We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$140
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queensberry Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$167
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henrietta House(Bath)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$190
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$213
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$253
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveler rating
1,173
197
20
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,173
197
20
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitmadeleinesgreat pulteney streetbeaufort roomtop floorno liftblack puddingcity centrefour postergeorgian buildingflights of stairsbox of chocolatesstreet parkingcharming hotelfull englishkippersbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This a beautiful hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, divinely decorated, well-presented, clean and comfortable. My husband and I stayed in 'Wellington' and were incredibly happy. My daughters ended up staying in 'Argyll' and were very comfortable. The hotel is extremely well-positioned and within easy access of the centre of Bath and all interesting sites.

The staff were unbelievably helpful and considerate - nothing was too much trouble. They truly spoil you here and will do anything to ensure that your stay is a happy and memorable one.

Breakfast is delicious and more than ample. Lovely way to start the day.

The only negative is the stairs. As the building is a Grade 1 heritage-listed property clearly a lift was not a traditional design feature. We were happy enough to run up and down the stairs [helped to work off all the good food we ate] but just take the stairs into consideration and travel light. Although the staff will try and accommodate any and all requests regarding rooms - you just need to let them know what you need in advance and they will go out of their way to help. Particularly Amy - thank you for your kindness.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: be aware of the stairs
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Our front of house team know Dukes and her rooms very well and are all local to Bath. Our reception is open from early, until late, seven days a week. Please do not hesitate in phoning us and we will do our uttermost to best match your needs and preferences with the 17 unique - four poster, suites and bedrooms we have available. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at dukes for one night just for a get away. From booking online to arriving nothing was to much effort. They even let's is have a parking permit prior to the 2pm check in time, when we arrived back our bags were already in our room.
Staff were very helpful and pointed us in the right direction for the attractions and also for a car park on our last day.
Very impressed and wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you Dukes

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Weytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Delighted to read that you were ‘very impressed and wouldn’t hesitate to return’. Thank you for sharing your appreciation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a great place! Very conveniently located a short walk from the centre of a Bath and a beautiful old building! The rooms are lovely with lots of space and very high ceilings. We stayed in a room with a four poster which is worthwhile. The staff couldn't do enough to help and gave us a parking permit for the car and robes and towels for our visit to the Thermae Spa.
The people of Bath were very friendly and so much to see there. Lots of nice shops too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robrat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We offer a range of rooms from the functional ‘tourist overnighter’ through to the ‘four poster’ room you enjoyed. For the team it is always great when we are able to match the room to the guest need. A lovely Georgian sash windowed room, combined with a stroll along Great Pulteney Street with a couple of hours at the Thermae Spa – a revitalising tonic indeed!! With thanks and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked to stay 2 nights during our trip to Bath to celebrate my 30th Birthday and i would absolutely recommend this hotel. The Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to offer dining recommendations and providing maps to attractions.

We stayed in the 'Somerset' room, it is on the top floor, it is a very light and spacious room with a nice bathroom with a decent shower.

Breakfast was very good, made with fresh local produce and you can have as much as you wanted. There is also a buffet table with lovely homemade muesli.

On my Birthday the Dukes had kindly left me a card and box of choccys for me, Thank you Dukes!

Room Tip: Remember its a Georgian building- There is NO lift- there is a lot of stairs but the lovely Period features throughout the building keeps you entertain whilst climbing the stairs!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeandHim8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Delighted to read that you enjoyed the ‘excellent service’ and ‘beautiful building’. Dukes rests within two magnificent Georgian townhouses. We have the good fortune to stand on Great Pulteney Street, regarded as one of the finest Georgian boulevards in Europe. Very pleased that you found us attentive and that we helped enhance your '30th Birthday Celebrations'. With thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely B&B a few minutes walk from Bath city centre.

Nothing was too much trouble for Carol and Amy. We came as part of a group (one of two groups staying over the weekend) and had to change our booking several times. They were on hand to greet us and help us to our room and provide information on places to eat and drink within walking distance.

We stayed in Lienster. It is up four flights of stairs but the views of Bath are stunning and the room has been very tastefully decorated and furnished. Tea making facilities were available in the room but Saturday afternoon Amy very kindly made us a cup of tea to enjoy in the reception area!

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and all cooked fresh to order. I can recommend the smoked salmon and scambled eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are blessed with a ‘goldilocks’ location – a five minute level stroll from the heart of Bath. We feel that our complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms help make the stay more welcoming and hospitable. We endeavour to look after all our guests as individuals – even if in a group – delighted you enjoyed your pot of tea !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews