We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Queensberry Hotel last weekend for 2 nights and had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful and very uniquely decorated. The drawing room downstairs is a lovely little room to have your tea and coffee in, and the Q Bar serves some amazing cocktails.

We had a bit of an issue on our first night which was a Saturday, as lots of people were walking up and down the street outside to and from town making quite a lot of noise into the early hours. Even though there was nothing the hotel staff could have done to stop it, they were very apologetic the next day and explained that every so often the street does get a little noisy on a Saturday night. They offered us a smaller room at the back of the hotel as they were very busy that weekend, but we decided to keep our room and luckily the Sunday night was very, very quiet and we had a much better night's sleep.

We had a deluxe room which was beautiful and very spacious. It included a walk-in wardrobe and a beautiful, big bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfy and the room service was just incredible!

The staff are really helpful and friendly, and we can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Saturday night, it might be worth asking for a room over-looking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseM_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have just returned home from our three night stay at The Queensberry. We have stayed many times at The Queensberry and continue to receive excellent service and quality. Each member of staff we had contact with was polite, professional and friendly. Our room provided us with every comfort we could wish for, sumptuous towels and robes, complimentary toiletries and a huge comfortable bed to sink into for a peaceful nights sleep. We enjoyed relaxing drinks in the bar and delicious breakfasts in the restaurant. The hotel is within walking distance to the shops, The Circus, Royal Crescent and Parks giving a wealth of things to do within easy reach. We are very much looking forward to returning to The Queensberry very soon!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Eight of us stayed here to celebrate my 70th birthday. Absolutely lovely - even a box of chocolates in the room when I arrived. The staff are friendly and made sure that everything was perfect for our stay.
Spacious room. Nice bathroom and toiletries. Comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast.
Could not fault this hotel.
Short walk into town. Yes, it is uphill on the way back but this is Bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amdastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Unusual layout and decoration - beautifully done. Room well appointed (No12) and very comfy bed. Very clean. Some noise from people walking home as room at front - but it is close to city centre so to be expected. Birthday weekend for my Mum and the 8 of us staying all loved it. Plenty of communal spaces to relax in - lounge and bar comfy chairs. Very helpful and attentive staff. Rooms at back of hotel get quite warm in the afternoon. Pretty courtyard. Good breakfast. Really nice touch to provide spa pack for trips to Thermae Spa - thank you. Lovely 2 nights - would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back very warm. A little street noise at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We liked the Queensberry and will be going back in the summer. It's in a great location (tho bear in mind, Bath is a hilly city and the Queensberry is a bit of a climb from central Bath) and has definite character. The Olive Tree restaurant is exquisite and the staff are very knowledgable and helpful. It's based in a bit of a rabbit warren, but that adds to the character. We had dinner and breakfast there, and both were delightful. The cocktail bar is small and intimate and the cocktail waitress is very good, knocking up 'off menu' cocktails with skill and enthusiasm. The hotel offers a 'spa pack', robes and towels, shampoo etc for those visiting the Thermae Spa, which we took advantage of and were very grateful for it.

The not-so-good: there aren't tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, you are expected to get all the coffee you need in the drawing room, by reception, or pay for espresso based coffee from room service. An elegant idea, but it rather fails first thing in the morning, especially when your room is a good walk, up several staircases from reception. The first morning we phoned down for coffee and was told it was available in the lounge, although actually it wasn't. The second morning, my husband went down to get coffee and again it wasn't ready (despite being past 8am) so a very helpful receptionist bought it up to our room once it was ready.

Additionally, if you have a room at the front of the hotel, you could find your sleep disturbed by rowdy people in the street. Unfortunately, I doubt the nature of the building will allow for double glassing, but curtains or shutters would reduce noise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 28, it gets noise from the room above and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I've stayed at the Queensbury about 4 times now, for business and pleasure and it never disappoints. The hotel is very comfortable and ideally situated to explore Bath. If I have to make any sort of criticism then perhaps it's the service.

Don't misunderstand me; the service is very good, but perhaps in their attempt to provide the best customer experience, it can sometimes come across as a bit cold and sterile.

I'm not sure if I we've been unlucky in my timing, but each time I've stayed at the Queensbury, which includes weekends and weekdays, it's always been pretty quite in the evenings and often the the bar is empty. In my view the hotel needs to create a bit more of an atmosphere, a bit of pizzazz, create a bit more soul and I think the first thing to do is employ an experienced bar tender to help you explore and enjoy or those intresting whiskies? An empty and unmanned bar never seems that friendly.

Perhaps this review is more for the Queensbury management than customers and perhaps I'm just being a bit too prickly - Because as the title of my review says, " it is a great hotel, in a great city and I recommend both whole heartily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked The Queensberry for the night with my husband and two kids (9 and 6). We booked a suite with two put-up beds for the kids. The hotel was gorgeous, the staff really efficient, and the location perfect to walk to all the sights and sounds of Bath. We were only there for one night but would definitely go back again if we were in Bath. The kids loved the big room, fluffy robes, great bed linen and delicious room service! We walked to the Roman Baths etc and had super lunch at Hall & Woodhouse, again recommended for the family. If I had a bugbear it was probably being charged £25 each for the kids put up beds... Seemed a little excessive... Other than that no complaints...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosieL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $136 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing