We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Jazz Cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingsmead Kitchen

The Kingsmead Kitchen
Ranked #60 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kingsmead Kitchen is a vibrant and friendly family run restaurant in the beautiful city of Bath. Positioned on the West side of Kingsmead Square, a stones throw from the fantastic shopping and theatre districts of Bath, the cafe has a sunny outlook over the square and customers can enjoy the bright interior or sit outside to soak up the hustle and bustle. We are well known for our generous helpings and freshly cooked food. Our menus change regularly and always include seasonal produce, some of which comes directly from Elcombe Farm, our family farm in Wiltshire. Recently, the cafe has undergone some exciting changes and there is much more planned for the future. Co-owners and managers extraordinaire Edi and Geraldine bring a spark and energy to the front of house, head chef Dan oversees the kitchen with gusto, whilst Piers and Sophia are the driving force behind the Field, Fire & Feast brand. All of us welcome you to the cafe and hope you enjoy it.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Jazz Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped at The Jazz Cafe for lunch before heading to the airport at the end of our vacation. I am a fan of salads and had a 'hot salad' for lunch. It was very nicely done and I enjoyed it! We ate indoors which was delightfully 'tight', but if you don' t enjoy the squeeze, there is a large outdoor seating area as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peace_Parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch-at-the-Jazz-Cafe, Owner at The Kingsmead Kitchen, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Peace_Parrot. I hope you had a good flight home. Charles, from a very rainy Bath :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    98
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Many places try and do an English breakfast but fail miserably by using cheap ingredients, not here! Excellent breakfast and good service from the very busy staff.
Quite busy and noisy so I wouldn't advise coming here to enjoy a quiet moment.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eastchinnockcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch-at-the-Jazz-Cafe, Owner at The Kingsmead Kitchen, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you eastchinnockcider (sounds interesting) for your kindness. We do have some quiet moments but we don't really like them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steppingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Needed somewhere for a quick lunch before heading home after an excellent weekend in Bath. Came accross the Jazz Café which was quite busy, but we were greeted by a very friendly waitress who managed to squeeze us in, 3 round a table normally for 2 but still adequate room. Overall experience was excellent, the atmosphere was vibrant and fun, helped along by the bubbly and efficient staff who made you feed very relaxed and welcome. Food was very good, honest home cooked food which arrived in good time and was thoroughly enjoyed by all.
Free WiFi also available which was great as a lot of places in Bath still don't seem to know what WiFi is!
Would definately go back if in Bath.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch-at-the-Jazz-Cafe, Owner at The Kingsmead Kitchen, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi sarah d. Thank you very much for visiting us during your trip to Bath and for giving us such a nice review. The whole crew get a tremendous lift when they hear that their efforts are not going un-noticed, so thank you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cracking coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for a coffee here today and was impressed. Superb service and thankfully received a Sunday brew with the delightful mellow kick I so seek for. A distinct contrast to the unfortunately regular bitter cups of norm. The cafe is well laid out, bustly yet relaxed, and a perfect ambience for a read or chat. A pleasure to sit in. Wish I could have sat outside today as it does look like a rather nice spot. Menu looks very promising too....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Harrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere, Friendly Service, Home Made Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Conveniently located this small cafe is decidedly understated. Casual, with a sense of calm, and mellow jazz, make what is otherwise a small and busy cafe a place to relax. If you are in too big a hurry, forget it, this is not fast food. But it is really good food, and tasty, and made fresh to order - and that shows. We enjoyed a splendid lunch before visiting the Roman Baths. Keep in mind that if you sit outside, you need to go inside to order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kingsmead Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kingsmead Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing