We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked Dukes for a one night stay away for birthday celebrations.
I looked online at the room photos & phoned to request a specific room which I liked the look of.
Although there are no room names against the photos, from my description I was easily booked into the Somerset room.
A few days before our arrival we received an email reminder from the hotel regarding our stay.
It was easy to find a parking space when we arrived & just collected a permit from reception - car sorted, no need to worry about moving it or traffic wardens.
Check in was friendly & we were shown to our room - which was at the top of the hotel.
I do recommend (as other reviewers have too) if you have any mobility issues, request a room on the lower floor, there are lots of stairs in this Georgian house!
Room was clean & spacious, with a desk, 2 seater sofa, tv in this 'lounge area' & another in the bedroom area. If I had to be picky, the ensuite could do with updating, but this is 3 star, not 5.
Location very good, short stroll to the shops, close enough to everything without being on top of it.
Breakfast in the morning was nice, quality not quantity, but I was full by the time I polished off my toast.
Would not hesitate to return & I recommend Dukes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful and considerate review. I am very pleased to read that you would ‘not hesitate to return & I recommend Dukes’. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    185
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
173
786
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived in Bath mid afternoon looking for a hotel to stay for 2 nights,came upon the Dukes.From upon entering we felt like we would be happy here .The manager,Roman assisted us with our luggage,gave us a parking permit, & made us feel most welcome.Next day we had to change rooms, not a problem fully assisted by staff.Michael one of the managers is the most charming host we had met on our 6 week trip around the world,he and the other staff made us feel at home,the food staff were also most efficient & obliging.If you want to be made to feel like a guest ,then this the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griggswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Delighted that as a team we made you both feel ‘at home’. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the applause you share for our team. We are all familiar with the demands of travel and we are eager to assist our guests feel relaxed and in turn refreshed. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Duke's is a lovely boutique hotel with charm and a friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is included and made to order. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only drawback worth mentioning is our room wasn't very sound-proof. We could definitely hear our neighbor's tv as well as cars passing by on the street. This might be room-dependent as our friends' room was more insulated.

A parking permit for street parking was given to us at the hotel and we had no trouble finding a spot close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very considerate review. I am pleased that you found the team friendly and helpful. Dukes is housed within two six storey Georgian townhouses and is indeed charming and a unique property experience. Built over 200 years ago, most of the internal walls are of considerable thickness and so it is unfortunate that you were aware of a fellow guests’ media. Your room overlooked Great Pulteney Street, deemed to be one of Europe’s finest boulevards; leading to the heart of Bath. As a Grade I listed building with sash windows we are unable to double glaze and so the occasional passing car will be heard. Within Dukes we have a variety of rooms that meet the needs of most guests. Please do not hesitate in making your personal preferences known to us at the time of booking - whenever possible we will select the most suitable accommodation. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 1 night for our wedding anniversary and cannot fault the place. Greeting was warm and welcoming, staff are smiley and friendly, and our room was just beautiful. We stayed in a superior double called Argyle which had a lovely view. We were even left a lovely box of chocolates and a card in our room, Thank you by the way!!

Parking permit was very useful and you actually don’t need one on a Sunday. We managed to find a parking space on the same street as The Dukes.

We had to wait around 30 minutes for breakfast but as we arrived for breakfast pretty late and a large table had just sat down before us we weren’t too surprised. Staff informed us straight away there would be a wait and supplied us with coffee and toast so no complaints there.

Location is just great, close enough to the centre but situated on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle.

Cannot recommend the Thermae Spa enough, the most relaxing 2 hours ever! Roof top pool was just the best.

It seems there is a little confusion over whether the Dukes is a hotel or B&B. It is actually described as a boutique guest house on their website. I certainly wasn’t expecting a bar or suchlike.
All in all I hope to return again, perhaps for 2 nights!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsAnnie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. Delighted that you both so thoroughly enjoyed your wedding anniversary stay with us here in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

As regular visitors to Bath from Leicester (being Bath Rugby season ticket holders), we have stayed in numerous b&b's and hotels in the city, however the Dukes is by far the best!!! Very warm welcome, amazing room, yummy breakfast.......just can't fault it at all. We will most definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you – we look forward to the home game !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for a single night. Having use of a parking permit was positive, finding a space to use it was difficult (clearly not the fault of the hotel!). Location is great, being only a short walk to the city centre. The hotel is small and out room equally so - pleasant enough and clean. Breakfast was also good. Main problem, was there was no bar (when we wanted a drink - whilst the hotel has a bar, we think it is no longer used) - making the hotel more a bed and breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djgwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review as it allows for a number of points, clearly detailed on our website and noted within many previous Trip Advisor reviews to be revisited. We have 17 bedrooms and seek to offer a warm, personal welcome to all guests. Our parking permits are available for all guests, who may park in any one of over 600 parking spaces – as available; for the duration of their stay. Our rooms cover a range of budgets; our smallest rooms are described on our website as ‘standard’ …… ‘compact and functional’, whilst our four poster suite rooms exceed 300 square feet. We serve a broad and generous breakfast with self service continental, cereal and fresh fruit salad along with a menu of hot, cooked to order, options. We have a very ‘well stocked’ cellar and bar; however drinks are served, informally and ‘on request’. This will often be in reception, at times in the bar for a family or group and on celebratory occasions, by prior arrangement, champagne or chilled wine may be organised to await a guests arrival in their suite. We see ourselves as little more than the welcoming custodians of two remarkable Georgian townhouses available for overnight stays with a splendid breakfast on offer. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just stayed for one night on our wedding anniversary and were mightily impressed with every aspect of our stay. Owners ans staff all very friendly and accommodating, superb room and very relaxed atmosphere. Terrific value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you – ‘mightily impressed’ and’ terrific value’ – we are delighted that you both enjoyed a thoroughly memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing