We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dukes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$156
$146
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$181
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$386
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$222
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveler rating
1,141
197
20
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,141
197
20
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitmadeleinesgreat pulteney streetbeaufort roomtop floorno liftgeorgian hotelblack puddingfour postercity centreflights of stairsstreet parkingbox of chocolatesfull englishbreakfast was deliciouskippersfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,105 - 1,110 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dukes Hotel in Bath on Christmas. The hospitality was perfect there! The staff members were really cheerful and friendly. We really relaxed and had enough of the divinity of Christmas. By the way, one of the staff members tried to greet us in the Japanese language (We are Japanese)! We appreciated it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Abeaiki, Swindon

Thank you for taking the time to write a very generous review. We were delighted to share Dukes with you, your wife and a wonderful group of guests over Christmas. Within the team we have fluent French speakers, very good Spanish speakers and excellent Polish speakers. Our command of Japanese may be a little more limited, none the less, we are very pleased that you felt so welcome and fully enjoyed your few days with us. With best wishes for the New Year and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at the Duke with our two young daughters! We were the first guests to stay since the new owners took over to days before our arrival. Chris was really welcoming and Mike on reception an absolute delight who helped us find excellent places to eat and exciting things to do!

The hotel itself has delightful rooms which are exceptionally clean, large and well thought out. We also had a hot, powerful shower which is sometimes hard to come by in hotels. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel was well placed with a short walk into the town centre, along one of the prettiest roads in Bath.

They really couldn't do enough for us during our stay and we will certainly be staying there again. It was a real pleasure to get some customer service for once!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in the Norfolk suite
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Claire W

As ‘our’ first guest we were chuffed to read your review. Dukes has served as a hotel, on and off for over 100 years and so your applause only days after we took over the running of the property are welcome indeed. We have travelled extensively with young children and appreciate how pleasurable a warm, welcoming atmosphere may be. We have an excellent team who thrive on pleasing each and every guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes later in the year. Many thanks for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My first Trip Advisor review!
Dukes is a stylish, old fashioned hotel in a beautiful Georgian town house close to the city centre. Our suite (we were upgraded on arrival) was extremely spacious and exuded charm. The staff were fabulous...very friendly and polite...and whilst we only stayed the one night after visiting the excellent Thermae Bath Spa, we were made to feel warmly welcome. Breakfast was great and having a resident's parking permit made life so easy. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend Dukes to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Mark S

Thank you for your very positive review, capturing much of the appeal that Dukes has to offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful stay and I will pass on your appreciation to the entire team. Our quiet, central location and easy level walk into the heart of Bath greatly helps us ensure that you have an easy and refreshing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes. With thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had booked for this Christmas a good three months ahead, but were informed in early November that the restaurant would be closed a few days later and not open over Christmas, meaning only a breakfast service would be available. This was understandably diasappoinitng as well as very odd, as there was no clear explanation what the reason was for the closure of the hotel's kitchen.

The hotel offered to pay for a taxi to a restaurant on Christmas Day, but we had been looking forward to the full Dukes experience, i.e. Christmas Day lunch in the hotel itself. When I asked if they would be able to provide anything to eat in the hotel on Christmas Day evening we were offered the option of ordering sandwiches the night before! Not quite the festive experience we had been looking forward to.

This was all extremely disappointing as up until this point the hotel staff had been extremely professional and helpful, but once the restaurant closure was decided it seemed they weren't interested any more. Hopefully they'll be able to provide more than just breakfast early in the new year.

We are now staying in The Abbey Hotel where the Trip Advisor reviews are nowhere near as good as Dukes, but at least we can have all our meals in the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetPeasSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Sweet Peas of Southampton,

Many thanks for your review and comments of November 2012. We are sorry that you chose not to stay at Dukes Hotel. After many years of operating as a full service hotel the decision was taken in late 2012 to close the restaurant. Considerable effort was taken to minimise the impact on those guests who had booked for the Christmas period. I am pleased to read that you found alternative accommodation. We trust that you enjoyed your stay in Bath and we very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you to Dukes in the future.
We pride ourselves on offering a unique range of bedrooms, complimented with a freshly prepared breakfast and helpful, friendly service
Once again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Duke has got everything you need in a hotel:

1. Great Service/Friendly Staff
2. Clean Room (with so much character/Georgian Style)
3. Excellent location (5-minute walk to the city centre)

Carrying heavy bags up the stairs could be a challenge, however it's worth it!
We stayed here for 3 days, breakfast was really good with a wide choice of food.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try requesting for a room with a view. e.g. Grafton Room in 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews