We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub. Great beer and Cider selection. Ok service, ok food but more of a university atmosphere than local pub”

The West Gate Public House
Ranked #245 of 568 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good pub. Great beer and Cider selection. Ok service, ok food but more of a university atmosphere than local pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We wanted a quick bite and got into Bath after 830pm so, based on a friend's recommendation we went here. The beer and cider selection was very good and the food was average to good. It was a Friday evening and we were underwhelmed with the amount of the university students and drunkenness (loud kids) we saw. Many many many better options in Bath for atmosphere and food. The beer and cider were quite good though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank patter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    78
    40
    26
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yeovil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Decent size portions , all home cooked veg and Yorkshire pudding. Nice tender beef. Good value at £9.95 .no room for a pudding as we were too full with the dinner !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank supercoolnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food - Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I ate here with 3 friends on Saturday. It was a late lunch and we arrived in the pub around 2. We were really impressed with the selection of food and the prices were very fair. I love that the had health options like a bulgar wheat salad. Overall the food was taste but we had to wait for almost 1 hour for our sandwiches and a salad to be delivered. The place didn't seem exceptionally busy & it was just a few sandwiches so I'm not really sure why it took so long. It sort of ruins the experience a bit - but I'd definitely give them the benefit of the doubt and try this pub again if I'm in the Bath area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank World42Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best value for lunch in bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

8 pounds buys you a delicious sandwhich, choice of sides and a pint or a glass of wine.
Food is excellent quality and pleasantly presented.
A great find in the heart of Bath.
Sevice is very good too.
It was worth going back a second time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bishoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunch Special is a real bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Served by the lovely Lesley from Sterling, the lunch special at £6.90 is a real bargain, pint choice, side and main, all presented well and tasting fab fresh. Wifi, great atmosphere, as Bath resident a new discovery. well done Greene King! Top marks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALAN_BBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West Gate Public House also viewed

 

Been to The West Gate Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing