We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As regular visitors to Bath from Leicester (being Bath Rugby season ticket holders), we have stayed in numerous b&b's and hotels in the city, however the Dukes is by far the best!!! Very warm welcome, amazing room, yummy breakfast.......just can't fault it at all. We will most definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you – we look forward to the home game !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for a single night. Having use of a parking permit was positive, finding a space to use it was difficult (clearly not the fault of the hotel!). Location is great, being only a short walk to the city centre. The hotel is small and out room equally so - pleasant enough and clean. Breakfast was also good. Main problem, was there was no bar (when we wanted a drink - whilst the hotel has a bar, we think it is no longer used) - making the hotel more a bed and breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djgwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review as it allows for a number of points, clearly detailed on our website and noted within many previous Trip Advisor reviews to be revisited. We have 17 bedrooms and seek to offer a warm, personal welcome to all guests. Our parking permits are available for all guests, who may park in any one of over 600 parking spaces – as available; for the duration of their stay. Our rooms cover a range of budgets; our smallest rooms are described on our website as ‘standard’ …… ‘compact and functional’, whilst our four poster suite rooms exceed 300 square feet. We serve a broad and generous breakfast with self service continental, cereal and fresh fruit salad along with a menu of hot, cooked to order, options. We have a very ‘well stocked’ cellar and bar; however drinks are served, informally and ‘on request’. This will often be in reception, at times in the bar for a family or group and on celebratory occasions, by prior arrangement, champagne or chilled wine may be organised to await a guests arrival in their suite. We see ourselves as little more than the welcoming custodians of two remarkable Georgian townhouses available for overnight stays with a splendid breakfast on offer. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just stayed for one night on our wedding anniversary and were mightily impressed with every aspect of our stay. Owners ans staff all very friendly and accommodating, superb room and very relaxed atmosphere. Terrific value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you – ‘mightily impressed’ and’ terrific value’ – we are delighted that you both enjoyed a thoroughly memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent two nights here, received such a lovely warm welcome. Had booked a deluxe room but was delighted to be upgraded to the four poster suite - just wonderful. Beautifully furnished and decorated, and the bed was so comfortable!

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.

All staff were so helpful and friendly. It's perfectly placed for exploring Bath, just a few minute's walk to Pulteney Bridge. The Museum of American History is well worth a visit and runs a free bus service.

A truly wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: There are three floors and no lift, so if you have any mobility issues it would be worth asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

All of our rooms have unique appeal – however when the opportunity arises we are always happy to up grade guests or move them to an available room that more closely meets their needs. Both the four poster suites are a fabulous insight into the full elegance of Georgian living !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon, driving from Heathrow, stopping off at Stonehenge along the way. So we were ready to relax. We were greeted warmly, offered a glass of wine, and settled into the settee in the comfortable living area. It was like being a visitor in someone's home, only it was a hotel with wonderful beds, a huge suite (separate HUGE bedroom, dressing room/sitting area, and large bath. We had a delicious breakfast in a bright, sunny room each morning, before setting off for the sights, easily within walking distance. There is a lovely park nearby, too. The owners go to great effort to make your stay comfortable and home-like. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

It's an old building with very thick walls, and no lift, but that did not bother us at all. We had our 2nd cup of coffee, or afternoon glass of wine, in the living area while using wi-fi. And they will gladly carry your luggage if you need help. Staying in the original old building, which has been renovated, but retains its authentic charm, was part of the experience of being in Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you. We love our guests to feel relaxed and at ease – not always easy after a long drive or tiring commute. Very pleased that you both shared such an enjoyable stay in our ‘townhouse for guests ! ’. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This small hotel is well located. The rooms are large, the staff members and owners are both friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great - ample selection (healthy and not) - and the staff who served were gracious and accommodating. Bath was our first stop on a 10 day vacation in England. Both the city and the hotel made it a great way to begin. (Don't miss the free Mayor's walking tour of the city - it is excellent.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenandoah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you. All of our team live in or around Bath; we share a love for the beauty and unique appeal of Bath, her streets and architecture. I am very pleased that we served as an enjoyable introduction to England and trust the balance of your visit was a complete success. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My boyfriend booked a night here for our anniversary, it was a surprise for me and I couldn't have been happier!
The first thing we noticed was the customer service. The staff were so friendly, they made conversation with us when we arrived, showed us to our room, gave us all the information we needed and even gave us a box of chocolates and a card for our anniversary! 5* customer service - it really made us feel welcome.
The hotel itself is a beautiful Georgian property in excellent condition and in a great location. It was beautifully decorated in keeping to its era with pretty paintings and chandeliers. The room was just as nicely decorated. It was spacious and clean - we loved the wallpaper and the dark wood furniture. The bathroom was lovely, equipped with a very spacious bath and shower - we had a lovely bubble bath :)
Breakfast in the morning was delicious. There was loads of choice from cereals to pastries and cooked food.

To sum it up, well I really can't find any faults with this place! If you're thinking of staying in Bath then choose this place, you won't go wrong (and it's excellent value for money, too)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

What a generous and thoughtful review – I am sure we make many mistakes, however the entire team works tirelessly to ensure that they are as small and discrete as possible!! We try very hard to offer guests a comfortable and generous stay in a marvellous Georgian building – I am delighted that you feel your experience was ‘excellent value for money’. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $118 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing