We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first anniversary and absolutely loved the quirky character and excellent service. From the outset the staff were impressive, valet parking our car and showing us to our lovely room. I liked the little touches such as the tea and coffee in the lounge (very welcoming) and the cloth bag given as a thank you for booking directly. Great location too being a short walk to the centre of Bath. The only negative I have is that our room (14) was noisy early in the morning as it was close to the stairs and looking on to the street.

Special mention must go to your brilliant barman who made us amazing cocktails and gave us an education in gin! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    333
    87
    25
    17
See reviews for
148
847
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
church stretton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a very comfortable 2 night stay last week. The weather was cold and wet, but when we returned from sightseeing shopping etc our room was a haven (21 ). would recommend it.
The only quibble we old have is the reading lights by the bed were not the strongest.
We ate in Th Olive restaurant one night, we can only describe it as delicious, my fish was unlike and th rolls were to die for.
The valet parking was useful staff very friendly, being so close to the center of Bath, was wonderful
An enjoyable couple of days

Room Tip: Would recommend room 21 3rd loot very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very clean, smart and tidy. Large rooms presented to a high standard and very friendly staff. No mini bar, fridge or air con, but the hotel bar seemed well equipped. Worth noting no tea/coffee making facilities and a cup of coffee is almost £5 from the bar.

Would return to stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We always enjoy our stay at this hotel.
It is very clean and comfortable, the staff are efficient and friendly, and the location excellent.
And with the valet parking you have a great place to stay in Bath with no stress!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as birthday treat. Was extremely impressed on arrival, especially when they take your car and park it for you. The hotel room was beautiful, good size and really comfortable. The bathroom was very impressive!

Can't fault the location of the hotel as it is right in the centre of bath and good walking distance to anywhere. The only problem was that we stayed on a Saturday night and could hear a lot of noise early hours in the morning and that's with the window closed!

Don't bother with room service as it is extremely expensive for what you Actually get. Would return to the hotel again if the price is right as it can be quite costly!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LivvieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holestone Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We saw a review of this hotel in 'The Week', and were impressed, so we had a look at the website! What a wonderful thing this is. It led us to expect that the hotel would be quirky, "combining old fashioned attitudes to service and detail with sophisticated, modern comfort".

Our stay was just two nights, and we were disappointed - don't get us wrong - it does everything it says on the tin! But having looked at the website we had built up a picture in our minds, then in the event it was a bit like reading a novel then seeing the film.

That said, there was nothing we could really put our fingers on - everything was luxurious - our bedroom was lovely, overlooking the courtyard garden, and stairs led down to the wardrobe and bathroom. Downsides of the bedroom were that it was too hot. On our second night we turned the heating radiator down to 1, but still found it too hot. On checking out, we were told we should have let them know, but we didn't know until the second (and last) night. There weren't enough coat hangers, and we discovered the shelf space, almost inaccessible beside the TV, too late. Perhaps some shelves inside the wardrobe would be a good idea.

The bathroom was good - but the shower almost too powerful, meaning that almost 4" of water had gathered in the bath at the end of my shower. Plenty of toiletries though. The toilet didn't flush terribly well - presumably to do with their Green Tourism Silver award - a 'brick' in the cistern means you use less water, but not if you have to flush it 3 or 4 times!

The Bar is described on the website as "relaxed, friendly and beautiful-looking" - the latter was true, but we never saw anyone in the bar. True there was a great selection of drinks, but we preferred to have our after-dinner drink in the lounge where there were more comfortable chairs. The bar waiter was excellent, remembering exactly what we had drunk the first night of our stay.

We didn't use the Olive Tree restaurant except for breakfast. This too was slightly disappointing, and wasn't included in the cost of our stay. There seemed to be one waiter/waitress assigned to certain tables, as we seemed to be ignored by the others. So it could be a while before we were asked about tea and coffee.

The situation of the hotel is excellent, and having your car parked and brought back when we wanted it was brilliant. The experience was one of efficiency and professionalism, but personal and friendly touches seemed to be missing.

Our actual stay just did not match the impression we were given on the brilliant website.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and must say that it is probably one of the best independent hotels that we have ever stayed in. All of the staff, without exception were very pleasant, nothing appeared to be any trouble and they all looked as if they took a real pride in presenting themselves as the face of the Queensberry. I didn't personally like the breakfast very much, the continental breakfast was quite limited compares to continental hotels, but having said that I think that it was all excellent quality. The cooked breakfast wasn't to my taste but I just chose the wrong thing.

The room was very comfortable with a settee, very high quality bedding and simple furnishings. It was spotless, as was the bathroom. We had room 16 which was at the back of the hotel and it was very very peaceful

I don;t agreed with Claire C - it was a 5 minute walk from town and only 2 minutes from Circus which is on a par if not better than the Royal Crescent which is only a 5 minute walk away from the hotel

We didn't experience any problems at all with the valet parking - that was a real bonus because it only cost £5 for the duration of our stay, and you won;t find ANYWHERE in Bath to park that cheaply within walking distance of the centre or a hotel

We are very fussy - I can't help thinking that the people who have complaints about it would have complaints about anywhere, and obviously expect staff to be subservient.

Well done the Queensberry for keeping such high standards

Room Tip: Room no 16 was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beejay1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing