We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Ranked #160 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disgusting!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Avoid!! there are so many better places to stay!!! This is the worst place on Crescent Gardens.
We stayed here in September because there was no availability left anywhere in Bath, now I know why they had empty rooms!!
Upon arrival I knew things looked bad because the first thing you're greeted with is the toilet over flow pouring on anyone who tries to walk up to the front door, it's obviously been pouring for ages and ages because the wall and steps are green with mould!! My boyfriends a plumber and couldn't believe the state of it, All the other guest we spoke to agreed how disgusting this was!!
The rooms are basic and miserable, no money appears to have been spent on this property in decades, everything is tired and needs fixing. Breakfast a joke!! Described as the best in Bath and locally sourced, I saw the the staff opening cash & carry bacon and sausages!!
The place is run by someone who obviously cares more about ripping people off than he does about offering any sort of quality.
Avoid, it'll just ruin your visit to a lovely City.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank Londongirlstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
we are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay but never let us know to enable us to do something about it although you said you had an enjoyable stay upon departure, The manager apologised and explained that we had an overflow problem and that we were awaiting a response from a British Gas plumber. The overflow was fixed the following day. All rooms have been refurbished and updated since your stay, but were perfectly clean and comfortable to a 3 star standard as awarded by Visit Britain. All breakfast ingredients are of premium quality and locally sourced. We always welcome objective and honest reviews and hope you are able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    24
    28
    46
See reviews for
29
76
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crosby, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted outside on the step by David the manager. We severely over packed for our two week tour of the U.K. and David was kind enough to help us carry our luggage up to our room. It was very hot when we arrived and there is no fan or AC in the room. But once the sun set the room cooled off nicely and we slept great. I really can't comment on the breakfast as I only eat toast and fruit. But there was plenty of anything you wanted.

Room Tip: Room #8 on the first floor overlooks the street with some traffic noise with Windows open. But we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinm910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in mid July; it was hot and busy. The room was clean and perfectly appointed. Breakfast was okay, you can order whatever you like as a cooked breakfast but as the breakfast room was busy we had to wait a while to be served our tea, although there were drinks available to help yourself to.
The location is great, a very easy walk to the centre of town, or if you walk up the hill you are at Royal Crescent. I would recommend it as a place to sty for a short visit. But be warned, the walls are thin and we could hear our neighbours snoring!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie26A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive response we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a well run commercial B&B converted house a 5 minute walk from the centre of Bath. "David" the manager (owner) of the B&B is the best part of this typical Victorian "semi-detached" house located on a main road into Bath. Our room was clean and tidy, comfortable bed, typical cramped ensuite bathroom (toilet flushing was a bit finicky). Breakfast was well made and promptly served by David. The building, somewhat typical of this type of B&B with a front door with a few old and tired paper notes detracts from the well run and clean tidy operation

Room Tip: View the room before accepting it, try the toilet flushing just in case you don't have the knack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good location. However, very disappointing experience! Dark, depressing and shabby was the first impression. Alarm bells rang on noticing a scribbled note of mobile contact number stuck to front door, on the strong, strange smell of airfreshner, on immediate payment before seeing room! Nothing when booking prepared us for the two flights of stairs to the attic! Dark poorly lit (lights don't work during day time). Number nine room was cramped and should never be used as a twin bed double. Cheap furniture and fittings. Wardrobe was two shelves and 4 hangers which couldn't easily be reached because of the coffee table in front of it. My friend and I could not move around at the same time. No covering on the small window, which we couldn't reach because of a bed and deep window sill. My friend is under 5ft tall, and repeatedly banged her head on the sloping ceiling. Poor connection on kettle, took ages to make horrible tea!. Cheap stained and dark coloured nylon bedcover. towels not changed in four days. Cups not washed or changed on second day. Shower head holder broken and doesn't hold when showering. Three flights of stairs to find dining room, which resembles a greasy cafe. Poor quality all-round, after which I did'nt bother with breakfast. Spent twelve hours a day out in Bath to avoid going back to digs! Bath is a lovely place and there is no need to experience a nineteen seventies style "Boarding House". Do not give in, keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Acdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and dd nt indicate that you were unhappy during our stay, we ay have been able to do something for you whilst with us. our rooms are clearly described on our website and we do warn of restricted headroom in the attic. We did not receive any complaint from you during our stay, indeed David the manager enquired daily into your satisfaction which you indicated was fine. The house is victorian and reflects the character of the victorian era, this is also clearly shown on the website. Breakfast ingredients are premium quality which you seemed to enjoy each day, your room were serviced an cleaned daily, your towels were changed upon request. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good location, clean room, comfy bed (so comfy we struggled to get out in the morning) breakfast was good, fair portion, I would have liked a sitting room where you could sit and relax, staff knowledgable and friendly, one tiny comment on the room. Curtains had a couple of hooks missing , the curtains dropped slightly. Irritated me slightly, but not enough to complain, telephone in room didnt work. Hot water was extreemely hot.should have a sign warning of this.towels cleanstorage ample. Given a parking pass to park outside the hotel free of charge, manager explained about s scheme they have in bath, discounts in some eating places with your hotel
Key fob, many eating places within 10 mins walking, would recommend jamie olivet place

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house, no noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinee, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a long trip around UK. David was very helpful getting our luggage from the car to our room. We had to park on the busy main road outside the property before moving our car to the back of the house where there is parking for four cars. The room was very disappointing with the curtains hanging off the rails and a feeling of neglect everywhere. The throw on the bed had seen better days and the dressing table stall was stained. The hairdryer which was wired into the wall didn't work, although there was a spare in a drawer. The bathroom was very tired and dingy and the towels definitely were not white. It was clean, however, but lacked the quality that you would expect from a B&B in a large city. Breakfast was very disappointing and nothing other than a full English with the usual choice of cereals. The fruit juice was from a carton and no yoghurts at all. There was a very tense atmosphere among the two people in the kitchen and the woman was very surly, even pulling faces behind David whilst he was cooking. Wifi access was good. Ten minute walk into town which was OK as it was not raining. Wouldn't want to stay here again by choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole and Anth... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, breakfast ingredients are of premium quality and locally sourced. Fresh juices generally come from a real juice carton I'm sorry this was not to your liking, please do come again an we will ensure you are entirely satisfied next time. Hank you for your review which we do take seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 160 in Bath
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 160 in Bath
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Guest House
Royal Park Guest House
#90 of 160 in Bath
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#74 of 160 in Bath
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Property: Lamp Post Villa B&B
Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing