We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so Royal in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so Royal in Bath”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Crescent Hotel last year and our first experience was of sitting on a very grubby sofa in the guest lounge room (drinks on arrival are not complimentary by the way). This was followed by a walk upstairs on a carpet that was threadbare in places. Our room overlooked a very well kept garden and was quite nice but it was so stuffed full of furniture that by the time we got our luggage in there, we found it hard to move around and relax. The bathroom could have done with an update. Tea for two cost £10, but the meals are very good and the spas and massages are excellent. Overall quite expensive and we don't think that we'd stay there again. It looks better on the internet than it does in real life.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter (no traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay last year. The entire hotel has since been refurbished to an extremely high standard befitting the character and location in the beautiful Royal Crescent. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and indeed our restaurant is consistently praised and held in high regard. Our website shows the sympathetically restored rooms and public places within the hotel and we do hope you will agree that the hotel's new look is outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    112
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
121
485
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Royal Crescent in Bath. The room was great, very comfortable and the staff was attentive. Our room faced the Crescent center with wonderful views of the rolling green lawn. But, our favorite place was the lovely gardens behind the hotel where breakfast and tea were served. Beautiful and relaxing after a day of sight-seeing. Very nice.
We also had dinner at the Dower House restaurant our first night and we were not disappointed. Interesting flavor combinations, well prepared and served with the right mix of attentiveness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our lovely gardens. They are stunning and often totally unexpected by our guests. We hope you will visit again soon and will pass on your comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to bath and I was lucky enough to stay at the royal crescent hotel both times. It is gorgeous hotel and I couldn't recommend it enough, especially after the extensive refurb........stunning gardens, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff....I can't wait to go back again! Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Great comments, thank you! We are pleased you approve of our new look and we hope you will choose us again on your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Did not stay in the hotel but visited for afternoon tea. The gardens are beautiful & provide a quiet respite from busy Bath. Booked afternoon tea as a special treat. Had all the usual items you would expect - dainty sandwiches, delicious scones and a pistachio slice to die for. BUT no wow factor. Clearly (as they should be) house guests are the hotels priority. No fine china, good but not perfect service - at this price they should remember your name! Go to Gleneagles and see how it's done.

Room Tip: Don't go for Afternoon - if you want to see the htel go for morning coffee, cocktails or chilled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent Afternoon Tea. Our teas are comprehensive with sandwiches, scones and delicious cakes and are extremely popular. We value your comments and note that for you there was no "wow" factor and of course will take this on board but we do receive very favourable feedback with guests returning again and again. if you would like to advise us of how this may be improved we are more than happy to consider it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

An excellent experience. Beautiful hotel with excellent decor which suited the age of the building. Staff very friendly and attentive. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was first rate. We did not dine in the hotel. Great spa. This is a first rate hotel in one of the mist beautiful roads in the world. A shirt walking distance from the Theatre Royal and central Bath

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We are delighted with your comments, thank you so much and we do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday afternoon for a girls Spa treat. From my initial email enquiry to the day itself nothing was too much trouble. We booked a package which included use of the facilities and a 55 minute treatment each for £80pp. To get to the Spa you walk through the hotel and through the gardens (which are absolutely gorgeous) to the spa in a separate building. We were welcomed at reception where we filled in our health questionnaires were given our robes and flip flops and taken through to the changing rooms by Harriet. We had use of the spa facilities which are beautifully set. The pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub and cool tub have the wow factor! Literally! Whilst we were in there there was only one other lady so it felt very exclusive! We waited up on the balcony area for our treatments on the loungers. I had a fantastic facial with Harriet and my skin felt
wonderful afterwards finished off with recommendations for my skin and a herbal tea. The changing facilities were fab with plenty of towels, Espa shampoo and shower gel and hair dryers. The lockers were activated with bands much better than coin operated lockers. We were all made to feel very welcome and it was a very relaxing afternoon in a quiet quality spa away from the hustle and bustle so glad we chose here over the Thermae Spa! Would definitely visit again and maybe stay for a drink in the gardens next time. Thank you for a fab afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
You have made our Spa team very happy! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and what a pleasure to read this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family and I stayed here as a special 60th birthday and retirement treat. It exceeded our expectations and we all enjoyed the weekend immensely (even the dogs), relaxing in the charming ambiance of a beautiful garden, delightful rooms and friendly, helpful and elegant staff. The dining was mouthwatering and the breakfast extensive with interesting options. The Spa was also very special with wonderful character and amenities. One of the best facials I've ever had. Perfect after a busy weekend. As my sister, who arrived at the RCH first, texted, "the hotel is fantastic!".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAddisAbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. Very satisfying and appreciative comments. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Property: The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#3 Business Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Family Hotel in Bath
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing