We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay - very warm and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay - very warm and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stay at The Halcyon August 17 -19
I found the Halcyon a warm, comfortable hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. Emily was amazing, from the moment I walked in the door, she was very helpful and took the time to draw a map with direction on how to reach certain places of interest. She took my bags to my room on the fourth floor. Emily also made an excellent suggestion on where to eat and visit at Bradford-on-Avon a town not far away. It was a quiet relaxing visit, perfect for a Sunday outing. Bob was also friendly and helpful.
Please note this hotel has no elevator - beware. Book a room on the ground or first floor if you have issues with climbing stairs. The room was clean and the bathroom had been fully renovated and is modern. Great value for money in Bath, I recommend it highly and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Select a room on the ground or first floor. Book tours in advance they are ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Halcyon has a fantastic location, especially if you're arriving or leaving by train, it's a very easy walk up the street from the station, maybe 5-7 minutes depending on luggage and pace. It's a little beyond the bombed-and-rebuilt mallish precinct closer to the station, and a stone's throw from Bath Abbey and the Roman Baths..

The decor is very sleek and modern inside, rooms (if mine was average) are on the small side, but the bed was large (took up most of the floor space in the room, in fact) and very comfortable.

The service was excellent, everyone I talked to could not have been nicer, and I appreciated the email from the hotel (which was probably automated, but still) a week before I arrived asking if I needed any help arranging tickets or making other Bath plans.

The continental breakfast didn't have a vast amount of choice to it, but it was in line with my expectations and a fine way to start the day. Free wi-fi throughout the property.

All in all, I'd definitely stay there again the next time I'm lucky enough to get to visit Bath.

Room Tip: Room 1.3 was small--great for 1 person with limited luggage--but on the plus side very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

we happened across this little gem while driving around the UK. We booked the night before and had no hassle checking in. The room was fresh and vibrant and represented good value for money. Close to everything in town, we left the car in the public car park and wandered the town. The Halcyon also has a great little bar below which has a great range of drinks, food and friendly people. The service was personal and great. We recommend The Halcyon to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridgenald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor. The location is excellent and so is the shower however that's about all it has going for it. We stayed in room 1.5 for one night which was just as well as there was no room to put much luggage only a few hangers and certainly not much room at all. The continental breakfast was ok however not comfortable as the seats in the cocktail bar area were better for watching tv than eating ! Everything looked good but not always practical and no bath in Bath despite stating bathroom rather than shower!Parking opposite was expensive. This is not really a hotel just an expensive B & B above a cocktail bar which is noisy at night.I think you are paying for an expensive refurb of an old property !

Room Tip: ask for a large room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonBath, Manager at The Halcyon Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Halcyon. All feedback is welcome so that we can improve our hotel.

Im sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your stay, like all Bath City Center hotels, we are listed and therefore are not able to make changes to our historical building. Our double rooms all have a shower, we do have larger rooms which have baths and would have done what we could at the time of booking had you requested this. Our prices are always comparrible with other Halcyon like hotels and in most cases are cheeper when booking on the phone or on our website.

Like all Bath city center hotels, we do not have our own carpark, however we are lucky enough to be possitioned directly opposite one, the charge for the carpark is the same at all the carparks in Bath and we suggest that visitors take the train where possible as stated on our website.

Please do get in touch should you wish to return to Bath, I would be happy to upgrade your next visit to one of our larger rooms.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great central location, with car parking opposite hotel. Frank and Emily on reception were both really helpful and friendly.
If your a couple who like a bit of nightlife and are planning a mid week or trip including a Sunday night then you ,may be slightly disappointed as everywhere seems to shut by 11 :(
The hotel was really clean and well appointed bedrooms with all mod cons and essentials.
Places to visit the Thermal spa is a must with an amazing roof top thermal infinity pool, totally chill out time.
Will definitely be back to Bath and The Halycon in the future.

Room Tip: As a listed building, there are several flights of stairs and no lift, so make sure you are on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianE70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Córdoba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for its location and its good reviews in TripAdvisor. The location is superb (very central and at walking distance from the train station), but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. We had booked a studio room (the only one available at the time of booking) and were assigned room 1.1, which we found nice and reasonably sized, but terribly dark, as its only window just faced a wall.

When we complained about the room, the receptionist said it was the only one available, so he couldn¡t do anything. But it wasn't true, as in fact less than five mnutes later the manager offered us a different room. This one overlooked the street (great views), but was so small that we could barely open a suitcase.

With things so, in the morning we decided to enquire at the Pratt's Hotel on the same street. We were offered a suite with breakfast for the price of a standard double, so we rushed back to The Halcyon to pack and check out.

And one more thing: the Halcyon charged the same price we would have paid for the larger room, although the smaller room was advertised on their website at a price of GBP20 cheaper than the studio room.

I found that the best part of this hotel is location, but you get the same location in many other hotels without having to stay in a coffin-like cubicle and being overcharged for it.

I'll never stay again in this hotel, Luckily you can choose from many hotel nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telmacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonBath, Manager at The Halcyon Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and im sorry you feel that The Halcyon was dissapointing, we do try our best to please our guests.

When you booked, room 1.1 it was the only room we had available as yours was a last minute booking. When we heard that you did not like your room our receptionist informed you that there were no other studio rooms available. However, after a few minutes we managed to free up one of our standard plus rooms for you to move into if you liked it.

I took you to this room personally and you informed me that you were much happier, so i am a little dissapointed that i am having to write in response to your negative review.

We did everything we possibly could to make your stay more enjoyable and I hope you enjoy the rest of your journey.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel has small, nice and clean rooms. One of our rooms had a great view across the road over to the old town. Well placed for sight-seeing or a business trip, parking space a few meters from the hotel. Book last minute for best rates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing