We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but a little pricey”

No. 1 Royal Crescent
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.98*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Last admission 4.30pm. Step into the past at one of England's finest Georgian townhouses. * 10 display rooms * Upstairs and downstairs * Georgian shop * Free info room with introductory video * Disabled access * Kids explorer packs * Friendly room guides * 'Indulgence' exhibition 9 May - 6 November 2016, exploring the Daily Delights (and excesses!) of Georgian Bath. The website has an Access section which has details of nearest car-parks, floorplans, facilities and information specifically for our visitors with access needs.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but a little pricey”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The presentation of the house is excellent, but I think the cost is too much. We only took about 3/4 hr to go around, although one could spend longer if really interested, The guides in each room were very knowledgeable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,082
    595
    137
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place to see”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was interesting to hear about how this "royal crescent" had been built especially for the Prince Regent George IV who wanted to invite all his friends to party there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chulina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
426 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My partner was really looking forward to this Georgian house and she enjoyed it but to me it was a big disappointment it felt like the house was very inaccessible for elderly or wheel chaired people as well as the contents felt very fake and not very authentic to the theme of the actual house.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No1RoyalCrescent, Manager at No. 1 Royal Crescent, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are sorry that the reviewer did not enjoy the visit to No. 1 Royal Crescent.

However, we would like to reassure the reviewer that the house is furnished with furniture and pictures dating from the 18th century and all the decorative schemes have been thoroughly researched and based on examples from the 18th century. For example, the carpets have been reproduced for us using original 18th century patterns held in Brintons Carpet Archive in Kidderminster. We are also very fortunate to have a number of high quality loan objects and pictures from national collections such as the Victoria & Albert Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. We have also carried out extensive research into Henry Sanford, who lived at No. 1 between 1776 and 1796. Where possible we have tried to create interpretation that relates to what we know about Henry - for example, by creating a replica of an 18th century electrical machine that we know Henry owned.

Due to the nature of the Grade I listed historic building, we were unable to create level access via a lift to all floors of the building. However, in our recent project we made a significant investment to insert a lift in the museum that gives level access to over half of the museum (previously there was no level access to the museum). For the rooms that are inaccessible, we have created a virtual tour on an ipad that is available to visitors on request. We are always looking for ways to make the museum more accessible within the constraints of the historic building and we welcome any suggestions for improvements that can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relax”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It is a really nice place to have a picnic, or just to relax with a book. I haven´t been inside but still it was absolutely worth to just see it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MakiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating glimpse into life in the Georgian era”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The rooms have been restored to what they would have been in the 1700s so you get a wonderful sense of the colors, fabrics, furnishings etc of this time and how it would feel to live in such elegant surroundings. The staff in each room were extremely friendly and veritable mines of interesting information.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank viroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 1 Royal Crescent also viewed

 

Been to No. 1 Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing