We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and unpretentious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful and unpretentious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent a weekend in February at the Halcyon, Bath with my two daughters and from the outset We knew that we had chosen the right place to stay. We were made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Our rooms were not large as you would expect from a property in Central Bath but they were very well appointed, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The hotel's location is central to all the attractions and excellent restaurants so no need to 'taxi' everywhere.

Breakfast was delightful with something for everyone

The most impressive thing was the positive commitment of all staff to ensure that their guests needs were met without question. It was a pleasure to see the Management leading by example!

I'm sure you'll find larger more expensive hotels in Bath if you want but I doubt you'll find better service or value for money than the Halcyon. Will be returning there on our next visit to Bath.

Room Tip: There is suprisingly little noise at the front but if you're a particularly light sleeper choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greygaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A very favourable location in the centre of Bath, very welcoming staff who are very accommodating and knowledgeable of Bath and its attractions. A very clean well appointed hotel i would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor a little noisy with foot traffic, i would request room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull/Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Halcyon in February as part of a short trip to Bath. Our room was lovely and well presented, although the bathroom was extremely small (I needed to open the door in order to be able to lean over the sink to wash my face!) - but it was extremely clean and the shower was amazing. Our view out of the back of the building and of a small courtyard was less than enchanting, but we weren't disappointed - this sort of thing is to be expected when staying in a city centre. The only real problem I had was that the room was very warm, particularly overnight, which meant that we had to sleep with the window open - but we felt secure and the area was very quiet so this wasn't a particular problem.

On arrival we were given 10% off vouchers to the Circo bar in the basement (this is also where breakfast is served) - we tried the cocktails on our first evening and they were fantastic. The breakfast was great too. Each day there was a selection of breads, bagels and pastries as well as cereals, fresh fruit, meat, cheese, and you could also boil your own egg.

The location of the hotel was perfect, it was a two minute walk to all of the main attractions and shops. There's a car park across the road - you can call the number on the information board and pay over the phone for the duration of your stay, probably the easiest option if you're staying for a few days. Unfortunately for us the parking authority forgot to add my car to the list of those who had paid over the phone and I ended up with two tickets (which I was of course told to throw away!).

We didn't have much interaction with the staff but the ones we did come into contact with all seemed pleasant, particularly the assistant manager who dealt with us on check out, who assured us that if we returned we would have a larger, possibly front-facing room. Regardless of this I would definitely return anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samgiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A fabulous hotel - brilliant location, comfy beds, good shower and fab staff. Anna was particularly helpful and friendly - but all staff were great. Lots of good recommendations and nothing seemed too much trouble. Location is fantastic (5 min walk from station, Roman baths, spa etc) and overall a great hotel. Would recommend this to anyone I know going to Bath.

Room Tip: All rooms different and a little quirky - part of the charm! I had G2 which is right by reception bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful position but no parking which currently costs £12.50 for 24hrs in the Manvers Street car park opposite. The rooms are up to date and very clean although not spacious. No wardrobes or draws in our room (room 1.5), just a metre or so of hanging rail. The associated Cisco bar below is a great place for a drink, cocktails being a specialty. Good selection of cold fare at breakfast but traditional Full English is not offered. Everything of note is within easy walking distance.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Halycon is really well situated. Essentially in the heart of the city. It's clean, modern, no frills and actually relatively good value for money given the location. Our room was comfortable and the bed well laid. If you're in Bath, check it out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location is EXCELLENT! Easy walking to everything! 2 blocks from train station. The rooms very clean and the bed way comfortable. Price was very reasonable! Staff...Anna, Frank, Katy, Jesus and especially Bella....AMAZING! Circo Bar downstairs ROCKS! Great drinks, food and awesome staff! DEFINITELY a must stay and look forward to coming back soon! Thank you to all the staff!!

Room Tip: We had rooms 2.1 and 1.6 2.1 was a little bigger but both were great. They were half way between t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coprtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing