We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pulteney Arms

The Pulteney Arms
Ranked #111 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional friendly pub serving British homemade and locally sourced food, including: beer battered fish and chips, local sausage and mash, local game when in season, lamb rump, steak onglet. We offer vegetarian specials. Our Chef likes to create an ever-changing menu and makes all our desserts. If you just enjoy a pint or glass of wine we can offer a range of prices. We try to offer a wine deal every week. For your comfort in the colder weather we have a log burner!
Murcia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great Ales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

After watching Bath vs Leicester, a celebratory drink was in order (sorry, Leicester..!!)
A good selection of Ales awaited to be sampled - and they were, to Great Acclaim.!
An excellent pub, with a friendly welcome for kids.
Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chordiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    41
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Beers good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Came across this gem by accident. Great selection of unusual ales and good food at reasonable prices. Traditional pub decor. Nothing plastic or pub chain about it. Wish I lived closer than the 120 miles, would make it my local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael958_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barely adequate Sunday lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Came here in March and was very pleased with both the Sunday lunch and the pub itself. But today while it was all right for the money - £9.95 for the main course or £15 for the full 3 courses - it was barely satisfying as the chief meal of the day. Overcooked beef (one slice), red cabbage so vinegary it turned everything else sour, gravy practically immobile, flat and dispiriting Yorkies - the fresh courgettes were crisp and tasty and the highlight of the meal. Barman vague, glasses absolutely filthy, pub not exactly sparking either. Maybe it's better at night when you can't see the grime so clearly? There's much better to be had elsewhere in Bath.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UndercoverChef2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great venue for functions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recently held my fiance's 40th birthday bash here and was really impressed with the place. I chose it because it is a short walk from the rugby stadium and serves good real ales and cider.

The upstairs function room was gratis for the function and was a perfect size for the 30 guests we had. The staff provided a lovely spread as nibbles to start and then brought in some huge trays of delicious homemade lasagnes with salad and chips on the side. There was also some speakers with a jack to plug our ipod into to play our music all night without disturbing the other partons, none of whom disturbed us upstairs either.

The next day when I came to pick up the decorations and birthday cake the staff had very kindly put the leftover lasagne into large tupperware boxes for us to take. The final cost (I only had to pay for the food on a per head basis) was also really reasonable considering how tasty and plentiful it was.

Many thanks to all the staff and the chef for a great night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabananafanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the wide world
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favourite pub in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

There are arguably better pubs in Bath, but this one has great beer, it's friendly & laid back, it has great food yet you don't need a reservation & there are kids & dogs & (real) fires. So all told, this is where I come with friends or when I want dinner out on my own, even if it isn't necessarily where I'd entertain Important Visitors.

If you're into ethical eating, there are both good vegetarian options & the meat is all free range from local farmers. Not bad for a real pub! Warning, it is also a rugby pub so can be VERY busy during games, especially Bath games.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j2bryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pulteney Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Pulteney Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing