We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with excellent attentive staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

My husband and I have just had a couple of nights stay at The Halcyon & were exceptionally pleased with both the standard of accommodation & the staff. This being only the second time in 9 years since becoming parents that we have gone away as a couple. Hector the manager was so welcoming and polite and nothing was too much trouble. We will definately returning. Many thanks indeed The Halcyon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

I rarely comment on a hotel but The Halcyon is an exception. When one finds a 'little gem', one is torn between keeping it to oneself or sharing one's good fortune with others. However, The Halcyon in Bath deserves all the recognition it can be given. It is situated within a 10 minute leisurely stroll of Bath Spa station and the centre of historic Bath, including easy access to tour buses and tourist information. It is a perfect small hotel in a beautiful Georgian terrace, with ample parking very close by - should one need it.
What makes this hotel special though is its staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble and who do everything possible to make your stay here as comfortable and enjoyable as is possible. There is no lift in a building of this period but the staff will ensure your bags are taken up or brought down for you.
Whilst it doesn't have its own restaurant for lunch or dinner, continental breakfast is available and the hotel is within walking distance of a huge number of places to eat and which will suit all tastes and budgets. If one is in doubt about where to go, just ask the staff and they can give excellent advice and will book a table for you at no charge.
The small cocktail bar is comfortable and friendly and there is free wi-fi. There is a very pleasant out-door seating area, which is candle-lit in the evenings and is under umbrellas. And you can't go without trying The Halcyon's own cocktail - a true compliment to a wonderful, friendly, well-equipped, convenient and special place to stay.

Really - many thanks for a wonderful short break, we loved your vision for the hotel and all the best for the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cesesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Halcyon is an excellent hotel. Very helpful, friendly staff who know the village well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bathtime72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

This is a lovely boutique hotel. Nice decor with great staff. Rooms were slightly smaller than I would have liked. But there were nice little touches like hairdryers, kettle, flat screen etc. I don't think you'd be disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tolga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We arrived by train for our daughter's wedding in Bath as frazzled tourists. The short walk to The Halcyon was a welcome surprise and the friendly staff made our arrival uplifting. The lobby is colorful and inviting. The ability to get refreshments and sit down singularly or with friends any time of the day or night for our group of family and friends was so convenient. We stayed many nights. We had many special requests and the staff addressed each and every one of our needs promptly and happily. The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable with comforters and soft pillows. It was also very convenient that each room had a hair dryer so no converter was necessary. We all loved our stay at The Halcyon. So fond of The Halcyon and the staff when we left we were sad to leave to go on to our next destination in London at a major chain hotel, which by comparison was a great disappointment. If there were any negative it would have to be the absence of a lift for any older or disabled guest but the staff was more than willing to help us with our bags. They also have several beautiful rooms conveniently located on the lobby floor which we needed for one of our guests. That room was still perfect even if it was close to the lobby. I will return to this hotel and recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ednabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

A great stay at the Halcyon – the staff were amazing, helping us with our small baby, reservations, taxis and directing us around Bath. We stayed in a studio room on the first floor which was a good size and had a small kitchenette which was handy for preparing baby bottles etc. It is beautifully decorated and must be the best location in Bath – close to the train station and all the historic attractions. We loved our time here, had lovely cocktails in the evening and really comfy beds. I would definitely recommend Bath and The Halcyon for 2 day break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdyZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

The downside to this hotel are the small rooms. We had a deluxe double but there was not a lot of floor space. The rooms vary but ours had a rack with hangers in the corner, no closet and no drawers, a small desk and stool, and a shelf with coffee and tea making supplies as well as jars of sweets (which were an additional charge).

On the upside, the room was clean and the bed comfortable and we were able to open the windows and enjoy some fresh air.

The bathroom was also small; ours had only a shower with a rainhead shower which we enjoyed along with the generous supply of shampoo and shower gel and the big fluffy towels on a heated towel rack.

The hotel does not provide internet connection in the rooms but offers free wi-fi in the breakfast room/bar area. Luckily our room was above the bar so we were able to get wi-fi in the room and also when sitting outside on the patio.

The included continental breakfast was good.

The location was excellent -- only blocks from the train station, Bath Abbey, the Roman Bath, Thermae Spa and the Theatre Royal.

Best of all was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing