We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brillaint home from home in bath”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brillaint home from home in bath”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here for one night booked by someone else nad it was a huge trerat - staff incredibly welcoming and felt as if i was at home immeditely...they wisked my car off, lovely room - so nice it made me feel like i wanted to live in the hotel. A good bar and firendly service but the olive tree restaurant is a total must -fantastic service, helpful but not pushy and great wine list. This is my new favourate hotel in the UK and a rwal gem - if you want good service, great room, lots of space and feel as if you are in a house not a hotel this is the best place to stay in bath by miles. So good, i am trying to find an excuse to visit bath again.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    340
    89
    26
    17
See reviews for
154
860
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
332 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Bed was soft and small. Bathroom was better than average. Very hot on the upper floors. Easy walk to all attractions. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel was a joy to arrive at on a sunny Sunday evening after a long drive. From the moment you arrive and the valet parking is immediately arranged, the attention to detail and the calm efficiency of the place are impressive. The staff are incredibly knowledgable about what they do, the cocktails and the food are excellent, and I love the natural English eccentricity of it.
We only stayed a Sunday night on a last minute deal, so I can't comment on what it is like to stay there at other, busier times.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamford_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We spent two nights at the Queensberry and will not be recommending it to a friend nor will we be staying there again. My partner and I were in Bath for the weekend. The Queensberry looked interesting and boutiquey; I booked a deluxe room weeks ahead and expressly asked that it be quiet. The building is a beautiful Georgian house with period details and a lovely back garden. Aesthetically it did not disappoint, nor did it's central location. What did disappoint is that on arrival we were shown to a ground floor room, at street level and facing the road. Our room was spacious and luxurious but the noise was an issue: you could hear people outside walking and talking as if they were in your room and to add to that, our room was adjacent to the hotel's bar which though not super busy was nonetheless active until midnight. We spoke to the night manager, who was understanding and apologetic but could do nothing that night, as a result our sleep was less than tranquil and interrupted several times. We were given a new room the next day facing the back - where we should have been from the start - and the rest of our stay was mostly uneventful, we even had friends around for tea at the lounge. However, upon check-out we got charged for our daily newspaper, a whole £1.60 for The Independent when we were paying £275 a night (without breakfast)! That I thought was mean and certainly not a mark of a superior hotel. We travel widely and often stay in five-star hotels and a morning newspaper is usually complimentary. It's one of the ways high-end hotels show their customers that they are special, it's the principle of the matter and here we found The Queensberry to be more concerned about taking than giving its customers that little extra. Quite literally. Which is why we will not be making another stop here, Georgian charm notwithstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saffronsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel for those who want something different from the mundane same old same old hotel in a chain. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff waiting on our luggage and offered to park our car. They delivered our luggage to room 28, our deluxe room for our 3 day honeymoon. Wow, beautiful room and bathroom. The promised prosecco was chilling. We later dined in the fine dining restaurant of the Olive Tree and enjoyed a special meal (a little expensive if not a one off though). After a very comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed breakfast in bed, whilst my shoes were being shined by the porter. What a great hotel. Great location. They also offer complimentary robes and towels for the thermae bath spa (which is a must for your visit) saving you money. We have recommended Bath and this hotel to everyone since our visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Queensbury Hotel provided my girlfriend and I with an amazing stay this Bank Holiday weekend. We booked through Mr &Mrs Smith fairly last minute (two-days before arriving) and were delighted with all aspects of the stay.

The hotel appears to have been converted from three townhouses into one hotel. The upside of this is that all rooms are different and tend to be very spacious. The downside (and only one I have about the hotel) is the old walls allow sound from other rooms and corridors into your room. But that aside it still didn’t prevent us from both having a great sleep.

The service was impeccable from arrival right through to checking out (and even afterwards when we left our belongings there and went into the city for a few hours). Our rooms had all the amenities you would expect from a 5* hotel except for a mini bar, but the 24hr Room Service makes up for that. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and assisted us in everyway possible to have an amazing stay.

Location wise this hotel cannot be better located. It is in the North part of the city and as such you get no loud passing traffic, but it is a mere 5 minutes walk from the city-centre (great for shopping and for nights out).

We 'dinned-in' at The Olive Tree on our first night in the hotel, and were delighted with the food and service. The food is small in portion size but is elegantly presented and beautifully cooked. The restaurant was a real gourmet experience. The waiter/ sommelier was very helpful, and recommended a fantastic bottle of red from the extensive wine list. (Planeta- Burdese (2006))

I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Room 11 is very nice and spacious- split levelled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Michael_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed for one night and it was wonderful - the staff bent over backwards to help us and we can be quite awkward. Our room included a package for a bottle of Prosceco, but I am allergic to grape. So that we didn't lose out we were offered cocktails instead in the very nice bar.
We were provided with towels and robes for the local spa and maps to find attractions we wanted to see.
Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing