We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to meet and greet”
Review of The Assembly Inn

The Assembly Inn
Ranked #389 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly place to meet and greet”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place to meet and have a drink. On this occasion we didn't eat here but have done in the past and never been disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sueb1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Limited but interesting choice of food”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

An interesting refurbished pub that has not been turned into a modern clone; it seems to be a quirky bar that still acts as a pub for locals, probably normals rather than Hooray Henrys and Harriets despite being at the side of the Assembly Rooms. It makes no pretence of being a gastro pub but serves a limited range of food that is within the scope of their kitchen facilities. The highlight appeared to be the range of Lovett Pies (I checked that there was no barber trading upstairs) with a choice of fillings, types of mashed potatoes and gravies. Our picks wre very good, although piling the pie on top of the mash seemed a touch pretensious - pie and mash should not be considered as nouvelle cuisine. Good beer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank railtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pub that still seems to be seeking an identity”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We've been visiting The Assembly ever since it re-opened, whenever we are in Bath (about 3 times a year).

It has gone through various stages of updating etc, and we do like the current style/decor. However, it's not the friendliest of places at times - the staff are polite but not particularly welcoming, and the music is so loud it's just too intrusive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Young managers trying so hard to please their clientel. Its been refurbished ,and got the right balance of modern and character. Clean lines extending to spotless loos and lovely handwash. Great pub food at reasonable prices ,not an extensive choice but what they have is good and wholesome. All locally sourced beers and food. We'll go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merlincat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jolly good!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Had a couple of really fun evenings in this bar. Had a great welcoming atmosphere and the manager (James - I think??) was lovely and friendly and clearly works really hard. There was football on the 3D tv which I am not into, but it wasn't a loud lairy place, so it didn't make a difference to me.

Only went for drinks but there were tasting sounding pies on the menu which were tempting.

Lovely decor in keeping with the decadent Bath surroundings and a comfy sofa meant it was hard to leave! Go to the Assembly Inn and say I sent you!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasnail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Assembly Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Assembly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing