We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced, nice place but stingy”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over-priced, nice place but stingy”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We spent two nights at the Queensberry and will not be recommending it to a friend nor will we be staying there again. My partner and I were in Bath for the weekend. The Queensberry looked interesting and boutiquey; I booked a deluxe room weeks ahead and expressly asked that it be quiet. The building is a beautiful Georgian house with period details and a lovely back garden. Aesthetically it did not disappoint, nor did it's central location. What did disappoint is that on arrival we were shown to a ground floor room, at street level and facing the road. Our room was spacious and luxurious but the noise was an issue: you could hear people outside walking and talking as if they were in your room and to add to that, our room was adjacent to the hotel's bar which though not super busy was nonetheless active until midnight. We spoke to the night manager, who was understanding and apologetic but could do nothing that night, as a result our sleep was less than tranquil and interrupted several times. We were given a new room the next day facing the back - where we should have been from the start - and the rest of our stay was mostly uneventful, we even had friends around for tea at the lounge. However, upon check-out we got charged for our daily newspaper, a whole £1.60 for The Independent when we were paying £275 a night (without breakfast)! That I thought was mean and certainly not a mark of a superior hotel. We travel widely and often stay in five-star hotels and a morning newspaper is usually complimentary. It's one of the ways high-end hotels show their customers that they are special, it's the principle of the matter and here we found The Queensberry to be more concerned about taking than giving its customers that little extra. Quite literally. Which is why we will not be making another stop here, Georgian charm notwithstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saffronsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    340
    89
    26
    17
See reviews for
154
860
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel for those who want something different from the mundane same old same old hotel in a chain. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff waiting on our luggage and offered to park our car. They delivered our luggage to room 28, our deluxe room for our 3 day honeymoon. Wow, beautiful room and bathroom. The promised prosecco was chilling. We later dined in the fine dining restaurant of the Olive Tree and enjoyed a special meal (a little expensive if not a one off though). After a very comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed breakfast in bed, whilst my shoes were being shined by the porter. What a great hotel. Great location. They also offer complimentary robes and towels for the thermae bath spa (which is a must for your visit) saving you money. We have recommended Bath and this hotel to everyone since our visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Queensbury Hotel provided my girlfriend and I with an amazing stay this Bank Holiday weekend. We booked through Mr &Mrs Smith fairly last minute (two-days before arriving) and were delighted with all aspects of the stay.

The hotel appears to have been converted from three townhouses into one hotel. The upside of this is that all rooms are different and tend to be very spacious. The downside (and only one I have about the hotel) is the old walls allow sound from other rooms and corridors into your room. But that aside it still didn’t prevent us from both having a great sleep.

The service was impeccable from arrival right through to checking out (and even afterwards when we left our belongings there and went into the city for a few hours). Our rooms had all the amenities you would expect from a 5* hotel except for a mini bar, but the 24hr Room Service makes up for that. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and assisted us in everyway possible to have an amazing stay.

Location wise this hotel cannot be better located. It is in the North part of the city and as such you get no loud passing traffic, but it is a mere 5 minutes walk from the city-centre (great for shopping and for nights out).

We 'dinned-in' at The Olive Tree on our first night in the hotel, and were delighted with the food and service. The food is small in portion size but is elegantly presented and beautifully cooked. The restaurant was a real gourmet experience. The waiter/ sommelier was very helpful, and recommended a fantastic bottle of red from the extensive wine list. (Planeta- Burdese (2006))

I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Room 11 is very nice and spacious- split levelled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Michael_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed for one night and it was wonderful - the staff bent over backwards to help us and we can be quite awkward. Our room included a package for a bottle of Prosceco, but I am allergic to grape. So that we didn't lose out we were offered cocktails instead in the very nice bar.
We were provided with towels and robes for the local spa and maps to find attractions we wanted to see.
Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I stayed at the Queensberry hotel with my husband for three nights in May. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and contrary to another reviewer did carry our bags to the room. Both the bed and room were very comfortable and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend the restaurant, where the food is of excellent quality with attentive unpretentious service.

This hotel is in a good location for all of the main sites, being within walking distance of most, but not in a really busy area. I was 8.5 months pregnant at the time of visiting and managed to walk to most places albeit rather slowly.

The only real criticism is that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. This is a bit of a pain as you either have to order room service at a pricey £3.50 per person or wait until 9:00 for complimentary tea in the lounge.

One other reviewer had an issue with their car. The 'free parking' is on the street parking. The valet simply finds a suitable spot. Whilst our car was OK, the curbs in and around the surrounding streets are pretty savage and I can see how damage might have been done.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel is very nice, but don't use the valet parking. I let them park my Audi which has low profile wheels and when getting home I have noticed they have marked both alloys very slightly. I did go up to where the car was parked and they had parked it extremely close to the kerb, so they had not been careful enough when bringing it back to the hotel.

Spoke to Manager and they said nothing they can do as cannot prove it was them!

Not impressed.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank annoyedcardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa69, Owner at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
We would like to respond to the guest's review as it only gives one perspective. During the guest's stay he did check his car having enquired where it had been parked. When he was departing, our team brought the car back to the hotel. At this time the guest made a further inspection of his car. He then checked out making no comment regarding the wheels of his car or any other issues with the vehicle.

Two days later the guest phoned the hotel and said that there was damage to the wheels of his car. He spoke with the General Manager who advised him that as it was two days after his departure and that he had made a point of checking his car before departure we were not able to accept further responsibility for any alleged damage. At this point the guest hung up the telephone!

The hotel has a fully comprehensive jockey insurance policy that covers us for any damage that may occur whilst we are driving guest cars. The team are all under strict instruction to report any damage that they may do to a car so that the hotel can advise the guest and put right any problem with the least inconvenience to the guest. Had we been aware of any damage to this guest's car we would have arranged suitable repairs.

Please be assured that our valet parking service is highly valued by guests of the hotel as it relieves all the problems of parking in Bath. We park thousands of cars every year and very rarely have we caused any damage and on the odd occasion we have we have always done the right thing by our guests.

Laurence Beere
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We found the Queensberry through www.mrandmrssmith.com and will certainly be recommending to everyone we know.

The room was beautiful but the level of service throughout our stay really set the Queensberry apart from other places I have visited both in the UK and abroad. All was exceptional, from the greeting and concierge service when we first arrived to the personal attention of your knowledgeable bar staff in the Old Q Bar. Unfortunately we did not eat in the Olive Tree as we had already made a dinner reservation but after looking at the menu on Sunday morning I think we will use it as an excuse to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing