We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't praise this hotel enough”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“I can't praise this hotel enough”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were drawn to Dukes by the restaurant reviews, looking for a venue for a small wedding lunch. As soon as I saw the private dining room I knew we had found the right place, and we took the opportunity to look at the rooms, and chose the Atholl , spacious and beautifully furnished with a four poster bed and a large bathroom with a huge bath and shower, plus fluffy white towels and robes.

Sayuri and Robert took over the lunch plans, and on the day the room and table looked so elegant everybody gasped as they went in. The guests had pre-ordered from the a la carte menu and the three courses were brought out correctly at exactly the right time. The quality of the food was outstanding, many people saying it was one of the best meals they had ever had.

The little courtyard was a perfect spot for pre-lunch drinks and photos.

Breakfast is served to order in the dining room, with an imaginative choice of alternatives to the full English, should you wish.

The only problem is wi-fi reception, which is patchy, but I heard that this was being upgraded the following week, and there is a PC and printer in reception you can use if necessary.

It is rated a 3* hotel, and I can only assume that is because it lacks some of the trimmings such as fitness centres and lifts, but take no notice of that - this is a 5* hotel in charm, decor, location and friendliness. Look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    185
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
175
801
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Dukes as phase 2 of our anniversary week - three nights in total.

We haven't been back for a while and realised just how much we'd missed it - we stayed in the Beaufort Suite which was PERFECT... so quiet, clean and comfortable.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just literally a few minutes and you're in the centre of beautiful Bath.

Mike at the Dukes was fantastic as always - so polite and courteous and willing to help in any way he can - a true credit to the hotel.

We are totally in love with Bath and also totally in love with the Dukes Hotel - it's a perfect combination and we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybee661_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for one night on a romantic break, and it was perfect. The staff were very welcoming and let us check in early, and we were upgraded to a suite. Our room (Wellington) was great, with a comfortable bed, and a lovely big bathroom with a power shower. The whole hotel was in perfect condition and tastefully decorated. The hotel was in a great location, on a quiet street and only 5 minutes walk from the centre. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This pretty little hotel is perfectly located just a few minutes away of the city main attractions. In one of the iconic stone houses that make this city so special.
Beautifully kept and refurbished, clean and with a lovely garden, definetely a good place for a nice romantic weekend away.
There is no lift tough, so pack light.


The Penhaligons toiletteries smell divine!

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor on a twin room, lovely decoration and nice view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Dukes hotel for one night during the August bank holiday weekend
Had to change our booking from two nights to one and to our surprise we were shown to an upgraded room (Suite) on arrival. It was very large, tastefully decorated and very clean. Bathroom had a bath with a power shower. We also booked a table in the resturant for dinner as we were being joined by my daughter and her friend who rent a flat in Bath. The meal and service was first class, beautifully cooked and nicely presented, dont be put off by the fixed price menu (£40 two course, £45 three course) as it was worth it. Breakfast was also freshly cooked with a good selection on offer, again could not be faulted. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Parking at the hotel could be a bit tricky as its in a permit only area (Available from the hotel) but we found a space nearby, The location itself is ideal, being only 10 mins walk (on the flat) from the centre of Bath. The hotel has a three star rating, but we have stayed in far worst four star hotels. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There is no lift so anyone with mobility problems should check with the hotel when booking,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukc802875219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just a short review to say what a great hotel this is - from the moment we walked in till the time we checked out the stay was perfect, the staff were fantastic and the room great value - I would be staying here next time I go back to Bath!

Room Tip: The Wellington Room was brill and I will ask for it next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just spent two nights at Dukes. Staff was wonderful. Extremely nice and helpful. Room was large and airy. Tub was deep and shower had fantastic pressure. Walked to everything. Rate was quite reasonable. Can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 53-54 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dukes stands on Great Pulteney Street - one of the finest boulevards in the Heritage City of Bath. Built over 200 years ago, Dukes comprises of two very generously proportioned town houses and has been engaged as a hotel and guest house for over 100 years. Whether it is the high ceilings, sash windows or hand crafted Sanitan bathroom suites, each of our rooms uniquely reflects on an era of craftsmanship, Georgian elegance and charm. Being less than a 10 minute flat walk to the centre, as a guest you can easily access all the attractions that Bath has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing