We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We returned to Dukes for a 4 night stay over Christmas. We love the hotel & the staff. It's also perfect for us as we have a small dog & Dukes permits dogs, which is a rarity in Bath!
We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Bath.
The ownership had recently changed & the new owners are lovely & welcoming. As are all the staff, who they have kept on. Nothing is too much trouble.
Incredibly comfortable & spacious rooms (we have stayed in 'Buccleuch' twice). Breakfasts are fantastic. Great location, very close to Pulteney Bridge, but the hotel remains nice & quiet.
See you again soon!

Room Tip: Buccleuch Room. First floor. Masses of space with separate sitting room. No street noise. 4 post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Duchess_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your helpful and thoughtful review – kind and appreciative comments give all of us a great boost. We also like the Buccleuch; as you so rightly say a quiet and easy room to live in for a few days. Pleased that you both had such an enjoyable stay and relieved to hear that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you all here once again – if not over the summer then for next Christmas. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    182
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
170
771
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Two night break between Christmas and New Year - stayed in the lovely Atholl room (impressive and supremely comfortable four poster bed) - as always a warm and friendly welcome from the excellent staff. Have just enjoyed another very nice breakfast. We look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Sub_three

The Dukes property stands on Great Pulteney Street, possibly one of the finest boulevards in Bath, certainly one of the most impressive and distinct Georgian streets in Britain The Athol rooms extend to over 300 square feet and offer an unrivaled view of this historic street view. Thank you for taking the time to write a terrific review, it is greatly appreciated by the entire team when a guest has so clearly enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dukes Hotel in Bath on Christmas. The hospitality was perfect there! The staff members were really cheerful and friendly. We really relaxed and had enough of the divinity of Christmas. By the way, one of the staff members tried to greet us in the Japanese language (We are Japanese)! We appreciated it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abeaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Abeaiki, Swindon

Thank you for taking the time to write a very generous review. We were delighted to share Dukes with you, your wife and a wonderful group of guests over Christmas. Within the team we have fluent French speakers, very good Spanish speakers and excellent Polish speakers. Our command of Japanese may be a little more limited, none the less, we are very pleased that you felt so welcome and fully enjoyed your few days with us. With best wishes for the New Year and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at the Duke with our two young daughters! We were the first guests to stay since the new owners took over to days before our arrival. Chris was really welcoming and Mike on reception an absolute delight who helped us find excellent places to eat and exciting things to do!

The hotel itself has delightful rooms which are exceptionally clean, large and well thought out. We also had a hot, powerful shower which is sometimes hard to come by in hotels. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel was well placed with a short walk into the town centre, along one of the prettiest roads in Bath.

They really couldn't do enough for us during our stay and we will certainly be staying there again. It was a real pleasure to get some customer service for once!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in the Norfolk suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Claire W

As ‘our’ first guest we were chuffed to read your review. Dukes has served as a hotel, on and off for over 100 years and so your applause only days after we took over the running of the property are welcome indeed. We have travelled extensively with young children and appreciate how pleasurable a warm, welcoming atmosphere may be. We have an excellent team who thrive on pleasing each and every guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes later in the year. Many thanks for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My first Trip Advisor review!
Dukes is a stylish, old fashioned hotel in a beautiful Georgian town house close to the city centre. Our suite (we were upgraded on arrival) was extremely spacious and exuded charm. The staff were fabulous...very friendly and polite...and whilst we only stayed the one night after visiting the excellent Thermae Bath Spa, we were made to feel warmly welcome. Breakfast was great and having a resident's parking permit made life so easy. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend Dukes to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Mark S

Thank you for your very positive review, capturing much of the appeal that Dukes has to offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful stay and I will pass on your appreciation to the entire team. Our quiet, central location and easy level walk into the heart of Bath greatly helps us ensure that you have an easy and refreshing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had booked for this Christmas a good three months ahead, but were informed in early November that the restaurant would be closed a few days later and not open over Christmas, meaning only a breakfast service would be available. This was understandably diasappoinitng as well as very odd, as there was no clear explanation what the reason was for the closure of the hotel's kitchen.

The hotel offered to pay for a taxi to a restaurant on Christmas Day, but we had been looking forward to the full Dukes experience, i.e. Christmas Day lunch in the hotel itself. When I asked if they would be able to provide anything to eat in the hotel on Christmas Day evening we were offered the option of ordering sandwiches the night before! Not quite the festive experience we had been looking forward to.

This was all extremely disappointing as up until this point the hotel staff had been extremely professional and helpful, but once the restaurant closure was decided it seemed they weren't interested any more. Hopefully they'll be able to provide more than just breakfast early in the new year.

We are now staying in The Abbey Hotel where the Trip Advisor reviews are nowhere near as good as Dukes, but at least we can have all our meals in the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetPeasSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Sweet Peas of Southampton,

Many thanks for your review and comments of November 2012. We are sorry that you chose not to stay at Dukes Hotel. After many years of operating as a full service hotel the decision was taken in late 2012 to close the restaurant. Considerable effort was taken to minimise the impact on those guests who had booked for the Christmas period. I am pleased to read that you found alternative accommodation. We trust that you enjoyed your stay in Bath and we very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you to Dukes in the future.
We pride ourselves on offering a unique range of bedrooms, complimented with a freshly prepared breakfast and helpful, friendly service
Once again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Duke has got everything you need in a hotel:

1. Great Service/Friendly Staff
2. Clean Room (with so much character/Georgian Style)
3. Excellent location (5-minute walk to the city centre)

Carrying heavy bags up the stairs could be a challenge, however it's worth it!
We stayed here for 3 days, breakfast was really good with a wide choice of food.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try requesting for a room with a view. e.g. Grafton Room in 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing