We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be going back again”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely be going back again”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

What a lovely hotel. It felt like a real treat staying there.
Positive : A gorgeous room (we had a deluxe room - Room 6) which had large windows, beautiful dark walls, enormous bed and spacious bathroom. The bed is a real queen-size, not two lashed together as is so often the case. The whole hotel is stunning and the bar and drawing room are not to be missed. The staff were really friendly. They have a free valet parking service which whisked our car off we-know-not-where but driving in Bath would have been a nightmare anyway. The hotel's in a quiet location but walking distance from anything you'll need. A friendly night porter delivered room service (beer, tea and sandwiches) at midnight and it was reasonably priced (£15 or so).

Negative : The windows were a bit thin so we heard all of the drunk conversation taking place outside. Normally we'd complain but the bed was soooo comfy it didn't seem to matter! The breakfast was underwhelming and portions weren't too generous. We were left to get on with it a bit - found our own table and had to work out that we could help ourselves even though we ordered hot food from a menu. They don't have coffee/tea making in the rooms, and the free coffee in the drawing room (9.30am-5pm) was very weak.

Overall, I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know and would stay there again tomorrow. We visit a lot of hotels, and this one delivers its promises more than any I've ever been to.

Room Tip: Room 6 (deluxe) is a winner - big and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    340
    89
    26
    17
See reviews for
154
859
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Queensberry - it was a surprise planned by my husband for my birthday - and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The location is very convenient to town, our room was spacious and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a delicious meal in the restaurant; all in all, pretty perfect!

The only slight let-down for me was the bar area - it lacked atmosphere and the service was rather slow. Other than that, the hotel's quirkiness and ambience were spot on, creating a very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, which is perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Lovely room and hotel, would stay again. 5 mins walk into town, but very quiet location.

Room Tip: we were on top floor which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

we stayed at the Queensberry for two nights mid-week as we decided to visit Bath for my birthday. The Queensberry offers the perfect balance between luxury and value for money...

the room had a huge bed which was very soft, it was nice to have a seating area and coffee table to give it that "suite" feeling, an even bigger bathroom and lovely poweful shower. The valet parking was very convenient, and no request was too much for any of the staff. They will even provide you with towels and robes to take with you to the Thermae spa - well recommended.

the communal and bar areas are all decorated to a high finish with free wifi in the lounge.

the hotel is nicely situated within 5 minutes walk down the hill to the town where there are plently of restaurants and bars / shops etc, but still far enough away to avoid any drunken passers by you might experience if staying in the town centre on the weekend.


our only quibble would be with the lack of tea making facilities in the rooms however the drinks on offer in the lounge during the day were more than adequate. Also the room was often very warm and we had to turn off all the radiators although perhaps this is because it was an unexpectedly warm week anyway.

regardless we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to bath and would definately stay at the Queensberry again and recommend it to any friends who were thinking of a trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmonkeys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is a GREAT hotel for exploring Bath--very convenient walk to shops and restaurants. My sister and I walked everywhere and had no difficulty navigating our way around Bath. Rooms are lovely and roomy and the bathroom was huge! Great shower!! Nice bar area to sit and enjoy a glass of wine--they served olives and snack mix with our beverages....breakfast came with our room and it was delicious. We could not think of a better place to stay! The staff is wonderful and soooo helpful! I give The Queensberry 5 Stars!!!!! We hope we will be able to return to Bath and this delightful hotel again---by the way--restaurants we loved--Jamie Olivers, Martinis and Bistro Rustico--also have lunch at the Pump Room at the Roman Baths---dress up and make a reservation--it was delightful! Mad Max tour of Cotswold area was great and scenery was beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggygail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I'd not been to Bath before and wanted a weekend break in the UK. The city is gorgeous plenty of restaurants and things to do, the Thermae Bath Spa is well worth a visit (although it is run a bit like a public swimming pool which is a shame). Queensberry is in the perfect location, 5 minutes walk from the main centre of Bath but quieter. We chose a standard double room which was more than big enough with a large bathroom and sofa seating area. No problems at all with the service. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the room service was very good. The styling of the hotel is very boutique and quirky but not too over the top and certainly style does not surpass service or quality. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nidud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed in one of the top floor rooms with view across Bath... immaculately clean, stylish and cosy feel although enough room for a couch and coffee table. Restaurant, bar and sitting room all very nice.
Valet parking done with efficiency and great service attitude. Best part of tis great hotel however was the concierge service - professional, helpful and friendly.
Location is great - very close walk down hill to everything of central Bath and about 100m from the Circus.
Although our stay in Bath was brief, we highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing