We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice stay - lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really nice stay - lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

We booked the Duke for a weekend away and I must admit it wasn't initially our first choice but when you book a hotel on a wednesday for the Friday....well don't expect much choice!

I have to say we were pleasantly surprised: the hotel was easy to find, a parking permit was handed to us on arrival and we parked the car in front of the hotel. The staff was really welcoming and we really liked our room (quite old fashionned but very comfortable and a change to the modern hotels we usually stay at).
We used the restaurant on the first night and although the food was delicious the atmosphere was quite cold and formal and lacked 'personnality'. I have to stress I had the best dessert ever (chocolate cake with homemade ice cream and white chocolate mousse) and I am still talking about it to this day.
I had read comments about the lack of elevator but we did not think it was a big deal and the staff will help you if you need to.

All in all I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — location - boutique hotel - service - the dessert at the end of my meal
  • Disliked — lack of atmosphere at the restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petitbidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    185
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
173
786
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

A beautiful hotel, tucked away in one of Baths historial streets. A short walk in to the centre, spoilt for choice with good restaurants. Our stay wasn't cheap but worth every penny. We had a gorgeous suite...one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Liked — Everything....HUGE bath!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tjflutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

We had our wedding in Bath, and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of the week. It is a classic Georgian Hotel in Great Pulteney Street, so the views are heavenly. being so close to the centre of the City means everything is within reach. We had our 19 month old daughter with us, and even though there are no lifts due to the structure of the building, staff were always on hand to help. The mattreses and fittings of the room were great and it was a very pleasant stay. We only had breakfast, but the restaurant is refined and tasteful. the side bar is just perfect for a small gathering.
Not as expensive as some of the more obvious "name" hotels in Bath, and extremely good value for money for that extra special stay. Indeed the most romantic hotel in Bath.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank justmarriedCowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

We were utterly delighted by this charming hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Real value for money, great accommodation and superb food.

A real contrast to an earlier bad experience at the Fishmore Hotel in Ludlow (Dont go!!)

Well done to management and staff.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappySaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

We really enjoyed our one night stay at Dukes. The building is a beautiful Georgian property in a very good location on the stunning Great Pulteney Street.

We treated ourselves to a suite, and it was very nice - spacious, big windows letting in plenty of light and a nice view of the street. Only slight complaint would be that the "lounge" area was pretty small, but overall we were very pleased. The furnishings were in good nick as well.

The food in the restaurant was superb. Have to admit it wasn't that adventurous but then that's the nature of a hotel restaurant I guess. The waiters, although very friendly, were not knowledgeable about the wine at all. However, the standard of cooking was top notch and the flavours really came through. We really enjoyed the meal.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Siharris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

My husband and I have recently spent a great weekend at Dukes Hotel in Bath. The wonderful reviews already posted for this hotel say mostly everything; the suite was perfect, the service excellent and the food sublime. We will definitely stay there again on return trips to Bath.

  • Liked — The upgrade to a beautiful suite and the lovely service
  • Disliked — Bathroom was warm with no ventilation
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

We have just returned from a two-day trip to the Dukes Hotel - have never written a review before but have to as this is just the best hotel.
The position is terrific - Great Pulteney Street - within a short stroll to Bath City Centre. It occupies a corner position on the most gorgeous Georgian terrace. The hotel faithfully interprets the Georgian era with the decor which is luxurious.
On arrival one is greeted by the most charming and attentive staff who genuinely care and take pride in ensuring all is perfect. The reception area has comfortable leather sofas, reading material and a welcoming real fire.
Our suite was extravagantly furnished, spotlessly clean and huge. The bed was large and comfortable with dazzlingly white bed linen. A large TV in the sitting room (hidden in a cupboard of course) and another large-screened TV in the bedroom. Four comfortable chairs and a large hand painted mural on the sitting room wall. Bathroom perfect too.
Breakfast divine - fresh fruits, cereals, yoghorts, with a full English breakfast - home baked baguettes and danish pastries - in the most elegant surroundings.
Dinner was probably the best meal we have had the joy of eating in England - everything perfect and we are very discerning clients!
All in all, a great treat and truly recommended for an elegant thoughly relaxing stay in luxury with wonderful staff

  • Liked — Charm and luxury
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rubybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing