We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely long weekend”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from a sunny weekend in bath. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Carole and Christopher took over this place 4 months ago and are very hospitable, nothing was too much trouble. Therefore i wouldn't take note of reviews prior to this. We stayed in the lovely Beaufort suite with high ceilings. The location is excellent as a straight flat 3min walk into town. We'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or gym so disregard my review on this as I couldn't delete my incorrect entry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very sincere review. The Beaufort suite, overlooking Great Pulteney Street with views towards the Holburne Museum enjoys a wonderful aspect and is a marvellous suite to stay within. Thank you for your very clear appreciation of the team and we look forward to welcoming you both once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend took me to the hotel for one night in February for our anniversary and there is not one bad word I could say about the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location and the staff are a definite credit to the hotel. My boyfriend had Mike (the manager) leave some flowers for me in the room (at extra cost, understandably) but it was extremely touching that they had also left us a note to say congratulations.

Breakfast was lovely and was obviously fresh as it was made there and then to order.

Mike was brilliant with helping us out to find places to go and recommendations on what to do. Unfortunately we did only stay for one night, but I would happily go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the very generous title of ‘Amazing’. We are in no doubt that Mike and all our front and back of house team are a credit to Dukes. Our breakfast chef takes great pride in using the best ingredients and preparing to order - it is always re-assuring to receive heartfelt appreciation. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Dukes for a future anniversary celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Dukes Hotel for our wedding. We were absolutely spoiled during our stay and Carole and Christopher really made our stay in Bath perfect. Mike on reception convinced us that Dukes was the perfect place to stay for our wedding and he was right! Carole and Christopher went out of their way to make our stay so special and we will remember their hospitality. We have already recommended Dukes Hotel to our family and friends across the world!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in what must have been a very busy few weeks since your wedding. We felt honoured and privileged to be appointed by you both as your ‘wedding abode’. I think each and every member of our team enjoyed sharing in the excitement and intrigue of your ‘special day’. Thank you for the very positive recommendation - we look forward to seeing you both once again at Dukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for one night in a standard room. It's a good location, the room was perfectly acceptable and the breakfast fine. The real value add in this place are the staff - from Mike at reception to the owners; from those at breakfast to the Slovak who let us in late at night - they were all outstanding and most welcoming - that's why for us this is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadibenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you in particular for a very appreciative review. Our standard rooms are ‘functional’, ‘compact’ or ‘cosy’ – I am pleased that the room met your expectations and was as you say ‘acceptable’ . As you note along with the ‘room’ we provide a ‘full English breakfast’, complimentary car permit and benefit from a warm, friendly and very hospitable team. All told I think we offer a very competitive proposition on these 'fit for purpose' rooms and so I am pleased that you were so pleased with the 'bed and breakfast' experieence that we were able to offer. Thank you sincerely for your ‘highly recommended’ status!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights using the Spa special offer.
Although it's not a huge saving, the hotel provides you with a bag containing a robe, towel & slippers. This is so convenient & these items are miles better quality than the ones you hire from the Spa itself. Totally recommended.
Staying at the hotel is wonderful. The parking permit was given on arrival. We never had a problem finding a space opposite the hotel.
We stayed in Montrose. Good sized room & bathroom. Floor & bed a bit creaky, but this is an old building & we felt that it added to the charm of the place.
As others have said, breakfast was outstanding.
What made the difference for us, was the friendliness & courtesy of the staff. Nothing too much trouble & no stuffy attitude.
We've been to Bath before & stayed in a hotel rated higher than this on TripAdvisor. In our opinion Dukes was a level above. 100% recommended.
By the way, we arranged our visit to go to the racing at Bath. Definitely worth a visit too & less than 15 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gram4020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and informative review. We wanted to enhance the experience of visiting the Bath Thermae Spa for our guests and so we are delighted that you chose to take advantage of our special offer. The Montrose is a lovely room overlooking Great Pulteney Street and as with all the spaces at Dukes a little bit ‘creaky’ and part of the antique Georgian charm. Thank you for your ‘100% recommendation’ and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Dukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Friends called - come and join them for a night in Bath. Leap in the car, and zoom down the M4. Where to stay?? Remembered a great stay over New Year at Dukes, so called and got the last available room. Suddenly thought...would it still be good? Would Mike still be beaming at the door when I got there?
I should not have worried! As I walked in, I was greeted by Christopher who remembered me from New Year, Mike still welcomes old and new friends with his beaming smile, Dukes seems to have been re-born into a more comfortable niche as a boutique b and b, and I had an excellent time...phew!!!!
Try it. There are loads of b and b's in Bath - Dukes is SO much more.
Simon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRjetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you – good to see you back in Bath. As a team I think we like to feel we have no pretentions, no airs and tell it how it is. We are fortunate to be offering accommodation within two superb Georgian townhouse properties a few minutes from the heart of Bath. Whilst the doors may show the patina of many visitors and the floors may be a little unlevel – features one might expect in a 200 year old property; our interest is in offering a warm welcome and ensuring that our guest have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your open, helpful and honest review and we look forward to seeing you back at Dukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just returned from a weekend here and I felt compelled to do my review while everything is still fresh in my mind.

Firstly, I could tell from correspondence prior to our stay that the owners and staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. They recommended things to do and restaurants.. Also about booking ahead which we found to be extremely useful advice!! They only exceeded expectations on arrival.. We had a good few chats with people and they were friendly, interesting and helpful.

We found a parking space easily and collected the pass.. Free and convenient parking is a great plus. One of the owners, Carol, talked us through the best routes to walk and suggested things to do until we later returned after check in time.

The location of the hotel was great.. A 10 minute walk on flat ground into the centre (at a slow pace) where we saw more traditional architecture, the river and small local shops and cafes.

On our return our bags had been delivered to our room, Argyle, which had typical Georgian high ceilings and was bright and airy. The bed was comfortable and the bath and shower were good.

The breakfast was lovely, with a good range if the full English isn't your cup of tea. We both went for the full English both days and it was great.

Overall I can't fault them! We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very generous and thorough review. When visiting Dukes we would like people to feel that they are visiting ‘old friends’ within a large family house. Your review implies that we are being successful! Delighted that you so obviously enjoyed your few days with us in Bath. The Argyll is a lovely room, south facing, overlooking the garden terrace and with no street noise - though these advantages may be marginally offset by the distant views. Our professionally trained breakfast chef takes great pleasure in preparing a breakfast plate to order and will, where possible, accommodate any reasonable request. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#4 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $130 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing