We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We booked the hotel quite late in the day and went for a standard double room for two nights. On arrive we where given an upgrade to a suite which was unexpected but very welcome. The rooms where very well decorated and very much in keeping with the Georgian building it’s self. Everyone from the hotel we came into contact with were very friendly and attentive especially Mike and Katie. An added bonus, which helped us tremendously, was that we where allowed to use the street parking permit for the afternoon after we checked out, not guaranteed but depends on who is checking in. The hotel is ideally situated and one can easily walk to all the sites of Bath with ease. The breakfasts are very good and although we didn’t end up eating in the Cavendish restaurant the menu looks fantastic. For the service alone I’d recommend at stay at the Dukes.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PazAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    182
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
170
771
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

I booked the restaurant for a private work function in April and our hometeam stayed overnight.

The hotel is perfectly located in the City Centre, 5 mins from the shops but in a quiet location. Limited parking is available outside the hotel but the staff will be able to give you a resident's permit if you ask.

The rooms are all unique and have their own distinctive theme, whether this be Asian or Georgian parlour room. Some rooms may appear to be 'chintzy', but are finished to a high quality and some contain period pieces. Our rooms had modern bathrooms and excellent showers, finished with Penhaligans products.

I would recommend the award-winning Cavendish Restaurant on the lower ground floor. A three course meal was created for us made from locally sourced products and it was divine. My colleagues (who are constantly on the road) actually stated that this was one of the best hotel meals they had ever had. There is a great little bar off the restaurant which is perfect for pre-dinner drinks.

The service is top class and Mike and his team made sure all our (and our clients) needs were catered for.

The only thing I would say that as the hotel is a converted Georgian townhouse, and rooms are spread over three floors. There are sometimes a lot of stairs to climb, so I perhaps wouldn't recommend this hotel for older guests. However, there are rooms located on the ground floor.

Overall, a gem of a hotel and good value for money during weekdays. I will be returning to the Dukes Hotel both for business and leisure.

  • Liked — Bespoke rooms and fanastic service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dibbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Brilliant, Booked a different notel near Bath, but cancelled that one and booked Dukes instead based on Tripadvisor Reviews. I was very keen to find somewhere nice, warm and friendly but a bit classy and nice too. This it turns out was perfect, the room we had (Argyl) was really nice, it was a good sized room, layed out nicely with period design but didn't seem old fashoined and certinaly not run down like some of the hotels we looked at did. We had a great en-suite with a really good shower, nice big bath..... and immactulatly clean, towels were changed along with bath robes the only whole day we were there.
We stayed two nights and had breakfast to our rooms on the monday and had breakfast in the restaurant on the tuesday morning, both were really nice, pastries can't have been more than an hour or two old, good fruit juice, break and spreads/preserves i'm told where good and was delivered exactly when we asked for it with by a happy and cheerful member of staff, (who had been serving us drinks the previous evening until we went to bed!)
This brings me to the staff, they all seem to work hard, care and are all freindly, we had more interaction with the member of the restaurant staff who served us drinks, dinner, brekafast all with a smile :-)
The area the hotel in is really nice, massively wide streets with permit parking that the hotel happily provide. was always spaces around the hotel and walked to town for a few bits a few times, and was out of the room no more than 10 minutes.
We went out to a club on the monday night as I had proposed that morning we were in a good mood, returned and let our selves in the front door (coded lock) but the night porter spotted us coming to the front door, and was at the door to let us in before I could open it. This is a silyl thing to mention but shows the keeness with which all the staff fulfil their roles and working in IT support and service Delivery, It's really refreshing to see such enthusiasm to help the customers.
Lastly price, I felt we got extremely good value for money, it was a nice hotel in a perfect location, with amazing service for less than you'd pay for anything in a city half has nice as bath. I strongly recommend you go here, we will be, and I doubt we'll be waiting for an anniversery or special occasion :-)

  • Liked — Service, Location, Room and Food.
  • Disliked — nothing, perfect
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David100284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

Last minute booking two days before a one day (tourist / family) visit to Bath and booked this based on rave reviews in Tripadvisor. Could not fault the place especially as we were upgraded on arrival, the traditional english breakfast (fantastic menu) was absolutely first class, limitless coffee, very pleasant and curteous staff and very gracious too! We loved the 'beaufort suite' and the oppulent and comfortable decor (matching entirely the history of the beautiful building) and attention to detail at the price was simply unmatched. We will stay again for certain and would certainly recommend this place for tourists wanting a fantastically located hotel character hotel as well as business travellers seeking something exceptional, impressive and certainly tranquil.

Pointers - Great hotel and how it should be - parking on street permit provided, internet acess, great breakfast and attentive staff, ideal central location!

  • Liked — Oppulent, old style polite hospitality - faultless!
  • Disliked — minor but no elevator - not a problem for us but might be for others
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Detken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with a friend last weekend - the location is excellent, the centre of Bath was within ten minutes walk across Pulteney Bridge. We ate in the hotel on the first night, the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was very good indeed. We stayed in a twin bedded room at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good, the checkout process fast and uncomplicated - all in all, definitely a hotel I'd go back to!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteRoseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

We wanted to spend a romantic weekend in the lovely city of Bath for our anniversary.

What a great choice the Dukes is. OK, it's not the cheapest hotel in Bath but it is well worth the money.

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Room was very spacious (we had one of the suites). Clean, and well-furnshed. The rooms are ver quiet as it is an old building with thick walls!

The Cavendish restaurant is great. Could not understand why it was so quiet. We booked a table for Saturday night and the food was delicious. £35 each for a full 3 course dinner. Beautifully presented with exquisite flavours (imaginative chef) - has a third AA star. Faultless. Great service.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingwoodKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

My wife's cousin booked the Dukes for us as a surprise and we were delighted. We were in one of the "4 Poster" suites and had a lovely stay. The location, room and staff were all terrific. We have already recommended the hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing