We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Queensberry Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$167
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henrietta House(Bath)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveler rating
1,174
198
20
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
198
20
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitmadeleinesgreat pulteney streetbeaufort roomtop floorno liftblack puddingcity centrefour postergeorgian buildingflights of stairsbox of chocolatesstreet parkingcharming hotelfull englishkippersbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely B&B a few minutes walk from Bath city centre.

Nothing was too much trouble for Carol and Amy. We came as part of a group (one of two groups staying over the weekend) and had to change our booking several times. They were on hand to greet us and help us to our room and provide information on places to eat and drink within walking distance.

We stayed in Lienster. It is up four flights of stairs but the views of Bath are stunning and the room has been very tastefully decorated and furnished. Tea making facilities were available in the room but Saturday afternoon Amy very kindly made us a cup of tea to enjoy in the reception area!

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and all cooked fresh to order. I can recommend the smoked salmon and scambled eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are blessed with a ‘goldilocks’ location – a five minute level stroll from the heart of Bath. We feel that our complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms help make the stay more welcoming and hospitable. We endeavour to look after all our guests as individuals – even if in a group – delighted you enjoyed your pot of tea !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed at Dukes Hotel for 2 nights for my birthday. Found a parking space easily and got a parking permit from the hotel.The hotel is in a fantastic location, only a few minutes walk to town, bars, restaurants and the main attractions. All staff were very helpful & friendly.
We stayed in the Leinster room which was on the top floor. It was spacious, well equipped, decorated beautifully and the views were great too.
Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. The service was prompt and friendly.
We had a discount card provided on the room key. This was a very nice extra as discounts are available at many restaurants and attractions in Bath with this. We used to get 10% off the admission fee to the Roman Baths.
We had a brilliant stay and when we return to Bath we won't bother looking to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandchris164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

The Leinster and Roxburghe offer superb roof top views across to the Somerset hills beyond Bath. Very pleased to hear that you made use of the 10% discount card that we offer to all guests. Lovely to hear that you has a ‘faultless’ ‘brilliant stay’. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned from our weekend in Bath staying in the Buccleuch 4 poster room at Dukes. A lovely room, excellent and friendly service and great breakfast. Parking was easy and then there is no need to move you car as everything is in walking distance. I don't give many 5 star reviews but Dukes is well worth its rating, If you are going Bath, stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

We note that you are a very discerning traveller and stayed in one of our most expensive rooms in high season. As a team we are chuffed to see that you have chosen to award our efforts so highly. Thank you for the absolute recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Although it was a 10-15 minute walk from the train station (10 to the Abbey) I would stay again. The room was beautiful and quiet, beds comfy, bathroom large. Great breakfast in the morning, and the owner was so friendly and greeted you daily! I think it was a great value, we liked that it wasn't so hectic compared to staying more city center.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMacPortland_Or_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Delighted to hear that you found us ‘great value’. An infrequent compliment for properties in Bath, in particular given the prevailing exchange rates. We take great pride in each of our guests feeling welcomed and attended to as individuals. Great Pulteney Street is widely recognised as one of the finest Georgian boulevards in Europe – we feel we have an ideal ‘goldilocks’ location for enjoying the world heritage city of Bath. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Dukes and we cannot praise it highly enough. The service we received was outstanding from the moment we made our initial enquiry and throughout our stay. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from a gentleman who I think was the owner. As well as giving us directions and restaurant tips he also carried our bag to our room - much appreciated at the end of a long and tiring day. When booking we'd mentioned that it was our 30th wedding anniversary and when we got to our room there was a card and box of chocolates awaiting us. A lovely touch. We stayed in the Leinster room - it was lovely with views over the sports fields and city . The furniture was beautiful , the room was spotless and the bathroom had the fluffiest towels I've ever experienced ! Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Added to all this the hotel is extremely close to the centre of Bath so we were able to leave our car there and walk into the city the next day. Thank you Dukes for such a special stay - we will definitely be returning in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for all the applause! As you appreciate we have a superb team who all contribute to deliver a wonderful experience. Delighted that you enjoyed the Leinster up on the top floor; the elevated views across Georgian ‘chimney tops’ the ‘rec’ and Somerset hills beyond are beautiful and a wonderful memory. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews