We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$185
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queensberry Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$167
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henrietta House(Bath)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveler rating
1,173
197
20
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,173
197
20
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitmadeleinesgreat pulteney streetbeaufort roomtop floorno liftblack puddingcity centrefour postergeorgian buildingflights of stairsbox of chocolatesstreet parkingcharming hotelfull englishkippersbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for my wifes birthday. Booked it on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and was not dissapointed. Requested a low floor room and got the Norfolk on the ground floor. Huge suite with huge bed. Excellent bathroom with towels and robes, Water red hot for shower and bath. Great location only a few minutes, totally flat walk, to city centre. Parked car with free permit and didn't move it for 2 days, there was no need. Staff are fantastic. The breakfast is excellent. Given the price of the 'budget hotels' I am so glad I paid a little more and stayed here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Norfolk which is on the ground floor. Large bedroom with huge bed. Excellent reception room with seating and TV. Lovely bathroom with very large bath and shower over.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

The Norfolk suite, overlooking Great Pulteney Street, on the ground floor, are a superb set of rooms. Equally, we agree that the team are ‘fantastic’ as each member is committed, focused and takes great pride in presenting Dukes at her very best. Thank you for the ‘great choice’ evaluation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a weekend break in bath and stayed at Dukes, we stayed in a four poster room on the first floor and found the room spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was truly delightful.
Perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend and the location is spot on with a few minutes stroll into bath city centre.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are ideal due to no lift
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

The Buccleuch, and the Athol are our two four poster bed rooms; ideally suited to a little self indulgence! We take great pride in presenting a ‘best in class’ breakfast and so very pleased to read your ‘truly delightful’ evaluation. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Dukes is in the perfect location in Bath - close enough to city centre to easily walk to high street shopping, dining and exploring Bath, but removed from the main roads to provide quiet and peace. The entire hotel is beautiful - clean, and furnished with gorgeous antiques. Rooms are just modern enough to not take away from the charm and history, but provide comfort and coziness. The food in the restaurant is delicious and ample, and the staff are very accommodating. It was a pleasure staying here, even for business, as we were able to combine a bit of sightseeing in off times and enjoy the amenities the hotel provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dukes is indeed set in a perfect location for business travellers. We benefit from numerous regular visitors who find, our location, attentiveness and flexibility of great support in allowing them to focus on their business orientated agenda. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Dukes is a really nice B&B within easy walking distance of the main Bath attractions. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was tasty, service was excellent. Price was very reasonable. Staff were very helpful. Parking was not a problem with the street pass provided by the hotel, but could be a challenge if there are no spaces available.

Room Tip: No stairs, so request a lower floor room if you have issues with climbing long flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TByrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Delighted to read that you found our prices ‘very reasonable’ in particular considering the high season and our location in the heart of Bath. As you suggest we benefit from a ‘goldilocks’ location – within easy walking distance, though spacious and quiet with easy parking. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This a beautiful hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, divinely decorated, well-presented, clean and comfortable. My husband and I stayed in 'Wellington' and were incredibly happy. My daughters ended up staying in 'Argyll' and were very comfortable. The hotel is extremely well-positioned and within easy access of the centre of Bath and all interesting sites.

The staff were unbelievably helpful and considerate - nothing was too much trouble. They truly spoil you here and will do anything to ensure that your stay is a happy and memorable one.

Breakfast is delicious and more than ample. Lovely way to start the day.

The only negative is the stairs. As the building is a Grade 1 heritage-listed property clearly a lift was not a traditional design feature. We were happy enough to run up and down the stairs [helped to work off all the good food we ate] but just take the stairs into consideration and travel light. Although the staff will try and accommodate any and all requests regarding rooms - you just need to let them know what you need in advance and they will go out of their way to help. Particularly Amy - thank you for your kindness.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: be aware of the stairs
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Our front of house team know Dukes and her rooms very well and are all local to Bath. Our reception is open from early, until late, seven days a week. Please do not hesitate in phoning us and we will do our uttermost to best match your needs and preferences with the 17 unique - four poster, suites and bedrooms we have available. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews