We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marquis of Queensberry rules still apply”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Marquis of Queensberry rules still apply”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

On our recent trip to the UK my wife and I really played the where we would go to next card by ear. Deciding on driving to Bath we hurriedly booked the only Hotel still available via the web. We were so pleasantly surprised at The Queensberry. Once owned by the Marquis of Queensberry this series of converted terrace houses is one of the friendliest and nicest hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in. The staff not only valet parked our car on arrival but were so friendly it was like we were long time guests rather than new ones. The room was clean and newly renovated. Close to the town centre and the numerous restaurants and pubs the Queensberry was perfect to just walk around the town. For those of us that always think the bar shuts too early the Queensberry offers 24hr service at the small but well stocked bar. While we didn't get to eat in the restaurant due to a function the menu was simple but looked great. Apparently the restaurant is one of the best in bath so we were disappointed not to get to try it. That saying we did find a beautiful seafood restaurant nearby. Overall I would not only rate the Queensberry as 5 star but would happily go back again. I highly recommend this hotel if you ever find yourself in Bath. Wonderful staff, wonderful
Atmosphere and wonderful
Memories.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    344
    89
    26
    17
See reviews for
155
864
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for four nights in mid August with our two children and my parents. We had two rooms with the idea that one of the kids would be in each room but our room (junior suite) was so big that we were able to have two rollaway beds plus a king bed and still not feel at all cramped.

The room was comfortable and the service very good. Free wifi in rooms (with password). It's not a five star type place but its quirkiness and charm (it is the amalgamation of a few town houses) drive the appeal.

The location is perfect - more or less equidistant from the Royal Crescent and the Circus and about a 15 minute walk from the Abbey, baths and other touristy stuff. Bath is a fairly small city so nothing is too far.

Room Tip: We had a large room (called a jr suite I think) on the second floor (first if you're European...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent part of our honeymoon at the Queensberry last year and absolutely loved it, so it seemed a logical choice to return for our first wedding anniversary this year. It didn't disappoint second time around - gorgeous rooms, friendly staff, great bar and garden terrace and delicious breakfasts, I genuinely couldn't find fault with anything, and very much hope we will return for our second anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arriving at the hotel was a doddle thanks to their valet parking system (they will deliver the car back to the front door within 15 minutes when required). The hotel plays up its 'fastidious service' and it is truly exceptional – everything is thought of and nothing is too much trouble, wherever you happen to be.

The staff also come across as genuinely enthusiastic about the hotel and Bath itself, and that rubbed off on us, making us even more excited about getting out and exploring.

As for location, the hotel is situated just far enough out of the town centre for privacy and peace (although there were some boisterous people out on Saturday night), but close enough that everything is an easy walk. Ideal!

The only slightly jarring note is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in one's room, meaning you can only obtain an evening drink through room service- a bit of a sting and out of kilter with the hotel's general thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingoftwickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was looking for a central but luxury hotel in bath for a one stay to celebrate my daughters exam results. I looked at most of the hotels around Bath and spent a long on tripadvisor before deciding on the queensbury which is also recommended by mr and mrs smith, and a smith hotel is nearly always a good bet. The price was competitive and the facilities were ample for a short stay. There is no pool but the thermae bath spa was a short walk away. They do lend you towels and robes but I had not anticipated how heavy a bag of wet towels and robes would be when walking back in the heat ( yes we were lucky with the weather too). Valet Parking was easy and efficient, bags were quickly loaded and unloaded. The room was much bigger than expected with a large bathroom, huge bed, sofa, large tv, docking station, wardrobe etc it was the 2nd from bottom room catergory. The hotel is cosy, quaint, lived-in but luxury. Water was provided, ice was brought swiftly on request, magazines and useful local information is available in the room ( no fridge or tea and coffee facilities though)Staff were friendly and gave us map of bath to help is on our way. The Jane Austin centre is around the corner there are several tea rooms and bars a few minutes away. Breakfast was nice, a good quality selection, small cooked breakfasts but plenty of choice from the continental breakfast bar. Personally I would not have more than one breakfast In the hotel as there are so many local restaurants and cafes to try. A lovely stay we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is some noise as as people leave the central bars and restaurants at night. If this is likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just got back from a trip that included a brief visit to Bath, where we stayed at our old favourite, the Queensberry Hotel. We would normally go for at least two nights, as a city break, the highlight of which is always the comfortable surrounds of the Queensberry.

This time we stayed only overnight on our way through. Arriving late (11pm), we were warmly welcomed by the staff who came out of the hotel, helped us with our luggage, and whisked the car away to off-road parking. It felt as if they had been waiting up especially to greet us. We were taken to our room and weary from our journey all we had to do was collapse into the most comfortable of beds.

After an excellent night's sleep, making full use of the generous check out time, we feasted on the luxuriant buffet breakfast (the homemade granola is delicious), and feeling fully restored we went on our way.

Overall, for us, The Queensberry rarely fails to deliver. Its central location, its comfort, its value for money and its private ownership all underpin its utmost quality which is good old traditional English hospitality.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Queensberry many times and have stayed in a variety of rooms around the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compostcleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
215 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Yes it does ,our third or fourth stay here over many years , the owners have jazzed it up in a good way since our last visit , the bar is smarter,and the food is excellent.I felt before that it was good but now it's unmissable , miles better than the bath priory where we had dinner on this trip.
They go that extra mile for their customers , and the situation being just a stroll from the centre is perfect.
Woods restaurant , again a short distance away,is a good place for lunch , had a really nice meal there.

Room Tip: A little noisy if you have a room overlooking the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.4 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing