Georgian townhouses. Our reception team are available from 'early until late' seven days of the week and will happily ensure the best match of ‘guest need’ with room location and characteristics. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for my wifes birthday. Booked it on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and was not dissapointed. Requested a low floor room and got the Norfolk on the ground floor. Huge suite with huge bed. Excellent bathroom with towels and robes, Water red hot for shower and bath. Great location only a few minutes, totally flat walk, to city centre. Parked car with free permit and didn't move it for 2 days, there was no need. Staff are fantastic. The breakfast is excellent. Given the price of the 'budget hotels' I am so glad I paid a little more and stayed here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Norfolk which is on the ground floor. Large bedroom with huge bed. Excellent recept...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

The Norfolk suite, overlooking Great Pulteney Street, on the ground floor, are a superb set of rooms. Equally, we agree that the team are ‘fantastic’ as each member is committed, focused and takes great pride in presenting Dukes at her very best. Thank you for the ‘great choice’ evaluation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a weekend break in bath and stayed at Dukes, we stayed in a four poster room on the first floor and found the room spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was truly delightful.
Perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend and the location is spot on with a few minutes stroll into bath city centre.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are ideal due to no lift
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

The Buccleuch, and the Athol are our two four poster bed rooms; ideally suited to a little self indulgence! We take great pride in presenting a ‘best in class’ breakfast and so very pleased to read your ‘truly delightful’ evaluation. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Dukes is in the perfect location in Bath - close enough to city centre to easily walk to high street shopping, dining and exploring Bath, but removed from the main roads to provide quiet and peace. The entire hotel is beautiful - clean, and furnished with gorgeous antiques. Rooms are just modern enough to not take away from the charm and history, but provide comfort and coziness. The food in the restaurant is delicious and ample, and the staff are very accommodating. It was a pleasure staying here, even for business, as we were able to combine a bit of sightseeing in off times and enjoy the amenities the hotel provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dukes is indeed set in a perfect location for business travellers. We benefit from numerous regular visitors who find, our location, attentiveness and flexibility of great support in allowing them to focus on their business orientated agenda. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $130 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing