We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scones with Mr Darcy”

The Jane Austen Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.13*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #24 of 156 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jane Austen Centre features a permanent exhibition that tells the story of Bath's most famous resident, the author Jane Austen. It explores the effect that living in the Georgian city had on her life and writing. There is a delightful Giftshop on the ground floor, which sells unique items bespoke to the Jane Austen Centre, and a delicious Regency Tea Room on the 2nd floor, which offers 17 varieties of leafed tea to go with our locally baked cakes. The Centre organises an annual Jane Austen Festival as well as walking tours of the city with an Austen theme. Costumed Guides will take you through the exhibition and be on hand to satisfy your quest for knowledge of all things Austen. You will get to taste some period-recipe food, dress up in Regency costume, and have your photo take with the world famous Jane Austen waxwork.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane, Aust
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scones with Mr Darcy”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you're in Bath you must visit the Jane Austen Centre and have some scones or something that you enjoy in the tea room. The staff dress up in costume and you can also do the JA museum and spend up big in the shop. Good times for JA lovers and good food with Mr Darcy's portrait hanging nearby, it's like he is there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 02KJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor W, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kathboyd,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Jane Austen Centre & Regency Tearoom - do come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    468
    314
    178
    141
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Jane Austen”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was a very informative visit. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable
Wonderful mulled wine!
Opportunity to dress up in period costumes

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan130512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor W, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jan130512,
Thanks for your comments about the Jane Austen Centre. We’re so glad you had fun dressing up and found our guides friendly and informative. We hope you enjoyed the Christmas break and your time in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a nice afternoon in the Jane Austen exhibition. We loved how the staff dressed up and we were able to as well. I am a Jane Austen fan but even my husband was impressed. The guide was particularly good and answered our questions. My only piece of advice would be to book if you want gluten free afternoon tea, which seems perfectly reasonable to me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NicJLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Weekend visit”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very interesting exhibition of Jane Austen memorabilia. Informative discussion on Jane Austens life and works. Lovely sandwiches and scone in the tea shop. Small gift shop attached.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slice of Life”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I would recommend this to Austen fans. A glimpse of life, fashion, manners, and Jane's perspective on the Regency period. I particularly enjoyed the examples of dress - especially trying them on - typically sarcastic snippets from Jane's letters and mulled wine (Christmas-time!).
A friend of mine who'd never heard of Jane Austen before joined me in viewing the exhibit, but I think was a little bored (your's truly having read all Austen's books and semi-books multiple times and seen the movies even more).
I wouldn't have gone for it without the student discount, though, and found the tour quite short and not in-depth enough for my taste. But a nice overview, especially whilst immersed in Bath.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor W, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Akiita,
Thank you for your comments about the Jane Austen Centre. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and hope you had a lovely time in Bath. We are always striving to improve our exhibition and will take your comments on board. We’ll be introducing some new things this year. Perhaps we’ll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jane Austen Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Jane Austen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing