We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, relaxed friendly service”

The Kingsmead Kitchen
Ranked #61 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kingsmead Kitchen is a vibrant and friendly family run restaurant in the beautiful city of Bath. Positioned on the West side of Kingsmead Square, a stones throw from the fantastic shopping and theatre districts of Bath, the cafe has a sunny outlook over the square and customers can enjoy the bright interior or sit outside to soak up the hustle and bustle. We are well known for our generous helpings and freshly cooked food. Our menus change regularly and always include seasonal produce, some of which comes directly from Elcombe Farm, our family farm in Wiltshire. Recently, the cafe has undergone some exciting changes and there is much more planned for the future. Co-owners and managers extraordinaire Edi and Geraldine bring a spark and energy to the front of house, head chef Dan oversees the kitchen with gusto, whilst Piers and Sophia are the driving force behind the Field, Fire & Feast brand. All of us welcome you to the cafe and hope you enjoy it.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, relaxed friendly service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time that we have had lunch here, it is very busy. The service is particularly friendly & helpful without being fussy. Two of us had the mezze from the specials board, we ordered the small serving & it made a very unusual light lunch. The wine & coffee were both good. One warning, the chocolate & walnut brownie is large & enough for two!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TOGsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    98
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just called in for a morning coffee”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very lucky to find a seat, let alone a table, as the cafe was full to bursting with people eating late breakfast/early lunch. Lively clientele, efficient and friendly staff and altogether a great place to spend time over coffee, or better still a very generous English breakfast. Will make a point of re-visiting soon for a proper lunch as the specials on the board looked good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch-at-the-Jazz-Cafe, Owner at The Kingsmead Kitchen, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for those lovely words. Hope to see you again soon. Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent ! Excellent ! Excellent !”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I regularly travel into Bath just to have breakfast at the Jazz Café.
There is nowhere in the area that even gets close to competing with the quality, value and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch-at-the-Jazz-Cafe, Owner at The Kingsmead Kitchen, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Very kind of you to have taken the time to write, and such a nice review. Thank you. Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely place to enjoy breakfast!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Decided to have breakfast here before our spa day. The Jazz Cafe was located in Kingsmead Square with a lovely casual atmosphere with friendly staff.

We had the full English breakfast - sausage, fried egg, bacon, mushroom, beans and couple pieces of thick toast - absolute gut busting and heavenly. I don't usually eat breakfast, and never this amount, so I struggled to finish it all. It was fresh, hot and tasty! What more do you want out of a typical full breakfast? We left there with a full tummy and very satisfied.

Good value for money, good quality and good service. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fierce-Spicy-Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch-at-the-Jazz-Cafe, Owner at The Kingsmead Kitchen, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I hope you enjoyed your spa day. See you again, I hope. Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beetroot and goats cheese tart”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

After a few hours of walking around Bath we stopped here for a late lunch. Friendly owner who apologised profusely (twice)when she found out my requested butternut squash, chickpea and tomato stew had actually run out. Thankfully the alternative of beet root and goats cheese tart with warm potato salad and walnut pesto dressing was absolutely scrummy and highly recommended. The tomato and roasted red pepper soup with fresh bread was also tasty but hubby was disappointed with the shashluka....not very flavourful or spicy as promised I'm afraid. Atmosphere a bit student like but perhaps that is what you get on a weekday afternoon in March. Overall good food and great friendly service. Will return on our next trip to Bath!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnjaliVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kingsmead Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kingsmead Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing